MK's Adventure Chapter 1 | Leaving Home

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Chapter 1: Leaving Home

I just received my VISA 5 days before my flight.
I just bought my flight to London Heathrow 3 days before my freshers week.
I just done packing my luggages a night before my departure.
I just.. cannot believe I'm really going to England!

I have always been dreaming about studying abroad in the UK. But I never thought my parents would allow or agree directly to it. I wouldn't say my family background is poor, but we definitely are not rich enough to drink Starbucks once everyday.

My parents and I have been through a lot just to achieve this dream of mine. I started by applying through an agency (which name I shall not mention in this blog) to check out my chances. But their progress was too slow. My agent and I were only communicating through e-mail because it is a West Malaysia agency. After giving my agent all my details needed, I waited for more than 2 weeks and my agent did not get back to me. My parents were worried, but I insisted on waiting because the agent was introduced by my friend. My father met a customer who's also an agent from JM Education. At first I was reluctant, then I thought to myself, "Since I'm waiting for this, why not I just give it a try to have more choices or better offers?". So I gave them my details. Surprisingly on that week itself, 2 universities offered me a place in their universities.

Dude, my previous agent did not get back to me still..

So I went for it. My new agent, Su Chin from JM Education (which is a super dedicated and caring education agent, highly recommended hehe), helped me to apply for the university that I have decided to go to. She quickly met up with me in her office to run through all the procedures ASAP because she said I'm a lil behind, but there are still time for me! To cut the long story short, there were some problems with CAS, but everything worked out fine in the end (thanks for Su Chin again).

When I received my CAS, my previous agent did not get back to me still..

The scariest thing about this whole process, was my VISA. My agent suggested that I might get my VISA back on time without the priority pass, it is very expensive too. That pass helps students to get their VISA back within a week. During my VISA application, I met a friend. She was rushing her entire UK procedures as well. But the only difference between me and her, she bought the flight ticket already. She was suppose to leave a week later so she was going to take the priority pass. I felt so nervous for her. I actually felt better too knowing my situation was not as rush as hers (no offense, my friend haha). Cut the long story short, my VISA got back home 5 days before my freshers week but my friend hadn't get hers yet, which means she had to burn her previous flight ticket and buy a new one. Scary right? So my dad and I bought my flight ticket that's leaving 3 days later. Expensive? Don't ask. I just know that my dad's credit card bled a lot that night after the purchase.

Believe it or not, while I was waiting for my VISA, my previous agent called me asked if I'm still taking the offers. HAHA! Let's laugh together for a few secs.....

IMG_8527.jpg

*My sisters and I

With the few days remaining, I tried my best to spend time with my family and friends. They were all shocked that I'm leaving 2 days later. HAHA believe me, I was too. Really thank God I met two friends boarding the same plane as me to London. At first, I really thought I can handle it. But when I was at the airport, I almost felt like crying out. But my father reminded me not to cry because I'm doing something I've always wanted. Yeah, I am doing something I've always wanted, but the feeling of leaving my routine, my familiarity behind and off to a new environment is exciting and terrifying at the same time. Fortunately I met the two friends, Felicia and Kai Yuan, I was not afraid anymore.


My family, Felicia and I

Even as I was on the plane, I really really still can't believe I'm doing it.

"I'M GOING TO ENGLAND!!" I shouted in my mind.

IMG_8672.jpg

HUGE Leg Space

I was counting down the time and distance as the plane flew nearer and nearer. I couldn't sleep. By the way, Royal Brunei is really comfortable! Highly recommended to my Kota Kinabalu Steemit friends hehe.

IMG_8680.jpg

IMG_8681.jpg

Two meals provided by Royal Brunei

I thanked God throughout my flight to London. I really really so thankful that He provided for my family and He will continue to provide for them! He made my dream comes through without I expecting it :') Thank you, Lord!

20 hours later, I've landed in the United Kingdom. London Heathrow Airport.

Babeh, this is where my new chapter begins!

Yours truly

-

DQmQk2LL9GuYjXRs1zo6k2fNCf899rTXqr8A2ZuQCrF8DU9.png

Sort:  

what an amazing journey !! God has been faithful and favored you !! :) keep things up and never lose faith !! cant wait to hear more of ur adventures there !!! take care

Ngaw thanks @xianglingsls!! I appreciate it

My gosh...your sisters HAVE GROWN SO MUCH! Sorry, I know this is about you..but how time flies..

Haha everytime when I go back home, I thought the same thing as well!

good luck, you will have a blast there, my new friend

Thank you so much @johnnyray heh I will!

The @OriginalWorks bot has checked the text of this post and it appears original!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy. Please note, it only checks the text component!

So happy for you, and to see that your family loves you so much! I can imagine all the paperwork needed and rushing here and there. But nevertheless, Jehovah Jireh, He will indeed provide.

Amen :') thank you hehe yeah the paperworks were tiring but thank God I got through them

babeh. waiting for your new chapter ;) seriously do you need to take photo of everything? :p

Hahaha! Documentary mahh.. See it seems helpful now for Steemit :P

you were born for this ;)

Wuah! This buang balik lama xD

Dreams do come true eh? Haha!
Ure gonna graduate sooonnnn

I know right.. So sooooooonn.. Everything is passing so quick