Atlanta Trip II: Motorcycle Stunt Competition & The lost necklace!

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Welcome to the 2nd part of my trip to Atlanta! This is me saying goodbye to all of my fishy friends and on my way to the stunt show! Check out my previous post about the whales and aquarium visit! The stunt show was the 2nd reason I wanted to go to Atlanta. I got into stunt riding a year ago. I found out over the winter/spring that there is a competition in April. I really wanted to go and see what this was all about. It also gave me an excuse to visit Atlanta and see the whales!

There was an initial competition for the amateurs which are the SBFC competition. I really came to watch the XDL competition because that was where what stunters call the “killers” are at. I was told by my friend Nate to look out for the “Polish Ninja.” His video will be at the bottom!

Watching all of these riders do amazing stunts really doesn’t show the work they put into this hobby. I have now realized how hard this balance point idle wheelies are. Truly not something you can just pick up. These big bikes are 400lbs wet; a wet motorcycle just means it has fluids in it vs. dry meaning no fluids.

I brought my nice camera – the Nikon 5200 and trying to use Manual mode only and get some sick shots! I bought this camera a while ago and never put time into. So thanks to @kommienezuspadt I got a chance to sit with him and get a crash course in using manual mode. I have way too many hobbies – haha! He also showed me some tips and tricks for editing raw and these photos are my edits! I hope they are okay for my first try! I am also editing and writing at 1am >..< Aghhh

I met up with a guy from my state that was there announcing and he helped me charge my phone ( I am notorious for dead phone battery only at important moments) and let me get close to the stunters. I was able to get some really neat shots!

I was too shy to go talk to any of the stunters there and took a selfie with the winner but it was really dark. So I did end up chatting with the ones who placed (they were closest) – 2 were from Japan, the polish ninja, and a ATL Stunter Aaron Twite. They were all so supportive and encouraging about me wanting to stunt. I told them which stunts were my favorite which only Dai did Superman, Polish Ninja did Death spin (in video), Oga was just a beast and Aaron too. I said my goodbyes and was on my way driving an hour in my rental to my hotel to fly home that Sunday!

I woke up and packed everything and to my dismay… I realized the necklace my mom gave me was missing. I still had to gas up the car and return it before my flight. The hotel was no help and I was having a break down. I know it seem stupid but this necklace means a lot to me. At the gas station I thought to maybe message the announcer and too my disbelief HE FOUND IT!?! I am so glad I messaged him but I still have not received it due to mailing issues and hopefully this necklace and I will be reunited. I will fix the clasp and never lose it again!

Atlanta was a blast! So glad I went and really enjoyed a solo trip. I needed a get away and you learn so much about yourself exploring alone. Pic below shows my necklace and I can't wait to have it back.

Tell me what you think of my trip! What was your favorite city to visit this year or will be going to?

Keep explorin!
xx moony

Sort:  

Great blog! Your photos need a little bit more exposure, but great overal 😉

Thank you! I appreciate the feedback!

Hey hey :) amazing article and amazing trip.
I just wanted to ask what camera are you using to take pictures with, because I'm looking to buy one soon and currently stuck on choosing :)
Cheers and much

@vangelov I use a Nikon5200 !! Lens I wish I had is a 50 with 1.4. so keep that in mind - the reason is - I want that "blurred" background

I love atlanta.. I am a bike rider.. Want to go there someday for sure.. Loved it..

Yes! Go if you can when the motorcycle races are happening! Swarms of bikers from all over the US came for the races and stunt show!

Very nice content again from you. Thanks for sharing. 100 % upvoted from @chanthasam

@Chanthasam Thank you very much! I'm so happy you are enjoying the content!

nice post . i like stant very much

Yes! Stunting is sick!

Welcome back moony! Great to see your return

Hey Thank you so much! I really have been enjoying coming back and sharing my adventures <3

those bikers do some crazy stunts!

Nice!
I ride. Well..., I used to ride, got rid of the '03 Softtail when I moved back home to take care of mom with (now) advanced stage dementia. Really miss those long country rides through hills, straights, winders. Ahh, guess I can live vicariously.

Be Well.

Chris