Travel - The scary parts of preparing my world trip

in #travel7 years ago

It is almost here!

Some months back I posted about that I booked the first half of my trip. A couple of weeks back, I posted and asked the female Steemit community about which travel backpacks they use. Now, I am just getting super hyped up as I now seriously need to arrange more things.


Source

What is going on?

So, a little summary about what is actually going on right now. As of the end of January, I will embark on my first, ever world trip across the globe to go on unknown adventures in stranger countries with my Steemitless friend. I will be roaming around for about six months through six countries and I shall definitely capture my amazing moments on Steemit, so stay tuned!

Where exactly are you going?

I am not quite sure where exactly I will be going, but the global plan is as following: Thailand - Malaysia - Indonesia - New Zealand - Australia - United States of America.

Any amazing things I can't miss here? Would love to know!

So what now?

It is amazing how fast time travels - only a year ago we had our first meeting with the agency and now it’s only a couple of months before we really take off.

For the last couple of weeks I have been trying to read a lot upon travelling, what to pack, how to pack etc. However, now that it’s getting closer and closer, it gets scarier too. I have a feeling I have so many other things left to arrange!

  • International driver’s licence
  • Vaccinations
  • Buy a backpack
  • Buy shoes for hiking and city roaming
  • Get some quick drying, breathable tops
  • And more!


Source

The scariest thing is the backpack

What if I don’t like it? What if it’s uncomfortable after all? What if I want to bring more stuff and it doesn’t fit anymore?

What I think is most important about travelling is to pack light. However, I never packed light?! What if I don’t find a washing machine on time, what if, what if what if!

After posting a couple of times in Facebook travelling groups for quick feedback (I am sorry for cheating on you, Steemit), I think I have prepared a proper packing list. And this is what needs to fit in my backpack.

My potential packing list

  • Shoes 3x (Birckenstock, General shoes, Walking/hiking shoes)
  • Tank top
  • Shirts 3x
  • Bloesje
  • Long pants
  • Shorts
  • Leggings/Yoga pants
  • Socks 7x
  • Underwears 7-10x
  • Bra 2x
  • Sportsbra
  • Hoodie/Sweater
  • Raincoat
  • Bikini
  • Pajamas
  • Toothbrush
  • Toothpaste
  • Deodorant
  • Razor
  • BB cream
  • Monthly contacts
  • Daily contacts
  • Contact solution
  • Tampons (lady stuff!!!!)
  • Powerbank
  • Phone + charger
  • MacBook + charger
  • USB hub
  • Passport + copies
  • Headphones
  • Inflatable neckpillow
  • Wallet
  • Worldsocket
  • Sunglasses
  • Cap (I need me some Steemit branding!)
  • Microfiber towel
  • Belt
  • Waterbottle

What do you think?

Currently I have my eye on the Osprey Farpoint 55L. It has a 40L backpack and a 15L daypack attached to it. Do you think I can put it all in there? I hope so - according to a bunch of YouTube videos, quite a lot fits in there!

Also, mind you, I shall be wearing stuff too, so for example, there would only be two pairs of shoes in my backpack.

I am super psyched and I am curious to know about your opinion, experiences and travel lessons!

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

I've done a part of your journey, about 3 years ago, and what I recommend is to try not to buy everything. Stick to the minimum and do girl clothes exchange in the hostel, might be fun. I always left my t-shirts as a gift when I left one country, because I took some other wonderful colorful clothes :) If you ask me 40 l is not that much for a hike like base camp Himalaya. I would go for a 60 and a very small a foldable second backpack. Good luck and hugs

Aah, that is one way to keep your wardrobe flexible. Sounds fun!

It's not really hiking, I guess. We will mostly be visiting villages or cities and have places to stay. So I hope we won't need to lure our backpack around unless we're moving to a different town.

Thank you so much for your reply. I appreciate it a lot! Maybe we should start out a Female Traveller Discord on Steemit :D

I am so up for a female traveller discord. Count me in.

Sweet! I briefly set one up! You can join it here: https://discord.gg/BK28s5

I shall do an announcement/callout tomorrow :)

Let's do it :) I will start my journey on mid February in South America

Sweet! South-America is still on my bucket list! Where you heading?

Patagonia

So, from a fellow female world traveller here's some hopefully practical advice. You need far fewer pairs of socks! You're not going to need them until NZ and if you need some there buy a pair. Think it's one of the things we forget when travelling that there are places to buy stuff in other countries. I don't know what the difference between general and hiking shoes is but I'm betting you're not a heels kind of girl so invest in a pair of lightweight Merrel's or salamon that can cover daily walking around and some more rigorous hiking. Also have you considered a menstrual cup? Save on a whole heap of space that tampons take up and so much more environmentally friendly. Finally the backpack looks awesome, great size. Is a Karrimor. Mine has been around and about a few times and has stood the test of time and survived being hurled around on and off local transport. I've been to Indo lots so let me know what you're into and I can make some recommendations. Excited for you

Thank you so much for the long reply!

The sock thing, sometimes the skin on my foot goes weird a bit so I prefer clean socks every day actually. It proved to be the best way for my skin.

Think it's one of the things we forget when travelling that there are places to buy stuff in other countries.

I think this is very true. However, I guess we're also just scared not being able to buy the stuff there as we're used to here. I simply do not know what they sell there - however I found out there is Decathlon in Thailand! I am mainly looking for this sport stuff - I feel cotton dries way too slow and gets heavy at some point. Also cotton creases super fast so I don't want to look like a used napkin.

With general and hiking shoes, I mean that I wait some light trailrunners for normal, and maybe some Adidas Terrex or similar for some more rainy weather? Now I think of it, just the trailrunners might just do fine.

I have heard about the menstrual cup, but I don't know what to think of it honestly. Also, it looks super giant!

The backpack is an Osprey! It has a detachable daypack, so ideal for flights too as I can simply zip it off and take it with me inside the aircraft. It has just one giant space and can be opened up like a suitcase. Also, I can carry it horizontally, so I am pretty charmed by it!

I really want to check or Jakarta and Bogor since I have some roots from there. Would love to find out where my grandfather grew up etc. Also, I have heard that Yogyakarta is amazing, so I definitely want to check that out too. We are flying again from Bali, so I will need me some cool time there before we take off!

One of the things I also want to try out is learning how to surf, wondering if Indonesia could help me out with developing these skills!

Thank you so much again. I appreciate it a lot and you being excited for my trip only makes me smile! I started following you. Looking forward to your posts.

Argh, feet and travel, I can sympathise! Big cities in Indo are pretty hectic but having a reason to go and trace some family roots will be amazing. There are loads of places to learn to surf in Indo but think the east coast of Oz is the friendliest for that. I moved to Cape Town five years ago and have been 'learning to surf' for nearly three years. It's so damn difficult!
Have you considered scuba diving/snorkelling. That's the big draw to Indo for me as the underwater world is mind-blowing. Nusa Lembongan is a cool space to hang and you can get the ferry from Bali.
Will continue to connect with long replies with 'real' people. I'm new to all this and got pretty disheartened with trawling through a lot of mediocre content so it's super cool to actually find some great content to follow.
As for the menstrual cup.......I know what you mean.......hahaha but be brave it really is worth giving it a go for more travel freedom.

Yeah! I heard Jakarta is basically a bunch of traffic and filth, but you just gotta be there at some point!

And exactly. I am probably going to meet the family of his youngest sister who is still alive, so hopefully I will get to know more about them.

I haven't thought about scuba diving/snorkeling, but now you mention it - I would love to try out snorkeling! Never done it actually.

What else is to see there as Nusa Lembongan? I haven't heard of it before!

It really does trigger to connect more with someone actually. I love random and amazing conversations with Steemit strangers!

The cup though - you'd have to take it out and then get the bloody thing all over to the sink to rinse it out before putting it in again?

Haha. A cup is not for everyone but I spent three months in Madagascar and 9 weeks working in the field with no toilets or running water. The thought of leaving a tampon behind in a long drop or even worse, the whole you dig in the ground didn't was sort of against the marine conservation work we were trying to do but I'm guessing you're not going to be going anywhere quite as remote!

Nusa Lembongan is just a quick boat ride from Bali and has the most incredible coral reefs and marine life so you can snorkel all day. And it also has a little wave you can try your hand at surfing. There are some serious surf breaks too. And hiking the interior is pretty awesome. On Bali main island I's would highly recommend not spending long in Kuta or Sanur, they're just full of holiday makers rather than travellers, so maybe try heading up the coast to Padangbai and of course Ubud is a traveller favourite. Depending on how rogue you want to go one of my favourite places in Indo is called Bunaken island where there is nothing to do but eat, swim, snorkel, make new friends and stay with the locals.

That sounds a bit too far away from civilization for my taste and I don't think I will find myself in such situations - hopefully. I will scream! Haha!

Ooh, that sounds pretty amazing. I would love to try that out! Also I am really considering a GoPro or similar maybe.

I shall definitely add those to my list. It sounds pretty amazing! I just checked for the Bunaken Island, but it looks pretty far away from everthing else that we've planned so far, so not quite sure if we can make it to there :(

Good travel my friends
Success always for you @sjennon
I upvote and resteem

Hey there, it was nice to meet you at Steemfest. I remember your beautiful smile ;) Your travel plan sounds great. If you would like to have any recommendations forr nice places in New Zealand I can share some of my favorite spots with you. But I am shure you will discover yourself <3 Followed and Resteemed ;)

Hey @yoganarchista! Good to see you here :D

Haaa, why thank you!

I definitely would love to hear all your favorite spots. I can't get enough of all the recommendations and stories people share!

Also, I heard there was a Steemit meeting next week. You joining?

Yes there is one on tuesday at Bravo Bar. Me and @sature will definatly join :)

I will think about the spots and let you know. Are you coming to the meeting as well?

Planning to go to the meeting, yes! Looking forward to it :D

No camera !!!? Btw it's great you make a move... All the best with your travel, can't wait for regular posts from it .....

I currently do not own one, so all I will use is my phone to capture the moments. However, my friend will bring hers :)

Thank you so much! And me too :D

Yeah phone is so handy ! To be honest for my travels I use only phone.....

WHAT!! No way!

Bet your phone makes killer pictures though.

Just for you I'll do phone photography class on steem ;)

Yes please! That'd be amazing :D

Wow! I wish to travel too. Female traveler discord, Count me in !

Cool! Looking forward to seeing you there!

Ohh make a quick stop in Cambodia too ;) When will you be in Thailand btw... we are going end of feb ;) And best traveling tip is travel light.... laundry shops or bathroom sink everywhere... it's not fun to travel with heavy backpack ;)

I will be in Thailand end of January - probably sticking there for a month. From then on we will head to Malaysia. Cambodia is unfortunately not on my list ;; My friend just came from there before I fly over to Chiang Mai.

traveling tip is travel light

Yeah, definitely. This is one of the key things, but also one of the hardest to not to overpack!

You actually don't need a lot... camera, laptop, phone + power bank, Kindle, and good shoes are my travel essential. The rest you can find on the way hehe. Think we will be in Thailand end of feb.. who knows are paths may cross.

What kind of shoes do you have? I am looking towards Nike Free - I tried them on and they feel like clouds. Not so waterproof, but I guess feet will get soaked anyway if it rains.

For my second pair I was looking at some Adidas Terrex. Thoughts?

It would be great to bump into you - maybe we can have a Steemit Meetup in Thailand :D keep me updated!

That would be great... For SE-Asia I always buy a pair of walking sandals (like Teva) as shoes are so hot here and for jungle treks, I have some trekking shoes/boots which I bought in outdoor/trekking/camping/ etc shop in Belgium (AS Adventure). The important thing is that they are comfy... even if it doesn't rain shoes will be soaked with sweat hahaha.

even if it doesn't rain shoes will be soaked with sweat hahaha.

Yikes! This doesn't sounds nice haha. I guess due to the water resitancy, the shoe also remains wet? :l

So yeah, as mentioned I am planning to take my Birckenstocks - I walked through various Southern European cities in mid summer without a hassle!

Wow really ??? Good luuuuuck and have lots of fun!!! (waiting for the pictures - clearly !! :D )

Thank you so muuuuch. And yes! Me too hahah!