[Portugal Adventure] HELLO LISBON! I'm here and ready to explore! [feat. How to avoid a big disappointment]

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

Hi Fellow Steemians

Today was my first full day in Lisbon and I had a blast! It feels like I have so much more to explore of the city and the three days that I am here doesn't feel like it'll be enough to cover everything.

On the other hand, the weather is so good! At first, I was hesitant about coming to Portugal because I heard that it rains a lot in winter, but I'm happy to be wrong! The weather was so bright and sunny today that I regretted not bringing my sunglasses!

Come check out what I did on my first day down below :)


Kiku Sushi

Now if you've been following me for a while, you would know that I can't start my daily adventure without a filling breakfast and where better to get such a meal than at an all you can eat sushi buffet! @kellykim found the place in a blog she was reading and I'm so happy she found it!

Happy with the choices!

The meal was 10.90 euros for the lunch buffet and it had such a wide variety of sushi to choose from! Be ready for a barrage of some delicious sushi!

I practically rolled away from this meal after eating so much.
Note: I didn't know this but a lot of places here only take cards that are related to Portuguese banks so have some cash handy!

Praca do Comercio

After rolling out of the restaurant we went to check out the waterfront we saw while we were headed to Kiku Sushi. Now this is where I really wish I had my sunglasses. It was so bright that I had to keep my eyes squinted the whole time! There was no shade and the ground was white so it was like I was in a world full of mirrors that reflected bright light.

It was still nice to be next to the water though. One of the biggest reasons I came to Portugal was to enjoy the beachfront that I can't get in Munich and this was a perfect place to enjoy it.

Here's a picture I took for @kellykim!

Belem District

After having a walk around the area we got on the tram from the stop right next to the Praca do Comercio. It was a tight fit and it was a 30 min right all the way to the Belem District. There were a lot of famous structures here and the area was given the status of a UNESCO heritage site a while back. The majority of the buildings were white with a lot of intricate details that gave the building it's own unique feeling. We were so lucky to have such bright and sunny weather because it really brought out the beauty of the buildings!

Peekaboo!

So bright I could barely open my eyes

Pastieis de Belem

Okay this might be the secret reason why we went to the Belem district. This shop sells egg tarts and they're really really famous for the taste. The line for the shop went back for around 15 metres or so. But, its worth the wait!!!!! This is by far the best egg tart I've had during my time here in Portugal. It practically melts in your mouth as you bite into it. A must go while you're here, 100%!

LOOK AT THIS LINE!

Practically gold

Santa Justa lift

This is what I referred to in the title regarding a big disappointment. The Santa Justa lift is a big lift in the middle of the city. It's been there for almost a hundred years and it's original design has been left mostly intact. Now, to take the elevator up you have to pay a little over 5 euros. To me this felt like a total ripoff. The whole ride is literally about 2 min and the view you get while going up was not exciting at all.

BUT, if you really want to go on the lift, I suggest you buy the 24hr pass around Lisbon on your Viva viagem card because the lift will be FREE! But, really its nothing all that exciting.

The inside of the lift

The control for the lift

Where you tap on for the lift

View once you get off the lift

Some bonus beautiful houses


I'll end my post of my first day here, but be sure to check in tomorrow for my day trip out of Lisbon! If you've been to Lisbon before then you probably know where I'm headed ;)


UPVOTE | FOLLOW | COMMENT

I'm @peterkkim96 and as always, THANKS FOR YOUR SUPPORT!

Sort:  

hey!!! that was a bunch of cool pics!!!! thank you for sharing and I hope that one day soon I get to go to Portugal myself :)

Glad you enjoyed them!
So far Portugal has treated me very well, I hope that you get to check out Portugal for yourself soon :)

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=peterkkim96
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=portugal-adventure-hello-lisbon-i-m-here-and-ready-to-explore-feat-how-to-avoid-a-big-disappointment


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

That´s my country, you should visit Porto as soon as you can, it was considered the the best city of 2017.

I just came from Porto actually!
If you'd like to see what I said about it feel free to check out my earlier posts :)
I really really enjoyed Porto and I think it deserves that title!