Venezuela - Natural Paradise on Earth - La Gran Sabana

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

La Gran Sabana
The name in english would be "The Great Plains" and it is called this way because of its open savannas, they emphasize the numerous Tepuyes (name of the singular type of mountains it has). Abounding in natural wonders such as waterfalls, wildlife, rapids and rainforest, is located inside of one of the biggest national parks in Venezuela: Canaima.

Roraima
The highest Tepuy of the park.
The myth says that you shouldn't yell or raise your voice at Roraima, if you do, the rain will come for sure.

Salto Ángel (Angel Falls)
Is the world's highest waterfall

... and the inspiration of the Disney movie "Up!"

[image source https://ohmy.disney.com/movies/2014/11/20/pixar-location-travel-bucket-list/ ]

This post is shorter than it should be, but I want to remind you I'm not a tourist guide, I just want to introduce you to the beautiful places that my country has. I'll make more posts like this soon :) If you ever been here, share your experience.

As a bonus, I'll leave here a video I found that tells the story about the Tepuyes and this wonderful land.
National Geographic's Living Edens: Lost World: Venezuela's Ancient Tepuis.

None of the pictures in this post were taken by me.

Sort:  

Few countries in the world Julie have this degree of natural beauty: Andean peaks, Caribbean coastline, idyllic islands, grasslands teeming with wildlife, the steamy Orinoco Delta and the world's highest waterfall, Angel Falls :) Upvoted and resteemed! I'm a HUGE fan of Venezuela :)

I'm glad that you like it that much! And I'm really thankful for the support
Have you ever been here?

Yes Julie, I have friends in Caracas! I've also visited Brazil, Argentina, Peru and Columbia ... a well travelled @mindhunter :)

neat video. Nice to know there are still unspoiled areas :)

Hola Julie, bienvenida a Steemit, bellos videos, reflejan lo hermosa de nuestra tierra. Orgullosa de ser Venezolana, nuestro país fué bendecido por Dios.
Hello Julie, welcome to Steemit, beautiful videos, reflect the beautiful of our land. Proud of being Venezuelan, our country was blessed by God.

thank you. so very very beautiful. thank you for showing us.

Thank you for seeing it :)