Interesting Facts Which You Never Knew About "Lighthouse on the Edge of the Earth"!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

 Dear Steam!

 Today I'm going to tell you about my trip to Dondra. I will focus on one of the attractions,"Dondra Lighthouse". It is also the highest beacon in Sri Lanka(49m).

Сегодня я вам хочу рассказать о своей поездке в Дондру к одной из достопримечательностей, а именно к "Dondra Lighthouse", он также является самым высоким маяком на Шри-Ланке (49м). 

 Geographically the location of Sri Lanka is very convenient to realize sea transportation between West and East. By the way, that was the reason why the island endured foreign threats and onslaughts. Ceylon was attacked 3 times. The Portuguese, the Dutch and finally the British wanted to take over the Magnificent Island.

Шри-Ланка географически находится в очень удобном месте для морских грузоперевозок, между западом и востоком. Кстати это являлось причиной частого захвата острова чужестранцами..3 раза Цейлон подвергался нападению: сначала португальцы, потом голландцы а следом британцы желали завладеть чудо-островом.

 The Lighthouse was constructed by the British as long ago as 1889. But it's been functioning till now and helping ships not to lose their way for over a century.

Маяк возвели британцы аж в 1889 году. Он до сих пор работает и уже в течении полутора веков помогает кораблям не сбиться с курса.

 The Lighthouse is opened for every tourist, for a modest payment(500 rupees/ 3.5$/ 0.0059BTC). We decided to haggle and paid just 200 rupees. One more interesting fact…everybody bargains in Sri Lanka. Local residents even welcome "trade deals". To visit the upper deck of the beacon you need to pass 196 steps.  

Маяк открыт для туристов, за скромную плату в 500 рупий (3.5$ или 0.0059 BTC). Но мы сторговались и прошли за 200 рупий, кстати интересный факт, на Шри-Ланке везде все торгуются. И это даже приветствуется местным народом.Чтобы попасть на верхний ярус маяка нужно пройти 196 ступеней.

 After rising upward you are met by the wonderful sea panorama.

Поднявшись наверх, нас встречает замечательнейший вид на бескрайнее море.

 The Lighthouse is the southern point on Earth. What is then? Only Antarctica.

Этот маяк, если смотреть в сторону юга, является самой южной точкой земли, дальше только Антарктида. 

 One more miracle in my box! I advice you to visit Dondra! You will not be sorry!

Очередное клёвое место в копилку! Всем советую посетить, вы точно не пожалеете!

Follow me, if you wanna see more cool places!

Sort:  

I want to get there !! where my teleporter

I want to repeat this trip :) go?

Next time i'll go with you)

ok. No problem :)

So captivated by the beautiful scenery and great photographic angles. You have a talent at capturing the moment. Upvoted and followed, can't wait to see your next post. I'll have to incorporate some beautiful scenery like this when I write my next few stories, poems and songs

Thank you that you read me! Now I will try make even more cool photos :)

Nice article.
I was spend a lot of time on Sri Lanka. And wanna be back :)

cool! and what cities you visited?

Cool Share
And Such Lovely Pictures

Thank you :)

Such a nice place!!!

Totally agree with you! I also really liked.

course I would like more photos..)

later I lay out more!

great photos, dude.

nice ) I have been in Lanka few times ) still some things to tell about this country!

Thx)
later I will write a great post about Sri Lanka and will put more photos :)

Photos are great! But you must go on South very straight, otherwise there at least Maldives on the way. :-)

on the way???))