CurioussoulRecommends: Visiting Sitges (Catalonia, Spain)

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Dear travellers,
Let’s explore more my beloved country – Spain! :)

Today I am taking you with me to visit Sitges, a small town in Catalonia, close to Barcelona, called by some “the Saint-Tropez of Spain”. It is well known in the whole region for its sandy beaches and charming old town.

6.jpg
source

I must warn you, during a summer season it may get busy and crowded as it attracts many people simply because they want to escape overcrowded beaches in Barcelona. Furthermore, it hosts many cultural events like film festival and carnival that attract both locals and tourists. More about that below :)
The city became as well Spain’s most famous gay and lesbian community holiday destination.

1.jpg

How to get to Sitges from Barcelona?

You can choose to come to Sitges by car. The ride will take around 30 minutes from the city centre of Barcelona. This will be the most convenient way, but please remember that during summer time you may have problems with finding a parking place.

Sitges is also easily accessible by train. From the train station in “Passeig de Gràcia” in Barcelona, it will take 45 minutes to arrive at the train station (the only one, so no worries that you may miss it ;)). This alternative will cost you 4.10 euros one way.

4.jpg

What to know about Sitges before arriving?

Sitges is a nice little town and easy to lost yourself if you like wandering around while enjoying the vivrant atmosphere. As I have already mentioned it is referred to as “Saint-Tropez of Spain” because of its 17 picturesque beaches, some of which nudist, busy night-life and prices of properties that skyrocket and resemble those in South of France.
During the times of General Franco this town, already attracting Spanish artists since the nineteenth century, acquired the nick-name "Ibiza in miniature". This is where people tired of day-to-day oppression and vigilance were trying to rest and have a little bit of fun.

2.jpg

Nowadays it continues to attract visitors by offering impressive night-life. It is also a popular attraction for a day-time, thanks to its busy bars and restaurants along the main boulevard. Whatever you want – a fancy restaurant, a quick lunch or shopping in an exclusive boutique, it will all be possible to do in Sitges.

Carnaval in Sitges

The Sitges Carnival has over 100 years of tradition. It takes place around February each year and attracts the crazy amount of people! Even though it is still winter in Spain and the temperatures vary from around 5 to 15 Celsius.
What I didn’t know and it is worth highlighting is that during the time of carnival, Sitges is not only focused on people partying all over the place.

Each day of the week-long Sitges carnival will feature a full schedule of events, including folk-dancing, theatrical performances, live music, children´s activities, and more! Don’t miss out on tasting the famous xatonada of Sitges, a delicious salad made with the region’s traditional xató sauce. (…) For the younger children, there will be several children’s carnival parades in which they can also participate.
source

So as you can see, the city tries to find a balance between tourists that seek crazy night-life and tourists that enjoy Sitges for its charm and perfect location.

3.jpg

Sitges film festival

5.png
source

International Fantastic Film Festival of Catalonia is the number one fantasy film festival in the world and represents, at the same time, the cultural expression with the most media impact in Catalonia. With a solid experience, the Sitges Festival is a stimulating universe of encounters, exhibitions, presentations and screenings of fantasy films from all over the world. (…) today the Festival is an essential rendezvous for movie lovers and audiences eager to come into contact with new tendencies and technologies applied to film and the audiovisual world.
source

This little coastal town has been already hosted many internationally acknowledged movie stars and directors. Among them Quentin Tarantino, Sir Anthony Hopkins, Jodie Foster, Paul Verhoeven, Ralph Fiennes, Cameron Diaz, Sarah Michelle Gellar, Wim Wenders, Tony Curtis, David Cronenberg, and Darren Aronofsky. Let me be honest with you, this list goes on and is truly impressive.

7.jpg

As you can see, I enjoyed the sunset in a more hidden and quiet part of the city and it was totally worth the walk.

Thank you for being here with me. I hope until next time!

Pura Vida and enjoy the travel!:)

Sort:  

As well, when there is an opportunity to travel!

Beautiful .. well done
I would like to visit Spain especially the Andalusian Islamic monuments
Great post

Awesome post! Me and my boyfriend are planning on going to spain soon and looking at your pictures makes me wish we were there now!
The scenery looks so beautiful!! can't wait to visit!

please check out my recent travel post for Guatemala
https://steemit.com/travel/@izzylira/travel-with-lira-restaurants-to-try-in-guatemala-antigua

i really want to visit Guatemala, lucky you! :) yes, Spain is stunning, you will enjoy it so much!

Love these places in Catalonia, have you been to Girona also? That region definitely has a different feel from the rest of Spain, will have to try this place at some point.

I still haven't been in Girona (apart from it's airport, haha). Yeah, Catalonia is absolutely great!

I was there this summer, and its absolutely stunning. I liked it more than Barcelona, because it was to crowded.

i know, Bcn gets so busy during summer, that's terrible :(

I have been to Sitges twice and loved it - the church is gorgeous and its always been so bright, clear and sunny when I've been there. Great post - it has made me want to return!

so great to hear your opinion! thank you for sharing it with us! :)

Damn this place looks awesome! I will definitely see go here when I go to Spain! Thank you for sharing!

catalonia has so much to offer:)

Barcelona is hands down my favorite city in Europe. i would love to visit there .
these pictures are amazing!

So you haven't visited it yet?

wow awesome place

I wish I've heard it before. I was in Bercelona 2 years ago but I just visisted the center.. it could have been much more ınteresting by discovering places like this ... :)

Maybe the next time! barcelona has so many beautiful places...

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=k-a-s-i-a
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=kasiarecommends-visiting-sitges-catalonia-spain


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Good your post. always success

Thank you!

Beautyfull city. I hope can go to there

you will not regret it!

Beautiful place.. hope i can go there.. ☺️

i hope you will!

Nice post, Catalonia is an amazing place!

It definitely is!

After such posts, I always want to spend the last money to visit this wonderful place! Especially when we have real winter! :-)

haha, so true! and this year's winter is harsh!

A beautiful and picturesque city

it is, thank you!

As always, amazing photos and great story :)

Thank you for this kind comment!

Dear @k-a-s-i-a

I believe its good people and you've got a high concern towards the poor people like me. I haven't commented on Your post tonight, I understand and I'm sorry.
I need your help, my life was in debt lilit. May I know, where should I ask for help. I don't have a job in the country and to this day I have no costs to get married.

Sorry my impudence, kan has pitted the unfortunate fate of me in your post

Wow! The views are just so beautiful! What else can I say?

thank you for this nice message!:)

interesting !! i want to visit this place next month ;) thank you for sharing #reestem

haha, i hope you will !

beautiful place. I wish I had visited before moving to Canada

Canada must be stunning!!

Muy buen Paisaje y lugar para pasar unas vacaciones , muy bonito de verdad

si, Sitges esta perfecto para vacaciones!

Really nice and beautiful place.
Thank you for shareing.

thank you!

Hiya, just swinging by to let you know that this post made the Honorable Mentions list in today's Travel Digest!

that's great, i'm thrilled :) thank you!

Interesting post! Now your post is listed in trending!

Learn more about how to keep your post on trending page / https://steewit.com/steemit/@hitmeasap/how-to-reach-the-trending-pages-posting-101