I'll be back in two weeks fellow Steemians! VACATION!

in #travel6 years ago

It’s time to take off for my 2 weeks vacation in Spain and I would like to thank Steemit for my 1st month on this awesome platform! Almost 100 followers, thank you so much for your loyalty!

wing-plane-flying-airplane-62623.jpeg

Before catching my flight, I would like to share some thoughts on my Steemit experience up until now:

1. The idea of creating a Blog

Before even becoming a member of Steemit, I thought about creating a Blog. However, creating a Blog on any other platform takes time and a lot of effort, if you want it to be great.

My loving partner, who is a crypto-enthusiast saw my interest in writing and sharing with others. He talked to me about Steemit and I immediately fell in love with the concept.

After taking a course on Udemy by @joeparys, I created my account and got started. At first, the platform seemed a bit overwhelming to understand. So I did some more research till I was ready to create my first Blog post. It turned out to be pretty simple and I learned the basics of Markdown for editing. In my opinion, Steemit is a great platform for anyone to start out a Blog and ‘’test’’ their marketing skills by getting rewarded!

giphy.gif

2. Small fish in a big sea

Like many minnows out there, I wondered how I could get my Blog posts noticed and build a following. With so many members in the great big sea of powerful dolphins and whales, how was I going to achieve that?

6218513154_eb1774ff66_m.jpg

So I did the first thing @joeparys and @jarrybanfield suggested: invest in Steem and power up! By investing in Steem, you gain more Steem Power and therefore your upvote is worth more. You also contribute to making the value of Steem and the platform stronger. So for me, it’s a win-win situation.

We want Steemit to thrive? Well, investing is definitely a great way to contribute to its long-term success. Investing helps you gain influence on the platform and may eventually help you grow from a small fish to a dolphin or whale.

3. Steemit is a marathon, at least at first

runner-888016_640.jpg

I read this phrase in a couple of Blog posts (sorry, I forgot the names of the authors) and I believe it is 100% true. From what I’ve learned in the past weeks, having a Blog on Steemit comes with a certain level of commitment. Especially if you want to evolve in the platform by gaining followers, upvotes, having people comment and resteem your posts. I have committed to Steemit daily (except Sundays) by doing the following:

  • Draft quality posts daily (including editing) and publish 1-2 posts weekly. For now, publishing daily is impossible for me and I am not really sure about how efficient that is.
    Read all the comments in my Replies tab. I will normally upvote and comment them as well. If they’re not spam, all replies deserve my attention.

  • Take the time to go through my Feed and read the articles of members I am following. If the post interests me, I will take the time to upvote, comment and maybe even resteem. I figure, if you follow someone, the least you can do is read them and encourage them!

  • Visit the #introduceyourself tab and welcome new steemits. I try to do this daily but if not possible, at least 2-3 times a week. I feel it is really important to encourage new members.

  • Read articles of my fellow friends on Steemit Discord servers like Steem Quebec and the Steemit Promo Server. I’ll upvote, comment and maybe resteem any post I find interesting.

4. Community vibes, joining Steemit Discord servers

This has probably been one of the most positive experiences I’ve had since joining Steemit. I had never been on a Discord server before, but it’s pretty simple to navigate. Just by following the rules on each server and introducing myself kindly, I have had the pleasure to interact almost daily with fellow steemians everywhere in the world.

I encourage ALL minnows to join several Steemit Discord channels and make the best out of this whole innovative blogging experience. Here are some of the servers I have joined:

On Channel #Love and Light, special mention to @staceyjean and @ecoalex

5. Delegation, Steem Power sharing

Earlier I mentioned that investing in Steem is a great way to gain Steem Power and contribute to the value of Steem. So let’s say you’ve invested and would like to share some of your steem power with other members. You may ask yourself, how do I delegate?

Here is a post that explains it well: https://steemit.com/delegate/@zeartul/how-to-delegate-steem-power-the-easy-way-if-you-have-over-30-sp-you-can-delegate

I’m a generous person, so even if I’m not a dolphin or whale, I love the concept of sharing with others. I decided to delegate some of my Steem Power to two community projects-accounts that I hold dearly:

Both community projects have helped me grow and I would like to return that favor. Besides, my little contribution can help many other members of those communities as well!

Awwww, isn’t it a great feeling to share?
pexels-photo-870866.jpeg

Alright, so that is about it for now and my steemit experience. I might have forgotten some stuff, but I can save it for future posts. Overall, I am loving the Steemit experience!

I am heading out for my Spanish vacation extravaganza, but....

I’LL BE BACK!
giphy (9).gif

Sort:  

Enjoy your life :) have a safe vacation.

Thanks! I'm back!

Have a wonderful time!

Thanks sweety! Take care

You could use @steepshot to post your travels with us.
Short and sweet.

And you can thank @Jerrybanfield for his discord #resteem-request where i found your gracious blog.

Have a lot of fun and stay safe..... and remember to use @steepshot to share your vacation while it is happening.

Hi @libertyranger! Thanks for the hint on @steepshot. However, I will be taking a technology break on those weeks, I really want to take the time off to enjoy every second ;) But I will be creating posts about my trip when I'm back!

Yeah, you're right about @Jerrybanfield, I thanked him for advice on investing in Steem in this post, but it is worth to mention that his new Discord channel has been helpful too.

Thanks for the blessings :)

I am going to miss you, Jessica but have a great time in Spain, take lots of pictures and maybe videos as well.^^ Thanks a lot for the mention!^^ May join the Discord Quebec group soon since I do not think I am there yet!^^ Thanks for all your support and we learn a lot from each other everyday here!

Thanks for the kind words! I'll be back ;)

Enjoy your trip! :)

Great content, Jessica. I think Discord is definitely the best way to connect and help each other grow! Thanks for sharing :-)

Have a safe journey....

Thanks! Everything went well :)

You got a 4.62% upvote from @inciter courtesy of @jessicapixie!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly � Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

Have a wonderful trip!! See you here when you're back!!

It was indeed wonderful, thanks! Gonna be posting about the trip soon ;)

Jessia thank you very much for sharing this post with me in my discord channel at https://jerrybanfield.com/contact/ via the #resteem-requests channel which had reaction from @libertyranger which motivated me to take a look!

WOW this is an extremely effective post for helping anyone getting started and exploring the first few months on Steem for learning how to participate and picking a winning mindset!

We appreciate you sharing your experience with us here especially how you found Steem from your partner's referral, taking the Udemy course by @joeparys, and then making your own experience here!

I will be resteeming your post soon and sent an upvote bid through my bot as our collective thank you for your contributions!

Thanks so much @jerrybanfield! I'm back from my trip! I'm glad to know this post was helpful to others :)

Enjoy your vacation and do post about your travel once you are back. Have fun cheers

It was awesome thanks! I will be posting about the trip in the upcoming weeks. Lot's of photo and video editing to be done the upcoming weekend. I can't wait so share with all of you!

Have fun dear.... And stay safe

Thanks! I recommend visiting Spain. Awesome country!

Saya sangat senang membaca blog anda ini. Jadi bertambah pengalaman untuk saya terimakasih

Thanks. Gain something from the post. Do have a lovely vacation and waiting to share your experience when you are back.

Don't you think it will be nice to share your experience on go or with won't be possible with your activities. Maybe you don't want to mix things up. There is time for every thing; time to work and time to play.

Safe journey!

Hi there! Happy to know my post was helpful to you. Yeah, actually I needed a technology break and had many outdoor activites. I will be creating several posts about my trip. Please stay tuned! :)

I thought as much

Hope you get your well-earned rest! Looking forward to your travel photos and posts when you return!

It was great thanks! Indeed, I will be writing several posts with photos and videos of my exciting trip. Can't wait to share with all of you :D

Safe journey in your travels @jessicapixie. Your post also was educative too, thanks for that.

Glad to know it was educative :) Thanks, we had a great time! I'll be sharing posts on it soon ;)

Enjoy your vacation, nice photos :)

Thank you! I'll be editing photos and videos the upcoming weekend and will create posts about traveling in Spain. Stay tuned!

Hi again @jessicapixie. I discovered your profile in the Discord chat and I like it a lot. I am a big cat lover and like a lot your country, I hope to visite one day :-)

Hi @lifeinblue! You're on the Steemit Promo Server? Thanks for dropping in and saying hi, maybe we can chat on Discord? :) What's not to love about cats eh?! :)

Yes, I am on this Server, I was invited by @denoxblogger who was very kind to me. Yes, I surely will say "hi" to you on Discrod. Have a great day :-)