Island adventures - Crystal Island

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Steemians, I recently found out what makes Koh Phangan extra special. Ever since the first time I came to Koh Phangan 4 months ago I have noticed a difference in my emotions. At first I thought it was just travel excitement but as time passed I felt it become stronger. It is a strange thing to feel and trying to explain to other people what you are feeling can sound a little crazy. I didn't know what was going on so I had to find out.

quarzo-rosa_vale.jpg

I did what anybody else would have done, I asked google. It turns out that the island of Koh Phangan is on top of a rose quartz crystal formation. Crystals have long been used in meditation and yoga. It is believed that crystals have an effect on the human body and our emotions. The rose quartz is believed to bring energy rays of determination, commitment, and caring. Its soothing color calms feelings of anger or resentment, and can aid efforts to meditate and reflect.

All of this is very new to me, it completely blew my mind and so I had to find out more. After some research it all started to come together. Koh Phangan is full of yoga resorts and a lot of spiritual, yoga enthusiasts come here to experience this special island. People going hiking or just walking on the beach usually return with a bag full of crystals, some locals turned it into a small business finding crystals and turning them into souvenirs selling loads of necklaces, earrings or anything they can make to sell to tourists. Giving someone a crystal from a special place like this is in my opinion a really good gift but I'm afraid that if this keeps happening the island might be completely robbed of it's crystals.

angkor_korut_jogaval_kis.jpg

Going back to the changes the island has on our body, some people have told me things that I can relate to as well. Basically what it comes down to is that your emotions would be amplified because of the crystal formation under the island. When you feel happy you'll feel really happy and vise versa, unfortunately. This is what has infatuated me with the island and I'm glad I finally got to the bottom of it.

Let's take a look at some crystals that can have an effect on your body, soul and mind.

  1. Abalone Shell
    1200-11432730-pearl-abalone-shell.jpg
    Abalone Shell provides safe shelter for abalone. It is also believed to provide a protective, healing energy to your spirit. Shielding you from waves of negativity, the soothing energy of abalone shells is one full of peace, beauty, compassion and love.

  2. Amazonite
    75ba8ebd310fa81f63810f923fa53b5a.jpg
    If your mind is polluted with toxic negativity, clean it up with Amazonite. This stone will restore your spirit to its most serene state of being by eliminating your worries, self-doubts and frustrations.

  3. Amethyst
    gi-amethyst-points-56afb77a5f9b58b7d01c2fb5.jpg
    Amethyst is like a spa-day in a stone, it is the exact kind of relaxing energy that we could all use after a long day. Allow amethyst’s energy of contentment to sooth away the day-to-day stresses that keep you up at night.

  4. Azurite
    17523_big_img.jpg
    Though Azurite gets its name from the word azure, meaning blue, the energy it blesses you with will have you feeling anything but blue. Azurite is often referred to as the “Stone of the Heavens,” as it aids in the pursuit of the heavenly self. It is believed to awaken psychic abilities, helping you to recognize intuition and spiritual guidance. It calms and relieves mental stress, helping you to clear your mind and dissolve any blocked energy.

However some people don't notice the change and some people think that it's just make believe or looking for something that doesn't exist. I sincerely believe that crystals do have an effect on us and our bodies, let me know what you guys think.