COOKED #35: Vietnamese Food

in #travel6 years ago

Invitation to a Friend's Place

I was invited to a friends house in Vietnam and his wife cooked a wonderful authentic dinner for us. One of the reasons I travel so much is that I love tasting different kinds of flavors and try out new things

2017-11-11_19.33.50


2017-11-11_19.33.56


2017-11-11_19.39.16


2017-11-11_20.01.52

Asian food uses a lot vegetables (While I eat meat, I try to eat mostly Vegetarian food) so I enjoyed all dishes they prepared for me. We had a BBQ with some spicy chicken and a lot onion and vegetables, some fried Oysters and well my least favorite a slimy Congee rice.

Do you like Congee rice ???

I am blogging about the following topics :

I travel the world (Travel and Restaurant Blog)
Exposed (Uncovering Stories you need to know)
Lifehacks (How to save money,etc) 
SPOTTED (Limited Edition Food, Drinks, Gadgets)
Steemperlen (German Version, Series Ended)
SQUEEZE (Interview Series) 
COOKED (10 Episodes Cooking Series)
Working anytime, anywhere (New series for freelancers)
Frequent Traveller (New series about Travel Hacks and FFPs) 
HEAVEN (NEW Luxury Travel Magazine)
FARM
German Sausages
GADGET

ABOUT ME: Some insides into my Steemit life
Presented by TokyoM Ltd. Singapore

Sort:  

Hooked :-)
You got my follow.

Thanks, i promise you won't get bored ;)

Hello friend, I really loved your publication! your recess is very rich and besides that very healthy, it is very good to learn from other cultures !! regards

Hello dear, im really glad that you liked this post, it was something more relaxed in a friends place but it was also super cool! I think sometimes its the best way to experience the cuisine of a country, with home-food!

I love tasting different kinds of flavors and try out new things.

We definitely share something in common. I love to taste different flavors and foods. That's one of the things that have moved me around and I really enjoyed them.

I recently come to know of your blogs and I do enjoy with your write about especially the photos which do carry our eyes along the journey with you. But like I requested the other day, I would really appreciate if you could add a little description of the food and places, and your experience with them. Truth is, I might not be able to travel the whole world, so I feed my mind by reading and listening to others experience in places I haven't been before.

I'll be checking your blog whenever I can, I hope to learn a bit from your experience. Have a beautiful day.

Dear @lordjames, we definetely have that in common, its beautiful to have persons that share ideas with you because it shows you that you'll never be alone :)
I will try to be more specific in the future with my descriptions, sometimes its just hard because i would like to write so much about something but i just dont get the time to do it.
Keep feeding your imagination, its great to do so!
I hope you are doing fine pal

Yes, am doing quite fine. I do travel a lot too but locally. Just like you mentioned, I like going out of my zone and sample what others have to share. It's amazing what you can fine out. Once I visited Chinese neighborhood and was so hooked I even started learning mandarin Chinese.

When I saw your title about Vietnamese food, I was really glad to check it out. I think I'll take some time to read about the Vietnamese guys cause western media have done so bad that a mention of Vietnam only brings memory of a long war. I don't want that, I want to learn about the Vietnamese for who they are and not for a history they were part off.

I think Vietnamese cuisine encompasses the foods and beverages of Vietnam, and features a combination of five fundamental tastes in the overall meal. Each Vietnamese dish has a distinctive flavor which reflects one or more of these elements.
Vietnamese food is distinct and unforgettable. The cuisine relies on a balance of salty, sweet, sour and hot flavours, achieved through use of nuoc mam, a fermented fish sauce, cane sugar, the juice of kalamansi citrus fruit or tamarind and chilli peppers.
I like very much congee rice.I think Congee or conjee is a type of rice porridge or gruel popular in many Asian countries, especially East Asia. When eaten as plain rice congee, it is most often served with side dishes. When additional ingredients, such as meat, fish, and flavorings, are added while preparing the congee,
thank you @knozaki bro for your good post.

Wow your description is soo accurate!! It is indeed a really special cuisine full of ingredients that are unknown to the west! That is the beautiful thing about traveling, you can discover how big the world is!!
Congee is not my favorite dish from asian cuisine but i have to say that this one time it was okay!
Thanks a lot for your kind comment dear @nilanti, i whish you all the best :)

excellent food photography my dear friend thank you for sharing this post

Really glad that you liked it dear @alimuddin :)

Food looks so delicious ...Thats drool...Nice post😊

It was super delicious :)

The dishes really look like something delicious...but have you heard of the Nigerian Jollof? LOL just Google it, sure you would love it.

Yes, @knozaki2015, I noticed you write about travels and get alot of strong upvotes, can you guide me please?

I have just googled it, it looks delicious!! What are the main ingredients of it??
You just have to be patient my friend, work hard everyday on your blog and i assure you that the upvotes will come!

Hello friend my first visit to your post i liked your article. Thanks for sharing

Really glad that you liked it :) You are always welcome to my blog

We certainly percentage something in commonplace. I like to taste extraordinary flavors and ingredients. It's one of the things which have moved me around and that i clearly enjoyed them.

Its one of the biggest pleasures in life, to taste something that you have never seen before and discover a new experience in it.
Take care :)

how rich is that food

It was super tasty!!

It seems to be really delicious. +_____+

It was extremely delicious!!!

My favorite food is Vietnamese. I just had it for lunch today @knozaki2015. I was kind of boring I ate Pho. I married a man from Vietnam back in my youthful years. I was very influenced by it and Afghan food, because my Step-Dad is from Afghanistan. I developed a pretty mature pallette at a young age. I love spice. When I looked at your 2nd photo I thought you were having a dish that I am a huge fan of and make frequently for my family. Which in English we just call them Beef Rolls, but they can also be done with pork and shrimp. We cook around the table and use rice paper to make fresh rolls. Looks like you might have a had some Fish Sauce on the table. That can take some time to grow on you. lol! Great looking food.

Wow nice story :) i love to heat things like that from my followers, the idea of a blog is also to be able to discuss interesting things!
As i can see you know a lot about asian food!!
Beef rolls are terrific, i love them also!!
I hope you are doing fine :) take care dear @innerstellar

Thank you @knozaki2015. Yes, I do agree it is about being able to discuss interesting things, and food is something I love to talk about. lol! I have found a great Egyptian Restaurant in the next city over from mine in North Carolina of all places. It is fabulous and has been such a treat to find! Yes Beef Rolls are amazing! I usually use Top Round Roast Beef. I marinade it over night and have my shrimp cleaned and ready to go too. That is my typical combination. Of course, with cucumber, rice noodles, onions, garlic, lettuce, fried onions, cilantro and mint. lol!

I am doing very well and hope you are! Thanks!

I’ve never tried Vietnamese food. I’ll have to add that to my “to do” list.

You should, its really tasty and versatile!!

Have you ever been to Indonesia? a lot of good sights here, let alone the food. You can taste a new menu every day while you are here. if you want to find an experience that you can not forget, try a vacation to Indonesia

I have been to indonesia but i would love to come back for a longer period of time. I've heard that the food is amazing :)

the food was delicious
deserve you to taste it.

Thanks a lot :)

Congee rice can vary depending on the place where it is prepared, the three most popular places are the Chinese, Filipino and Japanese markets, I would like to try this dish, unfortunately in my Province of Corrientes there is no oriental restaurant.
When judging by the images this was a very pleasant evening, the dishes look very delicious.
Thank you very much dear friend @ knozaki2015 for sharing these images
I wish you a great day

El congee rice lo podrias preparar tu mismo, definitivamente no va a saber igual que en asia pero de todas formas podria ser una experiencia bonita para ti!
Fue una noche muy bonita con mis amigos, mucho calor y amabilidad de parte de ellos!!
Muchas gracias por tus comentarios hermano, me alegra cada vez que leo uno!
Que tengas un feliz dia!! (En este comentario intente tomarme el tiempo para correjir los errores ortograficos pero por favor dime si hay muchos problemas de gramatica)

Excellent menu, I like Asian food, this rice is good to start the day, midmorning falls very well and is light to digest, also for convalescents is excellent, very good photos of that exquisite menu. Greetings, @ knozaki

Thats a really nice reflection about rice, i love your comment :)
Im really glad that you liked my post!!

Some delicious food I like all of this......
@knozaki2015

Haha i am happy that you liked it :)

Vietnamese food uses lots of greens in their dishes. Maybe thats why my gf mother still healthy at 80 yo.

Yeah, its actually really healthy and tasty, thats why i love it!!

Vor ungefähr 4 Jahren bin ich durch Vietnam gereist und fand dieses Land einfach traumhaft. Von Kambodscha sind wir zuerst ins warme Ho Chi Minh und dann hoch gewandert bis ins etwas kühlere Sa Pa. Reisbreie habe ich verschiedene probiert aber ich muss ehrlich sagen, dass ich eher die typischen Frühlingsrollen bevorzugt habe :-). Jetzt leben wir in Bali und Reisbrei wird vor allem als erste vollwertige Mahlzeit für Babys gekocht. Ich finde deine Reiseberichte echt spannend und werde dich folgen :-). Sonnige Grüße aus Bali

Liebe/r @oceanpris, danke für dein nettes Kommentar, deine Erzählung ist sehr interessant!! Bis du nach deine Reise in Bali geblieben?
Ich liebe asiatische Gastronomie weil es unglaublich vielfältig ist! Teilst du meine Meinung?
Grüsse, ich wünsche dir einen schönen Abend!!

Hallo lieber @knozaki2015, vor 1 Jahr sind wir von der Schweiz nach Bali ausgewandert und haben hier nun eine kleine Tauchschule eröffnet. Klar, mussten wir hart und lange dafür arbeiten aber es hat sich gelohnt. Auszuwandern war immer unser grösster Traum und Bali schien für uns die richtige Destination, vor allem auch für uns als Familie mit kleiner Tochter. Klar klappt hier nicht immer alles wie i Europa und man muss vor allem sehr geduldig sein ;-). Dies kennst du sicher, wenn du oft in Asien unterwegs bist. Grundsätzlich liebe ich die asiatische Gastronomie aber momentan habe ich eine "overdosis" und geniesse es, wenn ich meine italienischen Rezepte kochen kann :-). Wie lange bist du schon am Reisen und bleibst du noch lange in Vietnam? Liebe Grüsse, Prisca

Wow, the food is very good and I make hungry to see my friend's food,

Haha dear @masril i would definetely send you some if i could :)

thank you dear, i really remember the kindness of my friend

so yummy food... i'm sure you had a amazing meal...👍

It was really delicious :)

very good job dear @knozaki2015
i like it....your all post dear
👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌👌
@love you dear
i like it....travel dear👌👌👌👌👌
i like it...yummy food👌👌👌👌👌👌
i @resteem your all post dear

Thaanks a lot!!

Hello @ knozaki2015: Well, particularly I like more rice with less water, a little more dry with some pieces of chicken and some chopped vegetables (rice with chicken); This is typical in our countries ... however I really like the seasoning of that Asian food that has a lot to the spicy, not so strong. In any case, the food that you tasted looks great ... I remember that my mother prepares a rice that is served with enough water, she puts cilantro and onion and it is served that way, it is not a congee rice, but I think it is seemed; I like it a lot. Greetings.

Rice is really nice because its preparation varies a lot from country to country its just so versatile!!
From which country do you come? My favorite type of rice is the japanese, i love its contexture and the way you can pair it with almost everything!
Take care of you!

Yes, it is true, rice is very versatile to combine it into different dishes. I am from Venezuela, where rice is one of the main companion of our typical meals, for example the "pabellòn" (black bean, rice, meet and banana), "paella" (rice mixed with chicken or seafood). They are spectacular dishes.

followed! I love Vietnamese foods.
If you like photography, let check my blog @jumartphoto!

I will do when i get the time my friend!
Glad that you liked my post :)

ヘルシーそうな印象を受けました!

おこげのお米って香ばしくて美味しいですよね^^