My visit at the ancient yoga hub in the Himalaya

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

I was visiting the ancient yoga hub Rishikesh in the Indian Himalaya after 30 years.
Last time I was in Rishikesh it was a village at the feet of the Himalaya, where the river Ganga meets the plain lands. Now after 30 years, the famous Yoga center has grown in to a city. But the magical spirit of the river Ganga and the ancient temples are still alive.

Rishikesh-Tobias19.jpg

Rishikesh Tobias Huber.1.jpg

Rishi. Tobias Huber.jpg

After the my first week the wether became nice and warm, so I went every day for swimming in the holy Ganga river.

Ganga.jpeg

It is indescribable how you feel after a dip in the Ganga water, that still smells like the Himalayan Glaciers.

IMG_1234.jpg

The Monkeys are enjoying it as well.

IMG_1180.jpg

It was wonderfull to be again in Rishikesh it is still so much a loving place.

By side of my music related posts, I will some times post about my travel experiences.
Hope you enjoy...

Sort:  

what an experience, fantastic

yea, it was really fantastic...

ahhh,, Rishikesh! what a Place! i had a dip in the Gangas there once.. as you say... its indescribable!

Thanks for your uplifting comment @eco-alex

Thanks for your comment!
Music 4 Peace Initiative at Sundance Film Festival
https://steemit.com/music/@music4peace/5qoaok5h

Yes, a magical place!
From 2007 to 2013 I came every year to Sivananda Ashram with a group of German yogis, acting as their interpreter for the talks and teachings some Swamis gave to the group.

Namaste @likedeeler nice to meet you here... so you know Rishikesh well... yes, such a incredible place!

Thanks for your comment!
Music 4 Peace Initiative at Sundance Film Festival
https://steemit.com/music/@music4peace/5qoaok5h