Today's a new day

in #travel7 years ago (edited)

Good morning fellow steemians!
I hope everyone had a good rest and is ready for this new day and all it has to offer. I personally am getting over a bad cold, which come few and far between for me. So needless to say but I will.. that it kicked my ass this past week.

I am new to steemit and I am looking around this community and I really enjoy the vibe of it so far. I have an instagram, twitter, facebook, and pintrest.. but I feel that Steemit has the best of what those all offer.

I am not sure where to start, do I tell you a little about myself? Lets try!
I just turned 30 a few months ago, I am married to my best friend for the past 5 years (together 11 years) We have a beautiful little boy who is 3 and a half.
This past 6 months of our life have been a happy chaos. We lived in Calgary, Alberta Canada, we rented a house and our 2 year lease was about to be up... so naturally most people would look for a new place around the area or move away to a possible cheaper option. We tried to figure out the loaded question.. "what do we want out of life"
We searched for rentals in Calgary again to see if we wanted to still be located in the beautiful hustle and bustle the city has to offer and we re evaluated.
The cost of living including, rent, food, car gas, insurance etc. In one of the most expensive cities in Canada to live.
We said to ourselves there has to be an option for less is more. AND there is!
WE SOLD 95% of our belongings!! We wanted a fresh start and a better way of life. COSTA RICA was our answer.. (whoa! right?!)
Flashback to 2 years prior to living in Alberta, we lived in Manitoba. We sold our house and got the heck out of dodge to a city with more opportunities.
Okay back to almost present day.... we sold the house prior, sold my car, my husbands truck and his Harley Davidson, our furniture, and random "stuff" that we never used and just sat in the garage.
Let me say that it was scary at first then we kept reminding ourselves of the end goal. Saying to goodbye to things that were owning us was easier than expected. Filling my car twice to the brim with donations of clothing, baby stuff, odds and ends we didn't want to try to sell on Kijiji (a version of craigslist) was liberating!!! The moment it was out of my sight, I felt less stressed and didnt' miss any of it once it was gone.
The only things we kept were our books (8 boxes of them) and a couple rubbermaid containers full of photos and precious memories that we will cherish forever. And in case we come back to Canada, some well needed winter clothes! Ha ha (These items are in storage and once settled will have them all again).
I want to say that we did this all in record time.. less than 2 months from the idea came to try out Costa Rica, selling our stuff, getting finances in order and saying goodbye for now to family and friends back in Manitoba.
WE DID IT!!! We have been in Costa Rica since Mothers day of this year.

This is just a tiny glimse of me and what I am all about. I am a caring and loving person who just wants the best for the people around me and same goes for the cyber world. Everyone can find a slice of the pie to make themselves a tiny bit happier. Remember that life throws curveballs and there will always be ups and down. It's just figuring out the best way to deal with it and the right attitude.
So stay positive and good things will come to you in all ways, shapes and forms.

Pura Vida ~ Pure Life

Sort:  

Welcome to Steem @naturescandy I have upvoted and sent you a tip

welcome to Steemit Naturescandy:) Glad to see more people like you - here joining Steemit! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me !

Congratulations!

Welcome to Steemit !!! Nice post, i will follow your account, please follow me at @ksvvb

nice..., i am following you! upvoted, give the best @kunani

A new Steemian :-) hello I hope you enjoy your time here, its a great community ! Nice post, wish you much luck! I Have upvoted and will follow your account. Don't hesitate to contact or follow me at any time :-) See you around @tradewonk

Welcome to Steemit @naturescandy, I have upvoted and sent you a tip. Check my blogs if you are looking for tips on how to earn more Steem and SBD.

Helloo @earncrypto
you are sending same msg to everyone it's spam I give you flag because you are sending same msg to everyone only change the name . hope you understand about it and careful next time