TravelNowandWow#2 – Touching the 🌤️ Clouds ☁️ in the Mountains of Northern Thailand

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Some of the most spectacular views I have ever seen have been while taking a motorbike ride in the mountains of Northern Thailand.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 6.jpg

Most people, when they think of Thailand, visualize the buzzing liveliness of Bangkok or the beaches of tropical islands such as Koh Samui or Phuket.

Northern Thailand does not offer that: there’s no beach.

And although Chiang Mai is the biggest city in the North, it doesn’t compare to the metropolis that Bangkok is.

However, one thing Northern Thailand has more than any other part of Thailand is: mountains.

Lots of lushy, green mountains.

And even though I’ve lived on the tropical island of Koh Phangan for more than a year – so I know what it’s like to live close to a beach. It is truly amazing! – I can confidently say I prefer the mountains.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 5.jpg

Perhaps it’s because I was born and raised in the Netherlands.

If you don’t know: The Netherlands may be the flattest country you will ever set foot in.

We have NO mountains.

Seriously.

Most of our country is below sea level. And if you drive your car from A to B, you will not go up or down once, with the exception of tunnels or safety bumps.

The highest point in The Netherlands is what we call the ‘Vaalserberg’, which reaches a height of 1,053 feet (321 meters). It's situated in the very south of the province Limburg.

It translates as ‘Vaalser Mountain’.

However, it's pretty telling that the Encyclopaedia Britannica refers to it as the ‘Vaalser Hill'...

Suffice it to say that I only saw mountains when my parents took me on holiday to France.

And – guilty pleasure – when I played Gran Turismo on my Playstation.

But really, that’s not the same as the real thing now, is it?

What I love about Chiang Mai is that it has all the benefits of a city, but nature is never far away.

You can jump on your motorbike and be in the mountains in 10 minutes! And soon you will be in a completely different world.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 3.jpg

I love just going for a ride, with no specific destination.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 1.jpg

I enjoy the journey itself: going up and down, never knowing what spectacular view might be waiting around the corner.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 7.jpg

And also the sense of freedom.

I’m in complete control of the direction I'm taking, and how long I’m going for a ride.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 8.jpg

And there are parts – deeper in the mountains – that hardly get any traffic.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 4.jpg

You can even bump into the occasional elephant!

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 2.jpg

What I find most spectacular is when clouds are rolling into a valley at roughly the same altitude as where I am.

Mountains Chiang Mai Thailand Beautiful 9.jpg

Sometimes I feel like simply jumping on top of them and taking off on a magic (cloud)carpet ride!

Have You Ever Driven a Motorbike in the Mountains?



Page Divider.png

This is the 2nd post in what I intend to be a long-lasting series:

TravelNowandWow!

We could all benefit from living more in the moment, and experiencing that sense of wonder we as adults often have lost along the way. This is also why I chose my Steemit name: @livenowandwow.

It serves as a friendly reminder to myself – and hopefully also to you, as a reader – to not take what we have for granted, but appreciate it.

And traveling, or simply going on a motorbike ride in the mountains, is an excellent way of accomplishing that!

If you enjoyed reading this post, you may also like my other recent posts:

Credit: all images are my own.


Follow Resteem Upvote @livenowandwow.png

Sort:  

This post received a 1.8% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @livenowandwow! For more information, click here!

wow ! What Awesomeness !! Those are some great shots , I Especially loved the last three !! Going down the road on a elephant !! How cool is that , thanks so much for sharing !! Following , upped and resteemed !! 👍👍👍👍

Aww thank you Karen!

Really appreciate the love.

haha great little video , you are very welcome ! Happy trails to you my friend ! 👍👍👍

This is fantastic and I love its ingenuity.
following you

Thank you, appreciate the kind words!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by livenowandwow from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, and someguy123. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you like what we're doing please upvote this comment so we can continue to build the community account that's supporting all members.

Amazing pictures!

Thank you!

The mountains make it easy: I don't have to do much more than point the camera 😉

If you enjoyed reading this then click here for similar articles.