Come Along [1] - Follow Your Heart Around the World

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

IMG_4883.JPG

In life, in love, in relations it all comes down to one thing, something we often ignore. It’s that little feeling in our hearts. There are so many reasons you could listen to not do something. With our minds we can work a thought in circles, justifying things left and right to convince ourselves to not chase our dreams. But really the most important thing to listen to is our hearts.

As I was finishing college both my parents were diagnosed with cancer. They sat me down and talked to me about helping the family by doing something stable to help in case anything happens to them. With that in mind I focused wholeheartedly on pursuing a career in health care. I was currently an economics major so I needed my science classes to be pre- health. Wanting to start working as soon as possible, I maxed out the units I could take at my school and signed up for more classes at universities nearby so I could finish what I needed quickly. Night and day studying, I finally became an optometrist and started work. Luckily both my parents beat their cancer! I’m so thankful for it. I could breathe a sigh of relief and think to myself... now that I have done what I set out to do… what did I want?

D9F7DD68-C33C-4501-90B1-B25232453B93.jpg

I haven’t listened to myself and what I wanted in a long time. I knew I loved to travel and had thought of the idea of taking a long trip but never felt justified to pursue it. Almost like a sign from the universe everything just started falling into place to nudge me on this journey of self discovery. I found a deal for a flight to Thailand, I’ve always wanted to go there to see the lantern festival. After purchasing that ticket my friend convinced my to join him on a trip to the Philippines. At first I told him, I already had an international trip planned the month before and it would be extremely difficult for me to take that much time off. But after I saw videos of the country, it was so breathtaking I just had to go. I was inspired to try and make a video of my own in hopes of having the same impact on someone else someday.

IMG_1101.JPG

That idea again of traveling long term popped into my head again. I spoke to my family and my bosses about my plans and thought it would be met with shock and resistance, but instead everyone encouraged me to go.

“Go, you have nothing holding you back now, these are the last few years you can truly focus on yourself and experience all these things the world has to offer without worrying about anyone else. Soon you’ll have a family and a business and that will become your main priority. So now while you still can, go.”

So I did.

bali-0090.jpg

I started off on this solo journey with no real plans asides from roaming south east Asia and was very worried about traveling by myself as a girl. In the end, I met up with my friends from home and abroad, as well as formed some amazing friendships with people I met along the way. I reconnected with my current boyfriend who was traveling on the other side of the world. He decided to come join me for parts of it and things just blossomed from there. I’m glad he did because he definitely adds some beautiful color and wonder to my life, plus he takes amazing pictures. At the end of my trip I realized I only spent 1 day out of the whole 6 months by myself! There were so many ups and downs in travel, but in my mind I was always thinking, no matter how bad it is, I’m still on a vacation. It’s my mindset and perspective that determines my memories and enjoyment of this time period. I’m not going to let anything ruin it for me even myself. It was a trip that I am so happy I did. My world really opened up and I’ve made memories that I can cherish for a lifetime.

After traveling I really did make a video of the Philippines. It’s the first video I have ever made, I love watching it. Something about video just takes you back to a moment in time. I hope it inspires others to take a journey someday like I did, I’ve linked it below.

IMG_0362.JPG

My journey ended up taking me through and with highlights:

  • Thailand - Experiencing the Lantern Festival
  • Singapore - Roaming a beautiful modern metropolis
  • Philippines - Swimming with Whale Sharks
  • Australia - Christmas down under with family
  • Chiang Mai Thailand - Living like a local
  • Cambodia - Angkor Wat Sunrise
  • Laos - The city of Luang Prabang a Unesco World Heritage
  • Myanmar - Seeing the hot air balloons of Bagan
  • Nepal - Helping rebuild after the earthquake in Langtang Valley
  • Vietnam - Roaming my home country
  • Shanghai - Quality time with the Parents

Finally I looked at the map and felt satisfied. There was nowhere left I wanted to go at that moment. It was time to go home and cherish the memories.

Now I’d like to share my experiences of that trip. I’ll be posting every few days about my trip so you can come along too!

Don’t forget. Follow your heart.

IMG_0138.JPG

Xoxo SteemIt - Lilan

Photos by @BitGUy



IMG_4884.jpg
For more travel stories and photography follow
@Lalilands


Instagram:Lalilands



Click here to see a video of my trip
Come Along -Philippines Video

You might like

Chichen Itza - Sacrifices galore
Falling in love with Central Park

Sort:  

What is nicer is that we follow our nature as human beings, but this is difficult at this time, when human greed affects those beautiful values that God created us.

I agree it is very difficult to focus on what we truely want when we've become trained to value things that aren't that important

@lalilands Your post makes me so happy!!! It's everything I wish I could have done.
I am in a similar, but different situation from you.
My mom has been permanently disabled for over 20 years.
I too changed my major from archaeology/Egyptology to persuing medicine. However, her health diminished and she has now been living with me for the past 4 years. I feel like I have put pursuing my dreams on hold for fear of what will happen to her. She doesn't want to be the reason I haven't become a doctor yet, but living in a studio apartment with my mom doesn't give me a lot of space to focus on me and what I need. I try to, but when I do, I'm often met with the idea that Im being selfish, or she will say Im being selfish. I really want her to get well, but it seems like every month something new is wrong with her. The worst thing is, if so were a doctor now, I would be able to better understand and help her with her health issues.
Okay... Sorry for ranting. Your post just really struck me! I'm so proud of you for going and doing the trip! I hope one day I will too!
Much love from a fellow newbie!
Upvoted and following to hear about your 6month adventure!!

I'm so glad this pose resonated with you! I know it's hard what you're going through now. It must be very tough to have to balance all the things you have to do right now. Never feel bad for having some "me" time though. It's necessary to feel balanced in your life, I'm sure your mom wants to see you happy as well as every mom does. Hope you get to live your dreams some day. ❤️

Awesome background story @lalilands. This is like a prologue to your blog.

Thanks luv!! I was thinking about how to start it for a while. Then finally decided to just share a lil personal side to the story. Thanks for reading ! ❤️

Upvoted! welcome to the platform, hope you do well, always like to connect with travel-minded people. I like your story well done!
I travelled for four years and post about it now, in Amsterdam thinking about what will be next for me, hope you like my posts.

Maybe you will like to apply for working-holiday visa's ! again ood to see you here and enjoy

Thank you!!! I've been wrapping my head around how to share this journey for a while. Finally decided it's a new year time to start focusing on getting the story out there. Thanks for checking out my page!

hahha just looked closer to your blog, not so new, hahah sorry, like what you are doing

Love this!!! Overcoming obstacles and following your heart.. Some of us have a dreamers heart ❤️ it can take you quite far!

Thanks luv! We gotta chase those dreams right? It's always so hard to start, i don't know what it is.. maybe a fear of failure. But once you start it gets so exciting!

Nice one

Thank you!! Been trying to get to writing about this for a while

awesome and inspiring post.
Would love to read more.
Luckily your parents beat the cancer !

Thank you so much! I'm really glad they did as well now I get the opportunity to pursue other interest. Can't wait to share it!

@lalilands I am excited to see them. Steem on. Am really interested in seeing your video of the Philippines.

This post is amazing! It probably shouldn't be in the IntroduceYourself tag since you've been around for longer than most people... but your photos look incredible.

Thanks! I joined Steemit a long time ago, mis placed my password so I kind of just left it there. But I found it again! Been flip flopping about what to write about or style and message in here, but finally decided ...o what the hey I should finally just get to it and write about my trip. So i'd thought I'd introduce my blog topic again. =)

Fair enough, it is a fantastic post!

Thanks for the support! =)

Incredible pics!

I hope you enjoyed your trip!

Thanks it was an amazing trip! Can't wait to share it! . Thanks for stopping by!

Really cool post. Enjoyed it. Thanks for sharing.

Cheers =)

Thank you so much for popping by! Looking forward to sharing more travel adventures. 😊

Thanks for sharing! Looking forward to more =)

Glad you joined SteemIt!!!! I think you'll like it here ! 😊

Ooooo! Sounds like a fun adventure. Followed. Looking forward to hearing all about your travels!

Thank you for stopping by @derekrichardson ! I'm excited to share it, glad SteemIt is so supportive.

Awesome and sympathetic story, and wunderfull shots. Upvoted :)

Thanks for reading my story @jondie !!! Can't wait to share the details of the adventure 😊 Any places you love to travel ?

really beautiful story, I want to travel so much more once I finished my studies :)

Thank you so much! You really should. It will be one of the most rewarding experiences you'll have that money can't buy. Good luck with tr studies !

Wow!!!! You know what you just did to me; you have brought back the feeling of long distance, picturesque scenery of a life of beauty and fantasy. Thank you for making me feel that way.

Awe I'm glad I could make you feel that way! This was a very personal post to me as well, brings up a lot of feelings of stress, lost and then finally excitement to peace. Thanks for reading !

Uwc dear, just keep doing what you love doing. Hope I get lucky and meet a lot of amazing people like you on this platform.

amazing! you have inspired me, i am on my second wind

Yay I'm glad ! You joined SteemIt! I think you'll like blogging here it's fun and engageing !

Love this! I'm looking forward to my trip to Singapore this year. Any spots you recommend ?

Oooo I'm so excited for you!!!! Well you must go swim at Marina Bay Sands, and check out the botanical garden. Make your way to little India and China town there are some really cool bars there. Eat the Hai Nam chicken!! Sooooo goooood. Have a blast look forward to seeing your write about it!

I love this post...thanks sharing its fun to see all the photos. ..lots of fun there...have a nice day..upvoted

Thank you so much! It was a very enjoyable trip. The people definitly was the majority of the experience. Thanks for stopping by!

nice one

Thank you!!! Glad to finally start sharing this story. Thanks for reading !

Keep on dreaming and keep on travelling! That's what we hope to do too. See the world, share our experiences and live life. Great stuff! :)

Thanks guys! The world is so wonderful. I feel like traveling really opens your eyes to what's out there and in yourself. Can't wait to see your travels too!

Wow great blog! Great to see inspirational work from open minded travel peeps like yourself!

Thank you!!! I'm glad we live in a time where it's so easy to travel and connect around the world! Thanks for reading!

Hi Lilan,

I really enjoyed your story, you are already inspiring me to travel!
I can't wait to read more about your adventures.

Thank you so much @dailyinspiration !!yes definitly go! It's the best thing you can do with your time and money ❤️

I wish you lots of success you beautiful girl! Following to see more lovely adventures.

Awe thanks @fullofhope ! I'm so glad you're enjoying the prelude to my adventure! Can't wait to share more !

Welcome! I'm really moved by your post and happy your parents both got well! Things like that make us appreciate the ability to travel so much more! I'm really looking forward to reading more posts from you as I'm an absolute travel-enthusiast aswell :) Glad that you joined steemit! Have a good start and keep on steeming :) :)

Yes!!!! Glad you love to travel as well. It's really awesome that we live in a time period where we can go anywhere in the world!!

Hello, that was a beautiful introduction.

Thank you! Glad I can share this story on such a great platform. Thanks for reading!<3

Hey welcome to Steemit! Its a great place hope you will enjoy here !! I am too newbie here !!
I have followed you on Steemit, please be kind enough to follow me as well.Enjoy Steemit !! Good luck!!Following your post!!

Hi Greetings! Welcome to Steemit! Hope you like it here =)

Great introduction @lalilands

This is the true meaning of living life today, not tomorrow.

Thank you for sharing :)

Right because tomorrow is uncertain. Got to live for the moment. Thanks for reading!