And so I am knowing Lima! Central plaza

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

"A journey of a thousand miles begins with the first step" Lao Tse, as the philosopher said...

My story begins with my trip from my beloved Venezuela, started with steps, continued with buses and when I arrived in Peru I continued to cycle.

A large and beautiful city like Lima deserves to be traveled kilometer by kilometer, meter by meter, centimeter by centimeter. When you travel a city by bicycle every centimeter you travel is the product of your effort, feeling the way in your legs and arms.

The traffic of this city, would not allow to enjoy its landscapes, its structures, its beautiful places; so I'll show you how I decided to go! I hope you like it.

The first thing is to decide the destination, this time the Plaza Mayor of Lima

load water on the bottles and take the cycling shoes

we wait for friends and we go.

30km round trip is nothing when you feel like it, this trip in total was more than 70km because I went from the plaza to the circuit of beaches on the green coast in Miraflores but this time I will show you only the main square because my phone ran out of battery.

plaza mayor maps recorrido.jpg

We arrived at the Plaza De Armas in Lima and here something of its history.

plaza central lima mag.jpg

The Plaza Mayor in Lima or Plaza de Armas in Lima, is the foundational site of the city, capital of Peru. It is located in the historic center of Lima, around it rises, the Government Palace of Peru, the Cathedral of Lima, the Church of the Sagrario, the Archbishop's Palace of Lima, the Municipal Palace of Lima and the Union Club. His style denotes the Hispanic step in the history of the country.

The Plaza de Armas is crossed by the Jirón Junín, the Jirón de la Unión, the Jirón Huallaga and the Jirón Carabaya.
plaza mayor fuente.jpg

Plaza mayor lima.jpg

Every day I am in the city by bike so I am already preparing material for the next post.

A big greeting and a thousand blessings for all

Sort:  

is it safe biking around - in terms of road, other vehicles, etc? And Merry Christmas (:

hello @best-trip-eva , regularly in the parts of the city where there are bike paths, I use them, but in the streets where sometimes I have to travel, there are still no roads and driving in traffic is the only way to get there on time. the city is in the process of building more bike paths but it is a work that is just beginning ... I always use a helmet and I try to drive as wisely as possible, although in the city of Lima the drivers do not respect the cyclist ... Merry Christmas thanks for visiting my post

Thank you for the detailed explanation! :)

I look forward to more bike adventures! As one of the editors for @steemitworldmap’s daily #traveldigest, I would love to see this post pop up on http://steemitworldmap.com. If you're interested, simply go to the website, search for your location, click on code (down the bottom) and add a short description. It will then generate the code you need to copy and paste into your post (not the comments) to have it show up on steemit worldmap. There’s also a FAQ section if you get a bit lost.
You can find out about the project here:
https://steemit.com/travel/@steemitworldmap/steemit-worldmap

hello @choogirl , thank you, I'll be uploading post on bicycle trips visiting places of interest and also upload some when I do training. thank you very much for the info and I will gladly follow your advice. I wait for you in future trips

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=jfprodigy
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=and-so-i-am-knowing-lima-central-plaza


Want to have your post on the map too?
Add the following inside your post:
!steemitworldmap xxx lat yyy long description d3scr

(replace xxx and yyy with latitude and longitude)