Wolfs and Lapdogs, which are you?

in #travel7 years ago

My steemy friends

I am here on steemit to show which of the two I am. I am here to make my life my own.

All my life I have been told, "Nate, you should do this" or "Nate, you should do this". But how many of these know-it-all people took time to really KNOW me? Very few. However they all seem to know the best way for me to spend my time as if I was a lap dog being stuffed into their purse on their way to the mall. Just another one of Paris Hilton's dozen plush puppies who has never set food on God's green earth. Will I live such a numb life? Are we to be under the control of our worlds and have those around us tell us how to live? No because such a life of extreme sheltering has been dismissed by the poet Sean Daley who wrote a few lines to his child, and it reads,

                                        If I was a rich man
                                      I'd buy you some shoes
                           Tall boots for all the dirt you walk through
                                       What would that do?
                                         Enable you to deal
                        Without schooling you on how to touch what's real
                                     And if I was a smart man
                                I'd tell you everything that I knew
                        And give it to you every time you need a talking to
                                      But what would that do?
                                       Teach you my guidelines
                     So you can be a cheerleader at your game on the sidelines

However the wolf is entirely different. When one first hears 'wolf' then negative images and ideas may rush to their mind. I urge you not to let such preceptions take away or distain this analogy. About five years ago on of my friends told me about his experience owning a wolf as a pet. He stated that the oddest thing about his wolf was that he had to earn its respect. It wasn't innately programmed like in a dog. Because one day when the wolf was full grown it turned on him. It challenged him to see who was really in charge of the relationship. Luckily for my friend he had been awaiting this day so when it finally came he was already prepared. After a long wrestle he won the title of Alpha in the eyes of his wolf.

It is my belief that we are all wolves and none of us are lap dogs. We all learn and grow from our surroundings and our lives. And little by little we absorb all the information and knowledge possible to make our own decisions. On that day we will without even knowing it start to challenge the world that raised us. The world will be ready for that fight but if we happen to lose we will become subject to it. Just as the wolf that is now subjected to my friend and his desires. It is in the measure of winning or losing that our lives are dictated. Lose and become an oversized lapdog or win and continue experiencing life as a wolf.

This is the beginning of my story!

GOPR0454.JPG

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your thoughts, I think its very positive that you are thinking more what you want in life, and what you want others to know about you so we can all learn by sharing ideas! And to everyhting that you say I think you make me think in the phrase never to give up, and keep on living to make the best story of your life! :D I am new in Steemit, and following you now :D!