A weekend getaway

in #travel6 years ago

Last weekend a friend and I took the train from London to Brighton. It was a spontaneous idea and we arranged it in a matter of days. It is under an hour journey by train from central London and it is quite convenient and fast to get there.
It was my first time visiting Brighton and I found it lovely. One thing I find fascinating when travelling is architecture and buildings. I just love looking at the buildings, trying to figure out the story behind them. Brighton did not disappoint me.

IMG_3448.JPG

I should admit though there was many hopeless people sleeping in the streets. And as such a modern and vibrant city, I was surprised to see them just begging for money. However I came across Brighton street art, which is very outstanding.

IMG_3447.JPG

We also visited the Royal Pavillion, which was built as a seaside retreat for Royalties. As you can see from the below image it very much resembles the Indian type of architecture for most of the 19th century. It is one of Britain's finest castles.

IMG_3436.JPG

Unfortunately the weather wasn't as sunny and warm as I wanted it to be, however I really had a great time exploring this beautiful city situated on the coastline. I am looking forward to my next UK adventure but in the meantime...

IMG_3450.JPG

Sort:  

Hi intemporel You just received a free upvote and resteem from @steemwhalepower please upvote this comment to help everyone who uses this service if you want me to remove this comment reply remove

Your Post has been sent to the promoted section for free.
Thanks for participating in our giveaway !

Thank you!

You take great photos, Elena. You really should post more often on Steemit. At least 2–3 times a week.

Thank you! I have been bad recently but I promise to get back on track next week and post 2-3 times as you suggested! :)

Consistency is the key! Lycka till! ;) Удачи!

@intemporel you were flagged by a worthless gang of trolls, so, I gave you an upvote to counteract it! Enjoy!!

Congratulations @intemporel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!