It Ain't Easy

in #travel7 years ago

With some last minute running around to do in town,

I didn't pull out of Terrace in northern British Columbia until almost 6pm Friday evening. I had hoped to make it to Prince George or a little further that first evening, but exhausted, I pulled into a motel in Burns Lake, a little town well short of Prince George. I would get an early start and be out of BC, across Alberta and maybe even into Saskatchewan before it got too dark on Saturday.

Five days of driving, and five thousand and three kilometers later, I pulled into my sister's driveway in southern Ontario. Canada is a BIG country!

That was yesterday.

I am still a little stressed and road weary. Although undoubtedly it would be a pleasant journey if one had weeks to do it and could stop and smell a couple of roses and take a few photos along the way. The landscape is varied and beautiful. Mountains, valleys, prairies, lakes, rivers, towns, villages and cities: but mostly miles and miles and miles of empty wilderness. And "Watch for Moose" or "Watch for Elk" or "Watch for Deer" crossing the road signs every few miles.

Somehow, I almost always seem to be in a hurry and facing some kind of deadline or other. Someday I want to make the trip when I can stop and spend a day or three wherever strikes my fancy. No more petal to the metal!

I did stop, for a few minutes, and just once, to take some photos. The name on the sign intrigued me:

OldWomanBayIMG_20170822_1356536.jpg

I'm glad I did stop that once! The panorama was fantastic (there were many, many, many others that were equally or more so, but as I said, a sign had caught my eye at this one) :-)

OldWoman2IMG_20170822_1357042.jpg

Oh, if only I could have stopped to set up a tent, start a campfire, and put a hot dog on a stick to roast over it. Why must heaven always wait?

despair-513529__340.jpg

OldWoman3IMG_20170822_1359460.jpg

OldWoman4IMG_20170822_1359492.jpg

I'll be back, some day this lifetime or next, with a tent, some kindling and some hot dogs!

Over and out,
@onceuponatime

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

I had to read your last post to get the context, I did recall that you had been in Greece. Under no circumstance can my husband read your last post (He wanted to name our son Maximus but I vetoed it, Ethan is fourteen now and it's been some time since the subject was brought up, I definitely do NOT want him him reminded lol!)
That's fantastic about your hip, but I hope your overall health is improved since you spoke about it.
I'm a huge fan of camping, I would also lament a journey through beautiful country without being able to linger and enjoy it.

The last time we bantered it became a music video conversation...my brother wrote a tribute for Chris Cornell that I recorded (we'd just come back from a brewery so it's not a perfect rendition, lol, but still pretty damn great- and my niece is just so freaking cute)

Wow! Nice beach without human beings! I mean, where do you get those these days! Do check out my blog and follow and resteem if you like it :) I recently travelled to Ladakh. Awesome place!

https://steemit.com/travel/@ashfreqk/ladakh-diaries

Cool. I have been through the Rohtang Pass into Lahoul and Spiti by motorcycle, but I never made it to Ladakh (despite a strong desire to do so!).

Oh wow! Yes riding a motorcycle on those roads is truly an adventure! The weather, the terrain and especially the riding experience! But let me tell you that going from Leh to Pangong Lake or Leh to Nubra Valley is an even tougher task, as the climate is more harsh and after all, Khardung La is THE HIGHEST MOTORABLE ROAD IN THE WORLD! If you go directly from Pangong to Nubra you take a difgerent route which is really beautiful and scenic... for a part of the journey you also ride through a landscape which looks like it was taken straight outta the old west cowboy movies! I think it would be worthwhile if you came back to India just to visit Nubra Valley too... I liked it even more than Pangong Lake! I have been to Manali and Rohtang too but Nubra is just pure and raw beauty 🙂 Unfortunately I don't have a DSLR or I would have captured some photos of Nubra at night... us, in the middle of the big valley and the Himalayas on all four sides... their peaks shimmer so brightly in the moonlight and you're really lucky if you get a cloudless sky... I saw many more stars there than I had ever seen anywhere else... I keep telling so much about this place to everyone I meet LOL 😅... But really the experience of staying the night there is just... indescribable ❤️

Camping is one of my most favourite activities during summer, you should always have a tint sitting around,especially when your are chewing miles by the thousand factor. Question, is that open sea or just a lake?

Lake Superior is a lake - but I would hardly call it "just a lake" :-)

Lake Superior is the largest of the Great Lakes of North America. The lake is shared by the Canadian province of Ontario to the north, the US state of Minnesota to the west, and Wisconsin and the Upper Peninsula of Michigan to the south. It is generally considered the largest freshwater lake in the world by surface area. It is the world's third-largest freshwater lake by volume and the largest by volume in North America.[6] The furthest north and west of the Great Lakes chain, Superior has the highest elevation and drains into the St. Mary's River.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Lake_Superior

Max. length
350 mi (560 km)[2]

Max. width
160 mi (260 km)[2]

Surface area
31,700 sq mi (82,100 km2)[1]

Average depth
483 ft (147 m)[1]

Max. depth
1,333 ft (406 m)[1][3]

Water volume
2,900 cu mi (12,000 km3)[1]

I'm on the shore of Lake Michigan right now, and yesterday we took a ferry to Washington Island and then another to Rock Island, which it off of the Door Peninsula. No vehicles or even bicycles are allowed on the island, and it is an amazing spot to go camping.... unfortunately we had many other matters to attend to, but I know how you feel.

[]

So, if "great minds think alike" I guess it is only natural that Great Hearts Feel Alike! :-)

hehe that is cute and beautiful =)>

old women bay

Beautiful journey and, especially "pit-stop"in Old Woman Bay!

Thanks for sharing, it brought back many memories of my multiple crossings of Canada, including the marathon three and a half day trip from southern Georgian Bay area... Memories!

Glad you made it in one piece, you almost make me wish I had done the trip with you! Namaste :)

Yes bro you are correct

Amazing country....yes, you should have stopped to smell the roses...and eat a hot dog or two...there may not be a second chance....

Congratulations @onceuponatime!
Your post was mentioned in the hit parade in the following categories:

  • Comments - Ranked 9 with 125 comments
  • Pending payout - Ranked 10 with $ 239,55

It's funny how life works @onceuponatime... even those of us who have deliberately chosen a path of independence (for me, through self-employment) seem to end up either being in a hurry, or wishing we could stop and just take some "unscheduled" time to explore.

A couple of years ago, my wife and I went back to my native Denmark for three weeks... and very deliberately had "no plan." The trip was significant because it marked the first time in almost 20 years we'd taken more than a couple of days to "do nothing." We didn't have to visit anyone; we didn't have to see something, or do something... and we weren't traveling with others who had a schedule. Frankly, it was an amazing experience... and-- getting back to the context here-- a reminder that we often spend so much of our lives rushing around.

Old Woman Bay looks like one of those spots where you can just set up camp and feel your feet reconnect with the earth below... let the eternal rush melt away.

Hi @onceuponatime, I just stopped back to let you know your post was one of my favourite reads and I included it in my Steemit Ramble. You can read what I wrote about your post here.

I appreciate your effort, but did not upvote your post because you consistently referred to me as "she" and "her" when, last time I turned my conscious attention on the matter, I was still standing up to pee :-)

I'm often referred to as 'man', 'dude', 'he', 'bro' etc and I sit down. I survive it and so will you :)

You, like me, have a name that doesn't convey gender.

Ah, and you have assumed my photo avatar is fake news like most other things?

it's a default avatar.. why would i notice it

I know what you mean @onceuponatime I would love to have the time to stop more often take pictures or just enjoy a small area for longer as you drive up to somewhere. As for the old woman bay I believe there is a cliff that does look like a face I think you have to walk around to see it, either that or someone was pulling my leg.

I love Prince George!
I have spent quite a bit of time in BC. Sure hope you get some free time to rest and sink into the moments of peace and beauty!

Wow. I'm not fond of Prince George at all! The smell from the mills can be really bad.

But that is where I used to go for my ayahuasca sessions, so the city does hold some nostalgia for me.

But mostly I tend to drive right through Prince George without stopping.

hahaha yes I know what you mean but for me it is a special place as I have had many beautiful experiences there....Just goes to show that beauty is in the eye of the beholder.

Thanks for responding. Comments on Steemit are so blasé these days....

SteemON!

Are you ever scared of running into bears? I've heard it can be quite cruel...

They could make a movie about me: "Dances with Bears" :-)

Haha, I'd love to watch it!

damm that looks like a long travel but you will definitely enjoy the moments for sure and will cherish for life :D BTW amazing Shots you are a PRO !

It's sometimes more beautiful when we stop in a place and we found an unespected beauty, it's something we'll hardly forget! Great place!

Yes, Canada is a BIG country! And is Beautiful!.... as long as you don't get stuck in the traffic on 401/403, QEW or other HWY in the southern Ontario..... ;)

Those very words awaken horror in my soul(401/403, QEW, etc.)!

For the time being .....that horror is my reality......and these traffics are getting worst with each day!!

thx for this story... Canada is indeed big if you drove that many miles... If I drive 3 hours in my country I am from one end to the other end. How long do you stay? and when are you going back to greece?

I will be in southern Ontario for about another week, then fly back to Terrace in British Columbia (I have given my car to my sister). I will hang out in Terrace until I am legally allowed to go back to Greece (either 6 months after I left in July or when I get a residency permit - whichever is sooner).

Nice. So you really want to settle in greece. Go for it..Good not to think About it but act..

“A man of knowledge lives by acting, not by thinking about acting. ”
― Carlos Castaneda

Thx for this info.. didn't know.. but yeahh it's true. Allthough sometimes you also must act when you don't have all the knowledge.. people who want to know everything up front also don't act.. In holland we say you need GBV ( gezond boeren verstand) can't really translate it but is something like. healty simple knowledge.

I just came back from camping too!

Let's get you !originalworks stamp of approval!

@OriginalWorks Mention Bot activated by @unprovoked. The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @onceuponatime to be original material and upvoted it!

OW2.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

For more information, Click Here!

Camping out is an experience of its own away from all the worries of life. Hopefully you will be back with all you need one day as you put it :P and very beautiful seaside view you have.

awesome post the sea photos are so beautiful we are wating nyour next post ,im sure it will be amazing thank you resteemed

Wow! Amazing photos! I like traveling so much, even its made me tired especially when the road so long, but when you visited such a nice place of nature, and you smell fresh air, the fatigue will be a joyful.

the place looks amazing indeed - and one has to stop and just watch around and have some rest for his thougths, sometimes!
I've never been in Canada. Thinking about the distances and the wilderness you handle there is somehow hard, from a little and crowded place like Italy ;)

@onceuponatime guess Im slightly late to bring this piece of your writing up, but it is amazing!
Beautifully written and thought out, really liked it!
Looking forward to more....

Wow that's a long time in a car!! Did you get into any traffic on the way to Southern Ontario?

looks like u had fun ! :)
hope to see more post like that, i followed you ! :)

hope to see ya around mate ! :) take care

Cheers !

Very nice. I live on the other side of that pond. Always looking for retirement ideas.

Wow! That place is a great spot to de-stress and only think of the positive things. The view alone gives a relaxing feeling, great shots :)

great town and beauty landscap thanks for this information ^_^

WoW Great post
thank you

Great Post
thank you for sharing
upvote

very informative, thank you

Wow excellent post!

once again a nice post @onceuponatime ...last time also ur post was good regarding ur trip to grece and stay and again coming back from greece to your hometown .....

This one is also a good and well described.....but what fascinates me a lot from this post is the concluding remark which is ........"I'll be back, some day this lifetime or next, with a tent, some kindling and some hot dogs!"

Thanks a lot...steem on & stay blissful...

This post received a 1.5% upvote from @randowhale thanks to @sthitaprajna! For more information, click here!

a very amazing place. Do you have a professional camera?

I have a Blackberry Priv cell phone for picture taking:

https://ca.blackberry.com/smartphones/priv-by-blackberry/overview

Privoriginal.png

The PRIV camera is engineered to deliver professional looking photos with minimal effort. With an 18 MP dual-flash camera, certified by Schneider-Kreuznach, it integrates technologies commonly found in professional DSLR cameras.

Wow, perfect a cell phone. Good MP

Travelling is enjoying life and you are doing great . I enjoyed the photos .

Seems to be an Heaven in the Earth! Watching your pics I understand why many artists were inspired by this place!
The name of the bay is really nice and intrigued myself too, but maybe just because I'm an old woman ^_^

The Old Woman Beach which is mostly alive, so beautiful one.
The dark blue water and the light blue sky, that combo is too good though.
Mobile photography right?
whatever you just take some great capture in here.

Hey @onceupontime good to see you after longtime. Humans are and can be storytellers. But when you comes to writing a good story, we may feel stumped, even if you have a vivid imagination and a million great ideas. You were write a good story, you have to get inspired, develop your content, and then revise your work until you've written the best story.
Big thumbs up

That beach looks so beautiful... wild and tranquil at the same time.

There are many beaches in Canada that can rival some of the best in Greece. Unfortunately, it is usually not warm enough to enjoy them :-)

Glad to hear you made your epic drive safely.. :) Now get some much-needed rest! :)

Thanks. I regret that we couldn't meet up in Winnipeg - kind of, Winnipeg is not my favorite city, but would have been nice anyway. Now, Manitou hot springs in Saskatchewan, if you have an extra day to soak in the mineral waters, that's the place for a meetup!

Yeah, I'm indifferent about Winnipeg, although they do throw a pretty good folk festival every year! As it is, I'm still in the thick of moving out, and preparing for the trip, so it would have been a stretch anyhow... imagine us both road weary and nonplussed by our surroundings in Winnipeg.. lol! Manitou hot springs in Saskatchewan sounds great, and Greece should be even better!

Beautiful shots of nature. Yes, it is important to take time to relax and enjoy. Yes, Canada is a big country and there is a lot to see. Hope you were able to enjoy that even as you made the journey. Thank you for sharing these.

Upvoted!

It is annoying when things don't go to plan but sometimes I guess it is meant to be. Sometimes the most greatest things happen by accident without us ever planning or intending it to happen.

I've been to Canada a couple of times and it is a pretty beautiful and diverse in landscape. It probably has to do with how big it is but you do have some large mountains as well as low valleys.

Old Woman Bay is a pretty intriguing name haha. However, this nice secluded place looks absolutely beautiful. It would be amazing just to set up a tent and maybe have a little barbeque @onceuponatime :)

Thanks @onceuponatime for the share. The places of Burns Lake and Prince George bring back a lot of memory when I did my student teaching at Prince George one summer. Upvoted and followed.

Nothing like going out exploring finding a beauty spot and setting up camp for the night! I'm BC born but lived in Alberta my whole life, would love to get out to the east coast and explore the rest of our beautiful country one day. Enjoy the trip.

I agree Canada is very big so much to see if we could just slow down and enjoy all the beautiful provinces. That would be nice to stop off with a tent at each province what an experience that would be

Nice post. And yes, Canda is big. So far I reach to Penticton West and Loydminister East. Don't laugh, please. Eventually, I'll go further.

I stayed in Lloydminster a night this trip (the Saskatchewan side).

Gas is cheaper on that side too. What your new hip have to say about such a long trip?

It's not speaking to me. I think that I might have offended it :-)

@onceuponatime,
You said "Five days of driving, and five thousand and three kilometers"! OMG that's really stressful driving for me!
Then came to the funniest part! The photo you have taken the banner of "OLD WOMAN BAY". That photo told me why they gave that name to the bay :D

Anyway, nice photography and Canada is a big country and most of the nature beauties are hidden there! Thanks for sharing such great traveling experiences with us! Really appreciate your effort!

Cheers~

Hmm, Old Woman Bay...like the seasoning? 🤓

Sounds like you might be talking about something local to your area? or at least outside of my experience. The "seasoning"?

Yeah there is a seasoning in the US called Old Bay...

There are 3 pages
Pages