Germany Part 4: Hiking to the top of the mountain Jochberg (Fotos + Video)

in #travel4 years ago

GPTempDownload 61.JPG

So since we can not travel to other countries yet in times of Corona and want to move away in 1-1,5years anyways, my girlfriend Elena and I decided to use this extra time to explore our region of Bavaria, Germany!

I know it is crazy, I travelled around a lot in the world, but until a few years ago I was not a really big fan of hiking..or being in the mountains at all!!

I guess that is what usually happens everywhere! If you grow up in the mountains you prefer going to the beach and if you come from a tropical island you want to go and see snow! - People always want what they don't have that often! - So it took 3 years living in the Caribbean for me to start appreciating this landscape haha.

Since we are not the only ones having this idea, we picked a day during the week to avoid the crowds and the chances to get the virus.

Elenas best friend Michele came all the way from Ulm to us the day before. The next day we packed our backpacks and got ready already early morning.

From Gröbenzell it's an about one hour drive to the parking at Kesselberg between the two lakes Walchensee and Kochelsee.

Bildschirmfoto 20200531 um 21.41.46.png

We had a great time driving at the german highway for a while until we saw the alps from far away. Then we went on driving along the lakes and through super nice mountain villages until we got to the parking lot right between 2 mountains.

IMG_8817.JPG

GPTempDownload 5.JPG

GPTempDownload 6.JPG

From the parking lot until the start of the path it was almost the same way as getting to the Herzogstand (another mountain I talked about in my previous post), but instead of going there we had to go on the opposite side.

GPTempDownload 16.JPG

GPTempDownload 7.JPG

GPTempDownload 8.JPG

We knew that it would be a moderate hike and a good physical condition was required to get up in 3,5 hours, but we took the challenge.

Bildschirmfoto 20200531 um 21.55.06.png

From there we followed the signposted hiking path into the dense mountain forest. Here the hiking trail snakes up quickly on the mountain slope. Especially on a warm summer day like this, we were grateful for the shade of the trees, because we didn't get too sweaty.

GPTempDownload 2.JPG

GPTempDownload 7.JPG

GPTempDownload 13.JPG

GPTempDownload 5.JPG

GPTempDownload 11.JPG

GPTempDownload.JPG

GPTempDownload 9.JPG

It goes up quickly and we quickly gained height. After half of the ascent, the trees slowly became lighter and we could already take a first look at the Kochelsee.

GPTempDownload 14.JPG

GPTempDownload 15.JPG

GPTempDownload 20.JPG

GPTempDownload 25.JPG

GPTempDownload 29.JPG

GPTempDownload 31.JPG

The hiking trail leaded along the wooded ridge and finally to an open mountain meadow. Here we had the summit of the Jochberg right in front of us.

With a fantastic view, we overcame the last section of the path. At the top of the summit cross we were rewarded for our athletic performance and the ascent was quickly forgotten.

Below us, the water of the Kochelsee and Walchensee sparkled in the sun. In the north the flat alpine foothills extended and in the south the alpine foothills embraced the Walchensee.

Right behind we could see the dramatic backdrop of the Karwendel and the Alps. The gray peaks just lined up to the horizon.

GPTempDownload 33.JPG

GPTempDownload 39.JPG

GPTempDownload 40.JPG

GPTempDownload 47.JPG

GPTempDownload 58.JPG

6276bae22e8a4ebdbd26b0dcbdebd860.JPG

6f4e3b3d7b194564937cf8191ba0ce12.JPG

cdca28209f154841986afd3f58f1e52f.JPG

GPTempDownload 51.JPG

GPTempDownload 61.JPG

GPTempDownload 66.JPG

The view was just incredible! We were very proud of ourselves and so the lunch was well deserved.

We searched a nice space to sit down and got out our sandwiches and drinks.

GPTempDownload 53.JPG

GPTempDownload 57.JPG

Most of the people go down the same path, but it is very steep and we still had enough power. So we choose the alternative. Going to the mountain house and from there to the lake.

By descending via the Jocheralm, our hike was extended by four kilometers to a total of around 12 kilometers.

So from the summit cross we followed the signposted path down to the Jocheralm. The short section of the path leads you over an open mountain meadow directly to the alpine hut.

Usually here you can take a break on the terrace or in the cozy parlor before continuing your tour. But because of Corona, of course it was closed.

GPTempDownload 68.JPG

GPTempDownload 69.JPG

GPTempDownload 73.JPG

GPTempDownload 72.JPG

GPTempDownload.JPG

GPTempDownload 3.JPG

Freshly strengthened, we hiked down a comfortable forest path on the southern slope of the Jochberg. It was longer and at some points steeper then expected, but really nice.

GPTempDownload 4.JPG

GPTempDownload 8.JPG

GPTempDownload 10.JPG

GPTempDownload 14.JPG

At the bottom we arrived right next to the lake Walchensee. The water was still too cold to swim, but we did chill a little bit there.

GPTempDownload 16.JPG

GPTempDownload 15.JPG

At that point we were a little bit tired and wanted to arrive at the car soon. Our feet were hurting and our legs shaking.

But it was still 2km until we would arrive at the car, so we walked along the lake and enjoyed the view.

Getting to the street we had to hike up to the parking lot again for another 20 minutes.

And then finally we could change the shoes, drink some more water and drive back home. For the rest of the day, and also the next two days we were super tired and everything was hurting haha.

But the 6 hours hike was totally worth it!! It felt awesome that we did it!

We had walked about 650 meters up, 12km in total in 6 hours (breaks included). The weather was just perfect, not too hot and not too cold and since we went during the week it wasn't too crowded!

I guess if the weather gets better the next weeks, we will do another one and of course I'll take my go pro with me again working on my video skills and checking out more from the south of Germany ;)

Until then, you'll get more about our Mexico trip! I hope you enjoyed it!

cheers,
Liz

Sort:  

Blue + Green + German = EPIC. Great experience, lovely people, awesome post. I envy you for a bit tbh.

Aww, thanks for your kind words @acesontop! I am happy people like the post! We will try to go out more soon and write about the area 😉

ohh nice site!!

Thanks @osita21! Glad you like it! ❤️🙏

Hiya, @ItchyfeetDonica here, just swinging by to let you know that this post made it into our Top 3 in Daily Travel Digest #868.

Your post has been manually curated by the @pinmapple team. If you like what we're doing, please drop by to check out all the rest of today's great posts and consider supporting other authors like yourself and us so we can keep the project going!

Become part of our travel community:

Thanks @pinmapple and @itchyfeetdonica! I feel honored ❤️🙏

There are really great pictures and you have written it quite well. So I have read Germany part 4 too, how many parts do you have like part 5, part 6 , lol? We are virtually expereiencing Germany thats great.

Lol, did you check out part 1-3 also? 😉 We'll see about how many parts there will be! There are a lot of cool sights around here that I can show you! And it will be a long summer without option for travelling elsewhere! So keep posted haha. Also there will be some Parts from my Mexico trip soon!

Yea I read all the parts, I love your writing and the way you express it. Going through the posts it is evident that their are a lot of cool sights.

Nice, I feel honored 😉 I am working on the next part of Mexico right now 🙂

Wow. That looks like an incredible hike. Thanks for sharing @ lizanomadsoul

Thanks @joalvarez! Yes, it was very steep and hard to go through but totally worth it! Glad you liked it ;). Hopefully I can write about similar places soon 😉🙏❤️

Que hermoso recorrido por esos espectaculares paisajes y que color tan azul el del lago. Me encantó el artículo , vale la pena hacer senderismos y estar con la naturaleza, saludos

Gracias @popurri! Si, es uno de mis lagos favoritos por lo mismo - el color!! Es casi como estar en el mar 😉 Ya estoy emocionada por visitarlo en el verano 🙂👍

Congratulations @lizanomadsoul! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 45000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 46000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Project Activity Update

❤️❤️ thanks for notifying me @hivebuzz

❤️❤️❤️

Best travel blogger ever!

Aww wow, that is a huge compliment coming from you @adetorrent ❤️❤️❤️ Thanks for your kind words! I really appreciate it and also your support over the time! Great to see you stopping by my post! 🙏

Howwww🥺

😄How? with a lot of movitation. The view helps to survive the hike 😅

I tend to like this time of the year the most. The temperatures are not too high yet and the green color makes nature look very peaceful.

That is true! In summer its way harder to get up with the heat, and also there are more people on the mountain. It would have been nice to be able to swim afterwards though! The water sadly was still too cold.

Wow, such good scenic views, I am feeling jealous sitting at my home in lockdown.

Though I love exploring places and travelling, I have done trekking just once in my life.

And at that time I got to know how bad my physical fitness was.

Worked a little bit on my health but I am still unsure whether I could go on a trek or not.

BTW, really good pics...

Enjoyed them a lot.

Keep producing great stuff like this.

Thanks for your kind words @looftee! I haven't been hiking much yet neighter!! And yes! It is a good check about your physical condition haha! I should be in better shape next time too, or choose an easier track 😅 After that hike I was done for 2 days 😆
I am glad you like the post and it helps you travelling virtually for a bit! Where are you at, that you are still in lockdown? I hope you are ok, staying safe ❤️

India, I am safe for now.

Cool! Which part of India?

Northern India...Haryana.

well I hope you guys will be safer soon!! -India must be a really nice country! I ve never been, but I have many friends there ❤️❤️

Then Maybe you have found one more friend.

Beautiful place friend @lizanomadsoul, thanks for showing us those amazing hidden places

Yes, it is a really nice hike!! Usually it is way to overcrowded so I am glad I found a time window to finally go up there without meeting a crowd of people on my way! It makes it even more special if you have the tranquility of nature for yourself and don't get hurried up by people following right behind you 😂😂
I hope soon we will have time to check out more places like this here to show you guys around 😉
thanks for stopping by @isabelpena! I really appreciate it 🙏❤️

Such a beautiful hiking experience, picturesque scenario... I wish I could go there and enjoy such a gorgeous scenario in person.. Thanks for sharing with us...

Wow, what an honor to see you here @priyanarc!! This is a lovely surprise! Glad you like my post! Well who knows, as you are a traveller yourself, maybe one day you will stop by here and check it out yourself! Let me know if you need recommendations on where to go in Germany or any other country I've been so far! ❤️🙂

Germany is not far away from Kharkiv, my plan was to explore Germany this year especially on summer but unfortunately, all plan canceled. I will definitely contact you because I am still hoping to explore Germany this year... Thanks dear...

Cool! Which part of Germany interests you? Yes, definitely let me know! Maybe I can organize you some accomodation or drive you around myself 😉

Looks like an epic hike in stunning nature, great weather and with a lot of fun :) Me gusta! :D

Yes indeed! I just had to write about that epic day ;) Glad you like it! Still working on my video skills haha! Music wasn't my choice though! :D

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Love those green trees...you making me jealous....missing my green jungle at home.

Yes I just love being out in the nature!!! Are you guys still in lockdown?

Not completelly ...there are few relaxation but on the hand the cases started to pick up sharply...it's still danger going out.

I understand. That sucks! Well safety first! Hive on and stay safe my friend! Hopefully till then you can travel a bit virtually through other posts like mine or check out @pinmapple for great stories 😉