You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel with me #92 : Aspendos and The Ancient City of Perge!

in #travel7 years ago

Thank you john, it would seem like we have a completely approach to learning about these places. Prior to my visit here, I never knew of these places and their relevance to the ancients, the bible and the classics. It was an incredible exercise to try build a framework around how all of these places intertwined with their significance. Of course, visiting and seeing these places first hand gave me that extra bit of curiosity which perhaps would not have been there if not for the visit.

My personal favourite was Aspendos too, I loved the colonnades and the skene building, both because of their ability to shade me from the sun, but also because of how airy they were. Walking in and out, through and through, really made me feel like I was there. It helps that they are so well preserved as you say.

On the other hand, Perge like Hierapolis was an exercise of the imagination, much of it's ruins were so disfigured, I had to look at the guide photos to see where and what they looked like in their prime. Still, it was fascinating to see how large the area was. Truly the scale of a city, and I imagine a very busy and bustling one at that!

Sort:  

Nice place , was there

it is located in Antalya, Turkey. This city is one of the most summer touristic city in Turkey, it has also many fabulous beaches and different ancient place. You should try to see many of them before death.

Hola Gracias por compartir estos hermosos lugares, Saludos

hi @sweetsssj i have a poem to share hope you will have time to see it..have a nice day and take care always..

https://steemit.com/poetrycontest/@mrblu/poem-freedom-of-choose