Monument Valley pics

in #travel6 years ago

Monument Valley is found in the Western United States on the boarder of Utah and Arizona. It is one of the most breath taking landscapes in the Western United States. You might recognize this shot because you've seen it in countless movies.

Upon first discovering the land in the 1840's, Captain John G. Walker had this to say about the land - “as desolate and repulsive-looking a country as can be imagined [...] As far as the eye can reach toward the southwest, west and northwest, is a vast mass of sandstone hills without any covering or vegetation except a scanty growth of cedar.”

It wasn't until the 1930's that John Ford saw the land for the first time behind the lens and turned it into something huge. Propelling the landscape into international fame and defining what the general population thinks of when they imagine the American South-West.

Monument Valley is seen as a prominent symbol of the wild wild west and has been featured in countless films.
To name a few:

IMG_1811.jpeg
If you've seen Forrest Gump, this is where he was when he decided he didn't feel like running anymore.

image_6483441 (3).JPG
Pretty flowers.

image_6483441 (4).JPG
I just really like pictures of roads centered like this with huge landscape views in the background. It took me over 10 minutes to get this shot because people kept driving by and I was trying to wait till there was nobody on the road but that wasn't going to happen - And then the shot didn't even come out clear, I guess it's time to upgrade from my camera on my phone.
image_40037873.JPG
I had to post a picture of myself in case you were questioning if I took these pictures or not. Plus I like taking pictures of myself.

As always, Thanks for reading my post.

link - Monumnet Valley Facts and quotes
https://indiancountrymedianetwork.com/travel/destinations/5-things-may-not-know-monument-valley/

Sort:  

Monument Valley - the place is known to me and yes I have seen in a couple of movies. I heard the name for the first time. Thnx anyway for the info.

Great moment .!!!!!!!
Great place !!!!!...and
Great photogrpahy...@mister.green..
Ohh ... !! One thing... In your selfee you are looking gorgeous...

Amaising shots , i think you had a great time😊.

Nice travel and good photography wish i all the best @mister.green

Hey, @mister.green amazing photography and place.great moment dear.
your selfee is to good.