You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Travel - The scary parts of preparing my world trip

in #travel7 years ago

Haha. A cup is not for everyone but I spent three months in Madagascar and 9 weeks working in the field with no toilets or running water. The thought of leaving a tampon behind in a long drop or even worse, the whole you dig in the ground didn't was sort of against the marine conservation work we were trying to do but I'm guessing you're not going to be going anywhere quite as remote!

Nusa Lembongan is just a quick boat ride from Bali and has the most incredible coral reefs and marine life so you can snorkel all day. And it also has a little wave you can try your hand at surfing. There are some serious surf breaks too. And hiking the interior is pretty awesome. On Bali main island I's would highly recommend not spending long in Kuta or Sanur, they're just full of holiday makers rather than travellers, so maybe try heading up the coast to Padangbai and of course Ubud is a traveller favourite. Depending on how rogue you want to go one of my favourite places in Indo is called Bunaken island where there is nothing to do but eat, swim, snorkel, make new friends and stay with the locals.

Sort:  

That sounds a bit too far away from civilization for my taste and I don't think I will find myself in such situations - hopefully. I will scream! Haha!

Ooh, that sounds pretty amazing. I would love to try that out! Also I am really considering a GoPro or similar maybe.

I shall definitely add those to my list. It sounds pretty amazing! I just checked for the Bunaken Island, but it looks pretty far away from everthing else that we've planned so far, so not quite sure if we can make it to there :(