Copenhagen - Christiania: Hash, Hippies, Graffiti and Live Music

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

"Freetown" Christiana is located in the center of Copenhagen. Is is the first autonomous community of hippies, activists and others, living in another city. The town counts ca. 850 inhabitants. Most of them do meditation, yoga , theater, graffiti, art or sell cloth, weed or hash.

The town was founded 1971. The buildings where already there but empty. They used to be a military base in first and second world war and were useless for the government afterwards. Some police men would be there to control them, but homeless people would it use more and more until one day on 26 September 1971, Christiania was declared open by Jacob Ludvigsen.

In his own paper, Ludvigsen wrote an article with the headline Civilians conquered the 'forbidden city' of the military: Christiania is the land of the settlers. It is the so far biggest opportunity to build up a society from scratch - while nevertheless still incorporating the remaining constructions. Own electricity plant, a bath-house, a giant athletics building, where all the seekers of peace could have their grand meditation - and yoga center. Halls where theater groups can feel at home. Buildings for the stoners who are too paranoid and weak to participate in the race...Yes for those who feel the beating of the pioneer heart there can be no doubt as to the purpose of Christiania. It is the part of the city which has been kept secret to us - but no more.

Ludvigsen was co-author of Christiania's mission statement, dating from 1971, which offers the following:

The objective of Christiania is to create a self-governing society whereby each and every individual holds themselves responsible over the wellbeing of the entire community. Our society is to be economically self-sustaining and, as such, our aspiration is to be steadfast in our conviction that psychological and physical destitution can be averted.

Today the people still live in the old buildings and also built new ones on the ground. They produce their own electricity, take their trash away and sell their selfmade food and beer ;) ...and obviously sell stuff to the tourists and locals.

There are some important rules in the city that you have to follow if you want to visit!!!

1. No Fotos at Pusher Street
2. No Stealing
3. No weapons
4. No signs of violent groups like hells angels
5. No cars or motorbike allowed.
6. No hard drugs (hash and marijuana is tolerated)

Pusher street is what Christiania is mostly famous for. Here people sell hash and marijuana. It was officially tolerated by the government until 2016 but still ilegal. Anyhow there where some shootings, murder intents and granates happening in this street between people from there and gangs in Copenhagen fighting about the market over the years. 

Today it is not officially tolerated anymore that people at Pusher Street are selling. That´s why it is FORBITTEN to take pictures! - People get really angry if you try that .. because they can get in really big trouble!! Now it is illegal to sell, but the police would not do anything. Copenhagens´ citizen are protecting the area and supporting the Christianian village.

They let me take a picture though (without them on it) because I was there with locals. 

On the end of Pusher Street you will find Nemoland. Here are all the restaurants, bars + a big stage for concerts. Every Sunday some artists are playing live music here for free - just to support the good vibe and project. There where really famous people here like Robbie Williams. Behind the chairs in front of the stage there is a little park with a little lake where people can sit comfortable having a picnic or just hanging around drinking beer, smoking weed and listening to the music.  ;)

We loved it there and stayed a while listening to the music and drinking beer!! I am also fascinated from the street art!! There was a lot... maybe will be several posts.

Here you got some of them to see what I mean:

After the beer we invited our friend and host to eat something. It was delicious! Thai food!!

This is the entrance from the other side ;)

These are the posts with Christianias street art:
https://steemit.com/streetart/@lizanomadsoul/streetart-6-christiania-copenhagen-denmark
https://steemit.com/graffiti/@lizanomadsoul/streetart-6-christiania-copenhagen-denmark-part-2

Deutsche Version dieses Artikels: https://steemit.com/deutsch/@lizanomadsoul/kopenhagen-christiania-hasch-hippies-graffiti-und-live-musik

Versión Español de este blog: https://steemit.com/spanish/@lizanomadsoul/copenhague-christiania-marihuana-hippies-graffiti-y-musica-en-vivo

Sort:  

wow, i want to go there since i heared about it the first time!
nicely written story and thank you very much for the great pictures!
images.jpg

Cool that you liked it! :) - You should go there one time. It is a really nice place to be. I will write more about Copenhagen soon. Check out the street art post too! It is awesome!

Looks like my place to go! Thanks for sharing!!! On the Bucket List now!!!😍
Follow me @deliverance

It is beautiful!! :) I just put some of the street art.

Resteemed and up-voted. This takes me back. I spent one of my last nights when I studied abroad in Christiania, and a friendly denison of Christiania offered my friends and I free beer because it was one of our birthdays. Like a lot of free beer. Such a great atmosphere there, with the hounds and the big barrels of fire in the wintertime

Thanks! Yes it is a great atmosphere! So much peace and great community!

Definitely on my bucket list if places to visit. Excellent post @lizanomadsoul. Keep up the good work. With all the traveling you do you will have a lot to post about. Upvoted and resteemed.

Thanks my friend! I knew you would love it!! :)

Smoking a fatty as I read it.

Awesome post! I live right next to this great little place...Upvoted and followed! :)

Really?? Cool! I loved it! Did you check out my street art posts about it too? Beautiful! Thanks nice to have you :)

I did, really nice finds! I like street art... :)

good art))

Just posted more about the art ;) feel free to resteem

Wow! Too cool! Thanks for sharing your experience!

Glad you liked it! :)

Too cool you have fun!

One day, I hope we will see an Anarcho-capitalist society that I would actually like to live in. So far all of them are composed of homeless people, drug users and abusers and dominated by criminal gangs.

I know some beauty exists, even in the worst places and I appreciate you sharing it with us. I'm sure there are many good people there to, who just want to be free and left alone to live as they choose.

Sitting here typing in my gated, home owner association controlled condo, located in a massive corporate development, I have everything I was looking for in a community. Pure, raw capitalism built this 40,000 person community, purely for profit. My quality of life is awesome.

Perhaps a committed Anarchist would say I am living in a glided cage and tolerating the terms of my corporate enslavement, etc.

Perhaps that's true, but show me the alternative with the same or better quality of life for myself and my family, done the Anarchist Way. I have looked and failed to find it.

Please keep the good content coming, especially the awesome photos. Thanks lizanomadsoul

I felt pretty safe there but you probably are right that most of this societies have too much drugs involving their daily life to be really free and healthy. I think as long as you are happy you are good :) Doesnt matter where we are or with whom we live with, there are always compromises to take... you just have to see with which you can life better :)

A lot of info. Now I know more and I am happy for you. Keep it up :) Great videos ;) Thank you . Upvote and resteem :)

Thank you so much for your support :) - Glad you liked it.

Of course. Have a great time ;)