My 'Canada 150' journey continues in Banff National Park

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

This time I am sharing with you a few shots from my camping trip in Banff National Park this weekend.

DSC00516.JPG

The trip to Jasper was way too short so this one had to be a bit longer. It was a nice camping experience with my friends.

Since we picked the date and days off in advance we were not very lucky with weather conditions all weekend. Saturday was cloudy and it was raining pretty much all day until evening. This is why we stopped first in Banff for an early lunch and then found a wonderful little place called Crack a doodle where we decided to warm up and paint pottery.

DSC00556.JPG

DSC00552.JPG

They have a great selection of pottery for all ages. You can pick any pottery piece you want (prices are written beside each piece) and that includes unlimited paint, time and brushes. Pretty good deal if you ask me!

I picked the cutest little moose.

DSC00376.JPG

Since the rain did not stop by the time we were done painting we drove to the highest hot springs in Canada - Banff Upper Hot Springs at 1,585 meters or 5,200 feet above sea level. It was my first time there but not the last. It was great to jump in the swimming suit and go outside to soak in hot natural mineral water that flows straight from the Rockies.DSC00396.JPG

Apparently is not just Canada that is celebrating. This year is also the Hot Springs 130 anniversary.

The water has pleasant 39 degrees Celsius. Just what I needed. At first it was strange to be outside in the rain but it was not hard to get used to it.

After warming up in the Hot Springs it was finally time to visit the campground. By the time we arrived to the campsite it had thankfully stopped raining.

DSC00423.JPG

DSC00426.JPG

Next morning after breakfast we left Banff for a few hours and drove to Lake Louise. It was pretty busy so we decided to visit Moraine Lake. This one I have never missed when I was in the area. It is so beautiful. The colors are astonishing and view is magnificent.

DSC00482.JPG

DSC00485.JPG

DSC00472.JPG

DSC00520.JPG

Next stop was Crack a Doodle where we picked up our glazed pottery which was ready after 1 PM. I was excited to see the finished product and was actually surprised I made it myself.

DSC00549.JPG

It was hard to say good bye to the mountains and return home.

That become easier when I realized it won't be for long before I visit again!

DSC00548.JPG

DSC00554.JPG

I hope I encouraged a few of you to go out of the city to the mountains (if you do not already live there) or maybe add Canada to one of your summer destinations.

Have a wonderful day everyone :)

Sort:  

Your photos are amazing! I can't wait to visit this place again. And the idea of Crock A Doodle is really cute, I wish I had something similar nearby.

Hey thanks again. It is not a thing I would do if the weather would be sunny but I am a little glad it was so I experienced something new. So far I have only been going to paint nights so this was a nice change. And they make for such nice gifts too!

Thank you @abnortherngal for resteeming my post. Means a lot to have support from other Albertans ;)

You have some nice photos yourself!

Congratulations ! Your post has been highlighted in the Daily Travel Reports

This was a wonderful surprise. Thank you for recognition and support!

You are most welcome @k4r1nn, you deserve it !

That picture of the lake in Jasper is as popular as the lighthouse in Peggy's Cove Nova Scotia. I just love being Canadian, it is so beautiful my country. Thanks for sharing

This one is Moraine lake from Banff area. Although Jasper has many beautiful lakes also. I took some photos of lakes there in one of my previous post. Canada is amazing. I never was in Nova Scotia yet but it is on my list ;)

Jesus that's so beautiful! I'm definitely going there for my next holiday!

It is just breathtaking right? I did not mind four hour drive one way at all. I have been there the third year in a row and still have so much to discover. Thanks for stopping by!

IF .. my DaY .. is WONDER-FULL ???? - )))
YOU HAVE "CertainlY" PLAYED .. YOUR P-ART !!! - )))
BE-a-U-Ti-FULLLLLLLLLLLL POST !! - ))

... ha ha )))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

ps ... i LOVE "TO" DAY !!! - )))
... it's MY FAVORITE THIN-G ... "TO" DO - )))

Hey thanks and thanks for resteeming my post. I am glad you like it. I see you are from BC. That is another piece of Canada that is worth visiting. You have a lot to show from there, hopefully you will share some photos with the rest of us!

.. and, THANK YOU !!!- )))

i have project i'm putting together to hiLIGHT some of the 'LOcAL' BEAUTY ... and, 'in' a ... supportive UN-iQ-UE WAY !!! - )))

i hope YOU'll let me kNOW what YOU think !! - ))

... looKING ForwarD to yOUR next ""OFF-E-RING"" !! - ))

... you've got an "" EYE"" ))
... " eye'm " going to enJOY SEEING thROUGH ! - ))))))))))

.. ha ha )))

LOVELOVELOVE )))
greb'Z )

Beautiful, I gave you a follow looking forward to your next post.

Thank you @dp1011 I appreciate that. I will do my best ;)

What a gorgeous place! Great photos!!

It is very nice I agree, thanks for stopping by!

It is very beautiful, thank you for sharing your experience.

You are welcome! I like sharing photos like that, especially summer time Canada as many people think all we have is snow, cold and polar bears ;)

Astonishing impressions 🏔 Canada was always one of the places i would love to visit. Very motivating post. Thank you!

Thanks for kind words @steem2themoon

hello. im korean^^ thanks for votes
i'm follow you^^ @roychoi

Nice i hope will be there one day!