You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Longing places (english - german)

in #travel5 years ago

Thank you so much @dswigle. In Greece, hospitality is deeply rooted. But there is already a small change in the younger generation. In Germany, the younger generation is more influenced by selfishness. When raising my daughter, I have always made sure that she shows respect for others. And she shows it, as far as I can tell. Hospitality is not as big here as in the south of Europe. But that is certainly in the history of our nation. However, the refugee crisis has shown that most of the population is willing to accept those who need help and to welcome them. I think the pictures went around the world in 2015 when Syrian refugees arrived in Germany after Hungary refused to accept them. A total of 890,000 refugees were registered this fall. In this special case, hospitality was also shown in Germany.

Sort:  

I actually remember that, and everyone on earth should. I think that Germans, in general, are not as demonstrative in this nature (my father is German) but that their respect is shown in a different manner. One that really counted for so much, in the case of the Syrian refugees.

I agree that hospitality in the south is much more open and demonstrated, but, I have no illusions. I can honestly say that I feel loved most places I go to and my heart becomes attached to their ways.

Thank you for the always awesome response.

I have to thank you for engagement.