We are not tourists we are backpackers

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I always find it exhausting to explain to people that I am a backpacker and not a tourist.

Rout 66 (3).jpg

It's different to travel with a backpack, not knowing where I'm going tomorrow, moving around freely and getting to know the country and people rather than sitting in my little secure hotel, checking out attractions, shopping in department stores and getting a nice beach vacation.

America (616).jpg

But so often I am labeled as a tourist. I do not know how other backpackers out there are, but no, we are not tourists.
We go where we want, stay longer in places where we feel comfortable and the only time is our return ticket.
We use public transport, talk to locals about their country. There are many small, beautiful villages outside the tourist centers, the people outside of the big cities are so much friendlier and always more than happy to meet one of us.

10754976_10154847141715254_650267358_n.jpg

As a backpacker, I have no suitcase full of make-up and a straightener with me. What clothes I wear I do not care. You have little with you and rarely buy something. Laundry is washed in the laundromat or in the hostel. With a 150 liter backpack that happens in 3 months often.

Traveling with a backpack is the absolute feeling of freedom for me.

I do not hunt sights, I want to get to know country and people. That's why I would never call myself a tourist.

America (14).jpg

To all backpackers out there: enjoy your time :-*

Sort:  

Hi @knusperkeks der tag #deutsch ist nur für Beiträge die in deutscher Sprache geschrieben sind (steht auch in den steemit FAQ: https://steemit.com/faq.html#If_posting_in_a_language_other_than_English__how_will_I_get_recognized). Falls es jemand ganz genau nimmt wäre es ein Grund für ein Dovnvote. Wäre echt schade drum, füge doch noch eine deutsche Übersetzung zu oder entferne besser den tag #deutsch.
LG

Mein Fehler, Entschuldige, das wusste ich nicht. Ich habe den tag rausgenommen.
Danke für deine Aufklärung, kommt nicht mehr vor ^^
Tut mir wirklich leid.

Kein Thema, bin ja nicht die STASI und wollte Dir nur die Info überbringen und nun kann ich Dir endlich ein volles Upvote geben : ) ohne Ärger zu bekommen... :)
Viele Grüße :)

Du bist echt lieb, danke :)
Es hat mir trotzdem sehr geholfen, wenn niemand etwas sagt kann man ja auch nichts ändern ;) deswegen bin ich dir wirklich dankbar ^^

Ach mensch, nicht dankbar sein; bin kein besonderer Mensch! Gerechtigkeit ist mir wichtig und ich habe schon befürchtet Dein Artikel könnte down gehen; nicht berechtigt....LG

I saw this painted on the wall of a hostel in Cambodia “A tourist sees what they came to see. A backpacker sees what they see.” I stole it and put it on my page banner.

I saw that :D and was just thinking that this is exactly what I want to say with this post ^^
I think this sentence is great, it just describes everything.
I just did not want to steal it from you, that would not be nice ^^

sehr schöner post! follow hast du ;)

Danke dir ^^ ich folge dir ganz unauffällig ;)