Foodtrip: tastes of Hiroshima

in #travel6 years ago

Hello All,

It has been a while again...

I got to spend a week in a very clean, friendly - and slightly cold part of Japan. Luckily Hiroshima didn't get as much snow as Tokyo during my stay.

I will also share some pics of the city itself (there's still the a-bomp "shadow" over the city, but there's so much more to see too).

But for now some shots of the food we got - which is something totally new for me.

I stayed at the Daiwa Roynet Hotel which is in a perfect location for sightseeing - and food trips.

  • Ask the reception for their recommendations.

There is a small restaurant attached to the hotel (in the same building, but still separate company) that serves breakfast from 5 am in the morning.

On tripadvisor there is a lot of complains about them having only three different options to choose from. OK, I partly agree that the breakfast is not very "western" but who wants to go to Japan and eat scrambled eggs & bacon?

DSC04700.JPG

The base of all meals are rice and miso-soup (beans-soup) - then you choose if you want fish or sausages or bread and you get the option to fill in two small pots yourself.

DSC05018-S.JPG

And as my host(s) were very keen on keeping me feeling welcomed, we started off the week with a business dinner already on Sunday evening:

DSC05016-S.JPG

Later on in the week we tried a speciality you'll only get in Hiroshima - okonomiyaki:

DSC05032-S.JPG

Note the "table" where the food is placed - it is heated.

Then we also visited an oyster restaurant - I was a different child though and had some eel:

DSC05039-S.JPG

With a happy Oi-san:

DSC05040-S.JPG

Note the deep fried oysters.

After a rather busy week we rounded up going to a place serving real sushi - not the rolls we here in Europe at least think is sushi...

DSC05106-S.JPG

I love the way the food is served

DSC05105-S.JPG

And on Friday evening we even treated ourselves with some sake

DSC05104-S.JPG

No time is wasted peeling the shrimps

DSC05107-S.JPG

And the real sushi

DSC05112-S.JPG

And don't ask me what we were eating - I know the tuna, the shrimps and the rice :)

Until next time!

Sort:  

I love the way their food is served! Yes! Such a fun post and I love when you take us along on your trips.

The sushi is so different than what we sever here in the States too. This is the real deal. Was it all good.

You had eel somewhere else too! Always the renegade! ;) Great post and until next time! Tip!

Thanks a lot for the tip @dswigle !

I must admit that the food for me was more about different textures than different tastes (if you want taste, use wasabi & soy sauce) - but still very enjoyable!

Hi @lundsten! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.04 SBD @tipU from @dswigle :)

@dswigle wrote lately about: Whisper. Feel free to follow @dswigle if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

This makes me hungry, I love japanese food :)

That's the idea @omrii ! :)

They definitely know what they are doing!

A great variety of seafood, very beautifully presented. I'm not very consuming of this kind of food but it looks very good!

Thank you ileana56 !

I have always loved seafood (we have cold-smoked salmon over here for example) so I was quite impressed. But having rice three times a day was maybe just a little bit too much...

Looks like an excellent meal... great blog post Alf!

Thanks a lot @keithboone !

I like to share a little from the trips I'm on - at least the brighter parts of them... Getting from HEL to HIJ took me roundabout 24hrs and that's not too nice.

That is what I call the quintessential Japanese dining experience @lundsten You have had your share of protein for the day. And those deep fried oyster are huge! A meal on their own. I visited Japan years ago and this was a lovely way to be reminded of a wonderful trip to this great country. Thank you Alf.

Thank you @trudeehunter !

I did not have everything that I photographed - I was politely allowed to move into tourist mode at each dinner :)

And I do hope we'll be back some day...

Haha...... I didn't think for a moment that you could consume all that interesting looking food Alf. The great thing about Asian dining is that there always a wonderful selection to choose from. It sounds as though you had a very enjoyable visit and I hope you get to go there again one day too.

It's always interesting to try the cuisine when you're travelling abroad and expand yoyr palette! Excellent food photography @lundsten

Thank you @ninahaskin !

I also try to stick to local food as much as possible - I avoid McDonalds at any costs! :)

And bring home a bottle of white vine for my wife - of local production.

Okonomiyaki!
Can you imagine? We were in Hiroshima city town and spent 20 minutes looking for a Okonomiyaki restaurant. We knew this is Hiroshima specialty, and couldn't understand why we can't find one shop. LOL

Hi @jrvacation -san,

If you are still planning to go - take a tour to the Daiwa Roynet Hotel and ask for their list of restaurants - they have an excellent collection!

Thanks! Will keep that in mind.