Garden of the Gods - a true geological wonder

in #travel6 years ago

Heyy good morning everybody 😊

In April last year we did a roadtrip through the southwest USA . It was a big excitement for me beaucse I had just finish my bachelor thesis and moved back from Hamburg to my parents house. All my stuff were still packed in boxes, I was applying for a internship and didn't really know what to do with my life.
So while I was writing my thesis and sorting out my life we planned this incredible trip to the southwest.

Our tour started in Denver Colorado where my family lives. Lucky guys we where we had a free place to stay - expensive hotelrooms will follow on the next travel days :P
We stayed in the suburben which is located near the foothills of the rocky mountains.

On our very first day we took a tour to the garden of the gods. The garden is a biological melting pot where the grasslands of the Great Plains meets the mountain forest of the 14,115-foot Pikes Peak - America's Mountain. The red sandstone formations from 65-million-year-old sediments resemble those of the Red Rocks west of Denver.

It's a beautiful park for hiking, biking, rock climbing and also just to explore the magnificant view and rock formation.

We took a wonderful walk through the red rocks and captured these on my camera 😝


Pikes Peak covered in snow under a bright blue sky


On the top of the rock you can see a man climbing on the edge


My favorit one - when my grandpa took me my first time to this park I saw a giant lion head in the formation - can you see it too?


Garden of the Gods Park is listed on the Colorado Birding Trail. There are more than 15 types of birds that you can see there. Here I have captured a few birds - but can't tell what kind of typ it is 🤪


Bambi got lost between the rocks 🦌

Thank you for sharing my trip - Lots of love 💗

More pictures under:


(https://steemit.com/photography/@hellovely/garden-of-the-gods-shadow-tree)

Sort:  

Lovely photos@hellovely. Pls do upvote my post
Thanks

Congratulations @hellovely! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!