Sabah Destinations: Down the KK-Tambunan road

in #travel6 years ago

The Kota Kinabalu-Tambunan Road

IMG_2113.jpg

A drive-thru down from the highlands in Sabah always gives me the chills. More ways than one actually! It reminded me of playing Silent Hill on our PSP when my siblings and I were kids. So different from the hot climate down in the coastal cities.

IMG_2118.jpg

First thing I always do when I see clouds rolling down those forest-covered slopes: Turning off the AC and rolling down the windows. The feel of the crisp cold air just after rain feels good on the skin, and the freshness of it helps clear the sinuses!

IMG_2137.jpg

One of the prettiest bitter gourds I've seen

IMG_2140.jpg

The local people sell fresh vegetables by the roadside

20120926_1.jpg

The Kota Kinabalu-Tambunan (or better known as KK-Tambunan) road is an alternate route from the main road that passes in front of Mount Kinabalu, detouring south-west of Ranau. This road is less used by heavy vehicles like trucks, and thus less traffic.