How To: Run Away From Winter and Become Maltese in 2 Days (I Part)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Let me tell you this, once in a while running away from winter feels so right. And is right. Sometimes it is left also, but mostly, right.

The one who does that can easily consider oneself the magician. Jumping from -15C to +15C seems to prove it more than perfectly.

So, as I am taking into hands my magical wand, let’s start this adventure!

IMG_20180127_100213_756.jpg

What was the very first thing that I have noticed in Malta is that public transportation is extremely simple to use and considerably cheap, what is more together with Maltese (sounding so similar to Arabic) they also speak English as Malta was ruled as a British crown colony.

But hey, these things you might also find out in Google, right? So, better, why don’t I tell you something you could not find there.

IMG_20180127_095944_305.jpg

The first impression of Malta was absolutely enticing. Everywhere I went colors were just bursting. Everywhere from the water to the sky and in the middle of this joy, what an architecture!

IMG_20180127_204837_437.jpg

The ice cream was the first thing I went for. Amorino is my absolute favorite spot. The ice cream was A-CLASS. Yes, you got it right, not B-CLASS and not C-Class. It was pure A. Pistacchio, vanilla, coconut, raspberry and their special Amarena- everything in one waffle.

IMG_20180127_095412_423.jpg

After that I got myself a very nice tour and went to see everything I was reading about for a few days: fountains, parks, sculptures, squares, museums… you name it.

IMG_20180127_204650_041.jpg

However, the best part is yet to come. On my way back to Sliema I was waiting for the ferry. Suddenly I see guy rushing towards me. He asks if he can sit next to me and starts to hit…(no, not hit me) on me. It is always funny to get praised in a shallow way. So, supposedly I am an extremely beautiful model. Let’s say, I am the one he has never seen before. Let’s say that I am so special, and so smart. Well, basically all the typical things one can encounter anywhere.

Then he starts complaints about his life. Usually when someone starts doing this I naturally get this reaction of not react, so after he finishes his complains I think to myself: “how happy are we to have tragedies so small so that they can fit on the tips of our tongues?” and I break promise to myself not to react… I say to him that if, he actually wanted something he would have had it by now. He looks at me as if I am Jesus (later on, he starts calling me Jesus, God and saint) and at that time I realised that I should not have told him this. At this time he was not only fascinated by my Eastern European appearance, but also intrigued. And this is even worse. Ferry comes and I try to mix into a crowd. He ends up asking me to grab some coffee. The answer is clear. No. He then tries to ask for my number. Again. No. Then he asks if I am able to find where I live, since it got dark. Yes, I am, thank you. He looks at me with this cheetah smile and says: No, you do not and starts following me from the ferry.

I turn back and say: thank you so much, was very nice to meet you, Filip (yes, his name is Filip and he is Montenegrin who has houses in Croatia, Montenegro, and Serbia; is extremely rich, has some business here and there and in Malta works as a server.

About one thing he was absolutely right. I did not really know how to get back. and I got lost.

IMG_20180127_095830_156.jpg

To be continued...

La versión en español la puedes encontrar aquí: https://steemit.com/cervantes/@itsginta/como-huir-del-invierno-y-convertirte-en-maltes-en-2-dias-i-parte

Sort:  

More images like this. Please! 🙌

@scorer will upload even more, just wait for it!

great presentation and a lovely photo set, made me love the place and wanna visit it !!!

@hcukaleski, mnogo fala, wait for the second part... or wait for Macedonia's version :)

These stubborn Eastern European girlzzz who would rather get lost! :D
Like always with some spicy stories!!!
I love it!

Thank you sunshine :)

This truly is a fantastic set of photos! Cheers! Had to up vote both versions!

& Resteem this one!

CHEERS!

STEEM ON!

@coast-on-crypto, Thank you so much :)