Cycling the world on a Steem-budget: Life on a permaculture farm #1

in #travel7 years ago

Hello dear Steemians! today a new chapter of my travel starts and I would like to invite you to join me in the months i will be staying in this '' utopia'' project.

I have finally traveled across Europe to one of the most southern parts of Greece and I have now finished off what I would call the first chapter of my travel, only to start a new.
IMG_20170806_125244.jpg

A bowel of the vegetables we collected in one day, all grown on the farm

I will be living on the permaculture farm for the next 5 months, helping the people here with projects for creating a self-sustaining lifestyle by living off the lands surrounding us.

There's many aspects to what this creations is all about and to be quite honest i have not completely grasped it myself yet. Everything from taking care of nature to building a healthy community within.

What will I be writing about?


I want these episodes to be about my ''new'' life in Greece. I want to write about things I learn, document how we do it and share this very unusual lifestyle with people who's curious to Explorer alternative ways of living.

The project is run by a man called Costas and mainly volunteers coming from all over the world to help out. Right now we have two from Argentina, two from Canada and one from Isreal.

IMG_20170806_121915.jpg

What does this have to do with your bike trip?


My bike is my transport, a tool to get around the world in a slow pace to see and experience what I pass. But i also want my trip to get deeper than just passing by. I want to see how it feels to live other places than what I know from home. I find this project here on the farm a perfect way to experience just that. I'm sure it will be just as big a personal adventure to stay in one place for a while and when the time is right, I will be hitting the road again.
IMG_20170805_201903.jpg

Sunset from the roof of our farm

What else on the list?


Everything that this places had to offer i will be sharing, whether it's exploration of Greece, valueable life lessons or on going projects on the farm. I'm sure I will be doing a lot of bike trips on my free time(already had a trip to see the temple of posedion!)
IMG_20170807_115100.jpg
So far there's already so much I want to write about but I will have to manage myself a bit and show it in structured posts that focuses on one subject. I hope you guys will be following me on this new kind of adventure and see where it will lead.

In the next episode i will give a introduction of how the farm looks like, how I live and how the farm on a very basic overview functions.


See you soon!

-Holm

Sort:  

Awesome adventure and thanks for documenting your trip! I saw the country of Costa Rica by riding across it on a mountain bike. I agree that if you're so inclined to ride a bicycle, this is an excellent way to learn about a place, it's people and culture. I found that locals are typically more welcoming of touring cyclists too. I'll look forward to your next post. Btw, that bowl of veggies looks yummy! :) >Oliver

Appreciate the great comment man:) keep it up and appreciate your support! I completely agree with you!

Great post looks like a really fun project can't wait for the next episode :)

You have wonderful stories!
I like to read your posts!
I wish you every success! 🍀

Thank you! Best of luck to you too!

This post received a 2.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @holm! For more information, click here!

Your vegetables are beautiful. Congratlations.

Hi 🤗🤗🤗🤗

Hello!:-)

Beautiful place! I can't wait to visit Greece!

That sounds like an interesting next chapter holm!

As a settled father and husband I get a bit envious though.. You have maxed out the joy of 100% freedom. I like that.

Good luck on the farm
@ronni

Hey man! It's good to settle down a bit, to get your full strength back. Traveling for thousands of kilometer on a bike must leave something on the body. So a stay at the farm will suit you well i guess. And who knows maybe one of the other volunteer will join you on your next adventure!

Cool the gardening project ;-)
I have my balcony garden with some nice vegetables ;-)
Have fun in Greece!
Big hug!
Steemitri The Mannequin