Cycling4Steemit: Introduction of a new nomadic project.

in #travel7 years ago

Dont ask what steemit can do for you, but what you can do for steemit"

A popular saying that I have read at multiple occasions on this website we all love and share. I have seen all kind of ways people have used their talents or passions for giving steemit that extra small push that might seem little on its own but in numbers are helping steemit one way or another. From fancy cloth and accessories crafted by the hands of @quinneaker and @gardenofeden, making a connection to the real world and the value of steem. Or the countless different apps and sites, made by people with incredible knowledge about programming, all for the greater good of improving and expanding Steemit and steem across the internet. The ways people have found to use their talent are endless. We witness a community that wants to see steemit surpass and its beautiful.

So many times I have read articles and getting inspired by people's creative ways of improving all kind of aspects when it comes to Steemit and all I could do was sit and think: "Ahh wish I knew how to do this", "why don't I know how to do that". It almost made me believe I didn't have anything steemit would need from me.

But it does turns out I have something to offer steemit, something I have found quite a passion in the reason period of my life and now have a chance to combine them.

001.png


The short background story


Those who have been reading my blog would have noticed that I am to say the least "quite happy" for cycling around in foreign countries. Also where my passion for blogging on steemit started on a dark night in a hostel, writing my first pathetic attempt of a post.


But here I am 6 months later and are starting to feel steemit has been growing on me. So wouldn't it be perfect to combine the two things that were born together. It's no secret i have tried to do it before but now it's time to truly combine it all together from the very start.

IMG_20170802_134928_e.png

introducing The project: Cycling4Steemit

A project with the intention to combine the very nature that cycle touring provides, to spread the word of Steemit slowly, but surely throughout the world. But how would this work you may ask?

For past experience on my bike trip I have slept on campsites, couch surfing, hostels, B&B and many other forms of cheap accommodations when I didn't feel like sleeping in the wild. People are everywhere and I'm here to catch their attention.

like spreading breadcrumbs I will be Leaving a trail of Steemit

Accommodations that very naturally hosting many other travelers and people curious to the world. A place where many would look towards new and easy ways of blogging and/or reading about like minded bloggers.

**There are indeed some very convenient ways for me to spread the word and let people know of our existence. Let me share my most powerful ways:

  1. Flyers: A proper made, good looking flyer would be one of the most easy ways of spreading the word while travelling through the world. They are light(more to carry on my bike), cheap and best of all they can be left behind at accommodations such as hostels and given out to people I fall In talk to. Basically I would be leaving a trail of Steemit evidence behind me, to people to pick up and follow back to our nest.

  2. Mouth to mouth principle: Like spreading fire words can travel even faster and reach more people than we might even be aware of and a topic of a most exotic website as steemit, told by a trustworthy person(at least I look trustworthy) is a strong way to get all the suspicion out of the way that are holding a lot of people back. All the questions of where does the money come from, how do you apply and everything in between that could hold a person back is something a conversation could get out of the way. Like back in time when news and rumors had to be spread, people did it by words and only the most powerful rumors became the reality.

  3. Social media(s): Steemit as a social media is great and perfect for my needs of my blogging. But it would be such a shame not the utilize "alternative" sides to make people visit the website as my stories are getting told. This was the way I ended up joining myself. So I am going to dive deep into these most mysterious social Media sites such as Instagram, Facebook etc. And make people be aware where the true party is going on.
    IMG_20170623_140924.jpg

Questions to answer


Some questions still remains unanswered and some starts to take shape, while few are set in stone. But here's some of the questions that you might find of relevance:

The when


Unlike my first bike tour from Denmark to Greece this one will require some specific preparations since I do it with the intention of bringing steemit along and also some upgrades to my current bike setup. But biking in winter and snow is something I never have been fund of. How do I get around problem without having to wait for April to come around in Europe? I am not the one to wait around until April again, I wanna go in the early year months of 2018.

The where


Going away from Europe is how to get away from the winter, so where do I plan to start? As it stands now it seems like the doors are open to what destination I choose. moving down towards the southern Asia for warmer climate could be an ideal option, moving towards Vietnam would be most certainly interesting. Decisions, decisions..

The why


Motivations comes from many places and more often than not they are rooting from one place. My passion is in biking and anything I see possible to allow me to cycle even further is a very valuable thing to me. Steemit has the potential to do provide that need for me and because of that i have a personal motivation both to see steemit grow and hopefully reap some of the success it will provide to us all. I don't wanna be one of those who stand on the line watching everybody else doing the work, I wanna be part a of the it.

IMG_20170806_195124.jpg


The preparations


But preparations have to be made and lucky I have more than enough time to go through all my decisions and plans before pulling the trigger. Also a part i enjoy to the fullest and that you might find interesting if you ever had thought of doing a long cycling tour yourself or any other kind of travel. From planning a route, to equipment of choice, something where you truly will see my inner nerd shine with a lot of knowledge to share. Beside the trip also creation of my steemit flyers and setting up myself to drag steemit along on my bike.

A journey to remember

This is just the beginning and it seems like since my journey started back in April it somewhat never stopped. So many spontaneous events and decisions changed my life and now I look to take it even further. Chasing a dream is what started my journey and now the journey itself created new dreams to be reached for. Will it ever stop?

Hope you guys will tag a long for the ride and that I can provide something to the community through my own passion. Whether it is to show you beautiful photography, stories or spreading the word of our community. You will hear from me soon enough!

See you on the road!

-Holm

Sort:  

This is a great passion and expanding the word while doing what you love is even better . Good to see you doing great things for the platform . I can’t wait to see your project all over the platform

Thanks a lot dear @journeyoflife, it will be a blast:)

Awesome project. I'm going to enjoy watching your journey unfold!

Thanks man! Glad you wanna tag along!

What?! This is genius, cycling the world to find people who would love to dive in the steemit water! <—- how did I do? Catchy? Anywho, I love the idea and would love to have you on our radio show Sunday night during the town hall to promote it, what say you?

@kubbyelizabeth Yeah the idea have been in my head for a while and now I'm finally trying it! I have never been in a radio show before but would sure like to try it, thanks for the the offer! How will it work?

If you are going to be a gust on air, all you need is a head phones and a mic. If you are going to host your own show there is a onboarding process to get you set up which is fairly easy too. Come join the minnow support porject and ill show you around.

thats a great project i will watch out!

Great to see you tag along!

This is such a great idea! I'm very much looking forward to following your journey. Should you be coming to Nepal let us know and there'll surely be a bed for the night! Happy cycling bro!

Haha I will remember you on that one! Nepal here I come! :))

This is really cool :D

Tagging along!

Awesome man!

welcome to the steemers family

This wonderful post has received a bellyrub 6.76 % upvote from @bellyrub. Please make sure to vote for my pops as a witness @zeartul,Here

This post has received a 6.47 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @holm.

This post has received a 3.20 % upvote from @buildawhale thanks to: @holm. Send at least 1 SBD to @buildawhale with a post link in the memo field for a portion of the next vote.

To support our daily curation initiative, please vote on my owner, @themarkymark, as a Steem Witness

Nice one Holm, thats wonderful, nice write up, keep it up, am new too, just a few days old, just keep it flowing

This looks like a good project. Something I guess I need to start working on as well. :)

Glad to inspire! We need the nomads to spread the word!

Fantastic bike & beautiful pictures with this bike you will never be fat person Haha ^^ thank you so much for sharing following you :)

Thanks a lot man! Haha yeah the bike surely keeps me in shape!

0241.jpg

Now that's a alternative bike! Love it!

That does sounds really cool keep us updated buddy :)

I will keep you updated till the end! Haha:)

Hi)
I'm community manager from TravelChain company and our team really liked your profile. The content you make is very interesting and referred to the main point of our company.
We would like to offer you to take part in our Bounty campaign and help us with promoting. If you will be interested, contact me via email [email protected] and I will send to you links with some information)

Awesome idea @holm. Remember to come to Bali when you bike in SoutheastAsia!!!

I will my friend! One day!

Great project - sounds like fun!!!! Look forward to seeing more of your adventure unfold!

Thank man! Glad you wanna follow me a long!

I'd love to see a map of your proposed route when you have it figured out :)

I'm actually sitting and looking at routes right now, so you won't have to wait for too long! Haha:)

Nothing more fun than a bit of adventure planning!

Hello Everyone, I hope you are enjoying Steemit!

This is a great place with a great community -- glad to have you around!
follow @gauravgpt60 for future steemit instructions to get much better results.