You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #92 : Aspendos and The Ancient City of Perge!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This was an in-depth guided tour of the two ancient cities of Aspendos and Perge, @sweetsssj.

There is a difference between travelling to see the sights and immersing oneself in the history and culture of a region. You have accomplished the latter and by so doing, brought the past alive.

I felt as I was following you through the ruins that these stones still live - that the magic and mystery of the great amphitheatres wasn't lost to time but could still be experienced in the modern age.

Your anecdote about a whisper being heard in the amphitheatre at Aspendos made my knowledge of Zeno and Roman culture take on new meaning. It's easy to look at ruins and just see massive stonework, but it's quite another thing to envision people there, walking about and living their lives and watching theatrical performances shielded by the airy colonnades.

The skene building is impressive - the exterior photos show an extremely well-preserved structure that almost looks modern.

Personally, I found the site at Aspendos to be the more compelling of the two cities simply because it was more compact and better preserved.

I admire your tenacity and diligence though in braving the sun and enduring the stifling heat in order to present a full account of these two ancient sites.

Previously, I felt I knew Marcus Aurelius through his memoirs, The Meditations and other Stoic writings, but now I feel I know something of the world in which he lived thanks to your faithful depiction of the these sites and their history.

A thorough tour of two fascinating ancient cities, sssj.

Sort:  

Hi @sweetsssj
I really like you're having the opportunity to visit all the world with its wonderful views and countries with different cultures
You are bringing to steemit.com views from around the world and this is a great reason for me to follow your journeys
Love your work
Have a great time Steeming

I really like you

Hello, I'm new to Steemit, I have a short time I would like you to go through my profile and see my new publication, if you could give me your support, I would appreciate it, tell me what you think of my drawings.

https://steemit.com/cn/@assad25/drawing-of-krilin-manga-and-anime-character-dragon-ball-krilin-dragon-ball

Thank you john, it would seem like we have a completely approach to learning about these places. Prior to my visit here, I never knew of these places and their relevance to the ancients, the bible and the classics. It was an incredible exercise to try build a framework around how all of these places intertwined with their significance. Of course, visiting and seeing these places first hand gave me that extra bit of curiosity which perhaps would not have been there if not for the visit.

My personal favourite was Aspendos too, I loved the colonnades and the skene building, both because of their ability to shade me from the sun, but also because of how airy they were. Walking in and out, through and through, really made me feel like I was there. It helps that they are so well preserved as you say.

On the other hand, Perge like Hierapolis was an exercise of the imagination, much of it's ruins were so disfigured, I had to look at the guide photos to see where and what they looked like in their prime. Still, it was fascinating to see how large the area was. Truly the scale of a city, and I imagine a very busy and bustling one at that!

Nice place , was there

it is located in Antalya, Turkey. This city is one of the most summer touristic city in Turkey, it has also many fabulous beaches and different ancient place. You should try to see many of them before death.

Hola Gracias por compartir estos hermosos lugares, Saludos

hi @sweetsssj i have a poem to share hope you will have time to see it..have a nice day and take care always..

https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@mrblu/poem-freedom-of-choose

Interesting! i felt like i was there in all these places!! Keep Up the Good Work!

Sin duda fue un viaje en la distancia , lugares hermosos llenos de historias, Saludos

Sin duda fue un viaje en la distancia , lugares hermosos llenos de historias, Saludos

Amazing post and beautiful pictures.

Nice Picture

I have watched many of the top rome documentaries on Youtube and there is so much to cover and there are so many books so many stories so many generations of Romans that within the roman civilization itself people looked back upon their own ancestors as "antiquity" And the Eastern Roman empire lasted all the way into the Byzantine Empire and so rome lasted a lot longer than people think....

The Movie Gladiator probably did more than anything else in our culture to spark an interest in Ancient Rome. That idea of a more simple civilization really attracted so many people! It must be natural to want to remember an older simpler time. It must have been very romantic and nice if you had wealth and power back then and could time travel to that time period but with the knowledge of today.... That must be how people far in the future must feel like when they visit us in todays time period :)