To Barcelona! Day 1 + Day 2 [First time flying alone, best coffee ever, new shorts!]

in #travel7 years ago

Day 1

Hi there steemers! I went to Barcelona for the weekend to visit my aunt and have some time to explore the city! I went there by plane with really cheap tickets from Transavia. It was really exciting in the beginning because I never flew alone! My mom brought me to the airport and while we were waiting we had a drink at the restaurant at the airport. I went there via Rotterdam/The Hague airport because it was the closest airport to where I live. I came really early because I was scared to miss my flight, but I made it easily. Getting through security was really easy and  waiting at the gate was probably the worst. When the boarding started I got in the airplane really quick and I had a seat in the back next to the window. 2 guys were sitting next to me. I flew at 17:20 right in dinner time and I forget about that so I didn't eat anything. As soon as the airplane started taking off I got a lot of pain in my stomach and the guys next to me were drinking beer and the smell was really bad, but with some netflix I made it. The flight duration was 1h 45m so it wasn't that bad. 

As soon as I got out the airplane I went straight to the bus I had to take, it was the Aerobus and it was really fast. In no-time I was in the center of Barcelona in Place de Catalunya. From there I went straight to my aunts home. It took me 20 minutes to get there. She lives in an apartment 3 high and it was such a hard way to get up because it was really hot! 30 degrees celsius is pretty mental for me! I didn't see my aunt for 7 months or so. So it was great catching up with her. She has 2 kids from 5 & 1 year old, my uncle wasn't there because he was working. My uncle & aunt don't want their kids on the internet so I will call the 1 year old "Bobby" and the 5 year old "Dobby". So Bobby was already asleep because it was 10 PM but Dobby was still awake because he was really excited I came along :) We had a quick talk but then she had to bring Dobby to bed. I checked my phone and sent my mom a message that I arrived safely and I told that the heat was mad. After 15 minutes she came back and we had a conversation and then she suddenly asks if I was hungry. I told her I didn't have dinner and she instantly offers me a meal and I said yes ofcourse. I ate some scrambled eggs with bread and I wasn't that hungry, I guess it was the heat that made me less hungry. After a while I went to bed because I was tired, I didn't take any photos from this point. 


Day 2

In the morning of the second day I woke up pretty early because it was really hot in the room I was sleeping. I was sleeping in Dobby's room because there wasn't a room free for me. I didn't really care, I just had to be quiet for Dobby. When I got out of bed I got myself dressed with some shorts and a T-shirt. I had breakfast with my aunt and the nephews. We had a basic breakfast with some bread, it wasn't that special. Dobby had to go to school so my aunt had to bring him and she also had to bring Bobby because he's only 1. I joined them for the walk to school, it was really nice catching up some more with Dobby and my aunt. Bobby was still really shy because he didn't know me because he was only one year old. After bringing Dobby to school we walked through a park and headed to a place to get coffee, my aunt introduced it as the best place to get coffee in Barcelona, I was pretty excited because I never had coffee somewhere good. When we got there I was really impressed about the looks. It looked super solid, here's a photo from the web.  I do not own this photo, all the rights to the owner.                                                                                    

  I really think anyone who likes coffee should go to this place, it's called Nømad coffee and it's located in Passatge de Sert, it's closed in weekends so thats quite sad but in weekdays it's opened from 08:30 till 17:30. I got a latte and the taste was really amazing, I was quite shocked because I never tasted coffee this great, after the coffee we went to a little self-made market, there was a lot of weird stuff but at some point we came along a stand that sells cacti, they were really cool so I decided to buy one for my brother. They come with a cool pot with a face on it. This is the stand.  

I got a small one for my brother which cost me only 8 euros! So cheap! The company which made these is called Pompillo plants, they also have a store. Great to get a little souvenir instead of those stupid souvenir shops that are all over the place! After that my aunt said that we were close to her barber and she asked if I wanted to get a spanish haircut, I said I actually wanted to go to the barber in the Netherlands but I was too late to do it, so we went to the barber and they cut it just a little bit shorter. I don't go much to the barber because I have a lot of hair so whenever it gets tooo long I just get it cut and then I can go on for 1 or 2 months. After that we went back to my aunts home. I downloaded a map from Google maps and I went exploring by myself. I really wanted to visit a streetwear store to get some new shorts and it was 2 streets away. The store is called 24Kilates and it was a really cool store, I grabbed some new shorts because I only have one pair of shorts so I really needed that. Wrapped in a nice little bag and ready to explore some more!

After some walking I came by 2 men having coffee and I was walking around with my camera so they yelled "picture!!" I asked if I needed to take of picture of them so I did do that and I asked if they had email adresses or something and they just kept talking Spanish to me, after some time they found out I didn't understand them and they only said "Have a great stay in Barcelona!" I thanked them but I still had the picture, here is it.

After that I walked around some more and I ended up at the beach, without swimming pants, I had some food at a small restaurant and I called my mom, I had a small conversation and then I called my aunt to ask if she was home, luckily she was. I went back there and it was a 15 minute walk. I grabbed a towel and put on swimming shorts and I went back to swim. After some swimming and relaxing I went back to my aunt. I had some time to check my phone and socialize a bit. My aunt went to get Dobby from school with Bobby so I had to wait here. When she got back she started to make dinner. Pasta with pesto sauce, I helped a bit and after a while we had the meal ready. After the meal Bobby got brought to bed. After that I played a little game with Dobby & my aunt. After that Dobby went to bed and I had some drinks and I also went to bed.


Thanks for reading! Next parts will come asap! Upvote if you liked it!