A Map for the Weekend

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Probinsyana

This is the term used to call women who sprang from the rural areas of the Philippines. These places are the provinces that are usually outside the city. The term "country girl" is the closest translation for this word.

Being an island girl, I can call myself a probinsyana. As a girl who has strict parents, I was deprived of the freedom of going out of my humble home. I had the home-school-church-home-school routine. I live in a small island but I wasn't able to roam in its entirety. And every time, I get the chance to break free, I feel like a bird that can fly anywhere!

The Initial Take Off

I first left the island without my parents when I was in Grade Six. Along with 3 high school students; namely, Christian Abad, Cyril Orozco and Mae Bailon, we went to Baguio City to attend a seminar about entrepreneurship. Though we were not able to leave the Teacher's Camp, the experience was fantastic. After that trip, I told myself that I will travel, someday. I just didn't know that, that someday was nearer in the future than I thought.


Krizia's Jaunt


A Philippine map showing the regions I've visited in the past


From North to South

The colored regions in the Philippine map above are the places in the country I've been to, already. I may have gone to a particular place because of field works, field trips, climbs, road trips, family trips or might be just a weekend getaway. I'm hoping to shade all provinces including the little islands later.

In Luzon, I've been to Cagayan Valley, Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, Kalinga, Ifugao, Benguet, La Union, Pangasinan, Zambales, Tarlac, Pampanga, Aurora, Nueva Ecija, Bulacan, Quezon, Rizal, Metro Manila, Laguna, Cavite, Batangas, Palawan, Oriental and Occidental Mindoro. Meanwhile, in Visayas, excluding my home, Semirara Island, I only traveled to Negros Occidental and Oriental. And lastly, I went to Lanao del Norte, Misamis Oriental, Bukidnon, and Surigao del Norte in Mindanao.


Message to the Reader

Hello guys! Did you enjoy reading until the end? What's your favorite place on Earth? Tell me about it on the comment section below and travel with me next time! Or travel with me and tell me about it personally! I will be delighted if you will upvote my post, resteem it and follow me @krizia!

Cheers! 🍻

References: 1 | 2