Have you been to... Naples, Italy?

in #travel2 years ago

I'll start. I haven't, but would probably like to. Truth is, I've got some leftover credits in my airline account, and figure I might as well spend them on something I've never done. So for me, the choices right not are Venice and Naples. Since I'll be traveling in late October, I'm not sure Venice is such a hot idea. You know, water and stuff? Maybe I'm completely wrong. If so and you know that, do tell me.

But I guess I'm trying to establish Naples superiority or something, figure out what to do whilst there, etc. Aside from the UK, Italy is my favorite place (and favorite foreign language), I was there a couple of weeks ago, and would love to get back sometime before the end of the year. I'd like to see the Catacombs, whilst in Naples. What can I say, I like dark, creepy shit like that. There's this brilliant monastery (I think) in Rome, and underground, they've got these detailed still-motion (duh) scenes, done with real skulls and stuff. It's brilliant.

Anyway, so there's that, Vesuvius, if it's visit-able in October, and I guess the Bourbon Tunnel? I'm sure there's plenty of cool touristy stuff to see, but I'm wondering if anyone on here has some "hidden gem" type of things to recommend?

298475303_622953695811158_5885687226972308110_n.jpg

To me, those places are far better than tourist attractions, even if it's gonna be mid-autumn, so probably less crowded (fingers crossed). For example, back in May, I was in London, and I've pretty much done all the touristy stuff over there, by this point, but I found this "hidden gem" on Instagram, the museum-house of late architect Sir John Sloane. Fucking brilliant. And free to enter. And less crowded. So a win on all counts. Wondering if there are any places like that in Naples.

...Or Venice. Maybe it's actually way more worth it, if one must choose between the two. So whatever you got, hit me with it, and I'll be ever grateful!

Sort:  

No, I've never been to Italy but would LOVE to experience it. Most people I know who've been say it's their favorite destination. Have you watched this show: https://www.cnn.com/shows/stanley-tucci-searching-for-italy ? It might help you decide.

Oddly, I have not, though I love Stanley Tucci. Thank you!!

You're welcome! This show is spectacular. He's one of the few hosts that I liked as much as Anthony Bourdain.