The end of the road - we're closing down 🥹

in #travel14 days ago

The end of Pinmapple 🥹

Hello dear travelers on Hive, @martibis here. Today I am here to share some sad news. We've decided to shut @pinmapple down. It's been a long and super rewarding journey both for the team and the travel community on Hive, but at this point as a team we feel we're burned out on the project and want to focus on other aspects of our lives. After curating travel content each day for 7 years, this is of course not entirely unexpected. The fact we have been at it this long speaks to how much we do love (and still love) the project and the entire Hive travel community that has come into existence around it. As a team, we're super grateful to all of you who have ever pinned a pin on @pinmapple. The project could never have been what it is without all of you. ❤️

What we as a community have achieved

  • Total Pins: 114,030 (it's pretty crazy there are more than hundred-thousand pins on the map)
  • Featured Posts: 32,971 (these have been highlighted by the curation team!)
  • Total Users: 5,459 (this is all of you)

image.png

You can zoom anywhere in the world and find a post by one of you. Pretty incredible.

Details of closing down

We'll pull the plug early June, and stop curating end of May. This means there will be no more #traveldigest from the end of May and the domain https://pinmapple.com will no longer show any pins. The Discord will be deleted and the community on Hive will no longer be moderated. That said, we would love for someone to carry on the torch under a different brand name. So I'll take some time to update the open source code base + make a back up of our database as well (for the devs here, it might be worth working together with a HAF provider). With regards to our DHF proposal. It would be appreciated if current voters could leave their vote up until mid June, after which I will close down the proposal myself.

A brief timeline of @pinmapple

Opensource technical stack

Pinmapple: the main application users interact with
Fastcurate: our internal curation tool (allows for making a selection for daily digest + auto posts / votes the final curation to the Hive blockchain)
Haveyoubeenhere: a standalone mobile application that integrates with Hive / Pinmapple

  • Pinmapple: NextJS front-end
  • Pinmapple: NodeJS back-end
  • Pinmapple: Automated pin detection (NodeJS + HiveSQL)
  • Pinmapple: MySQL DB (incl. current data)
  • Fastcurate: NextJS front-end
  • Fastcurate: NodeJS back-end
  • Haveyoubeenhere: flutter front-end
  • Haveyoubeenhere: NodeJS back-end
  • Haveyoubeenhere: MySQL DB

Please note no GitHub URLs are posted yet as I want to entirely refactor the opensource repositories to make it easier for others to carry on the Pinmapple mission. In a follow up post these will be shared too.

Last but absolutely not least

A big thank you to the curation team. @livinguktaiwan without whom the project would've never lasted as long as it did. @choogirl for literally being there from the very start. @lizanomadsoul for curating & a lot of shared travel memories and @ybanezkim26 as the latest curation member and being a genuinely kind soul.

Goodbye @pinmapple see you all in another chapter

pinmapple.png
Our pinmapple mascot only has these cool happy vibes because of all of you. Thank you.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

As a user from the first second of Pinmapple, I like to keep #Pinmapple alive.

What are the monthly costs?
Who knows the code?
Is there a repo?

Damn, let us talk!!

I'm in too. Not being a developer, I guess I can still be of help. The show must go on.

Nikdy nic nikdo nemá míti za definitivní...

Nebylo to někam jinam? Nějak to nezapadá do kontextu.

Nic důležitého.

We must keep this alive.

Same here, I would love to contribute.
Let's make a team and see if there is anything that can be done.

It seems it will stay alive - we did first talks and we are working to get all into new hands to keep the pins and all other

This is good news! I hope it will stay afloat!

Pinmapple has literally been my life since I started on the chain, and I have gained and learnt so much by being part of the team. It was a very hard decision to make but sadly one that had to be done. Thanks to everyone for making my Pinmapple journey so memorable

!LUV

livinguktaiwan, duvinca sent you LUV. 🙂 (2/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

It has been one of my greatest achievements to be part of the curation team. I thought I could go on curating travel posts until I can't do it anymore, but such is life. Changes are inevitable, may it be abrupt or gradual. Thank you all for imparting your energies to this community.

!LUV

ybanezkim26, duvinca sent you LUV. 🙂 (3/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

What a crazy, great, and long journey with all of you traveling around the globe with us every day for over 7 years! Thanks @pinmapple community for sharing your experiences, your travels, and your thoughts with us. Thanks @everyone for taking us with you! And thanks team: @livinguktaiwan @choogirl @ybanezkim26 for the steady and great work curating the posts every day. Thanks also to @blocktrades @theycallmedan @gtg @detlev and all the other whales and community leaders supporting us! - without you, this journey would have been over long before now.

It was a hard decision and of course, we are also sad about it. I am very honored to be part of this international team - I will miss you guys <3. Of course, we would love it, if someone took over the project and kept it alive. I am happy to help - Who knows, the biggest lesson I´ve learned on my travels is: Anything is possible

!LUV

lizanomadsoul, duvinca sent you LUV. 🙂 (4/10) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

I'm sorry to hear that :-(

Tech side of things should be easy to keep running and I think I can help with that. Also I think it shouldn't be that hard to renovate it to be a HAF based app on the backend. I'm looking forward for code & docs.

What's the hard part is the users and curators engagement.

it's still in our incubation, I'm sure there's some other community curators who'd be up for helping out if the original ones are burnt out, etc. It'd be important to keep this project alive imo.

Sad news, but looks like a very practical and healthy decision by the team. The fact that it is on the blockchain and code is open source means that all of your hard work for so many years does not have to go to waste if another team is ready to continue working on it as you suggested. My thanks to you and your team for your wonderful work all these years. Thank you very much.

We had a great run thanks to everyone's support over the years

Amazing work to the whole team. Pinmapple has been a wonderful part of my Hive experience. Thanks to @livinguktaiwan, @choogirl, @lizanomadsoul, @ybanezkim26 for your recognition and support!

It's been our pleasure to have you on Pinmapple @sjarvie5 , thanks!

This is really unexpected for me, today I have just published in my favorite community, but as an administrator of a small community tattoo world, I know the work and responsibility they had all these years, an impeccable job.

Thanks to this community I found great people that I feel are my friends, who I respect, admire and love very much @livinguktaiwan, @lizanomadsoul, @choogirl, @ybanezkim26 and @martibis 🥲🥰😘🫠🤗

I hope your new projects are as successful as @pinmapple, I send you all a hug and I say goodbye with a mixture of emotions. I can only end by saying thank you.

Thanks @soyunasantacruz you keep up the great work with your community!

Thanks for your kind words <3

One of the most popular and iconic projects ever created on Hive. Our blockchain will never be the same without you guys but I totally understand your motives. Thank you so much for everything, it was en epic ride. The travel community that centered around Pinmapple was my favorite place on Hive. Thanks again, you will be missed and never forgotten.

@tipu curate 3

Thanks so much for your support @phortun , we couldn't have done it without amazing people like you

That's a real shame. I hope someone else will take it on. At least they have all the data on the blockchain to make use of. We have that advantage over closed platforms.

It's was a tough decision to make, but one we felt best for the team

Thank you to the entire Pinmapple team. This is by far my favorite project on Hive. You guys have brought so much value to the platform and it is sad to see it being shut down.

We're overwhelmed by the support from everyone here, and goes to show our effort didn't wasn't for nothing

This made me sad. This community was the very first that inspired me to travel more 😥. But this won't stop me either in traveling 😁
Hope curators will remain supportive to community members even without TD... Thanks for the opportunity you've given us. It was a worthwhile journey with the pinmapple team.

Good luck with whatever project you'll have in the future. Pinmapple was a success.

Don't stop traveling, you've built up a strong account and we're sure will continue get good support on hive

Very sad to read this, as Pinmapple was one of the very few aspects of engaging with the Hive blockchain which kept me going, through the challenge of answering (of myself) my oft-asked question - "What are you doing in there?"

For the rest of the Hive blockchain ...

"That said, we would love for someone to carry on the torch under a different brand name."

... it will be interesting for them to find out if anyone steps up to this challenge. Big shoes to fill! 🫡

We've have really enjoyed reading your RLT posts, thanks for sharing them on Pinmapple

Feeling sad as a general user, I loved #Pinmapple from where the unseen world could be explored. It is time to transfer the project to other users, especially some devs, as I have no knowledge regarding coding and background processing, otherwise, I would be very happy to run the project. If anyone is ready to opt in I am with them as a volunteer to keep the great show on in the Hive Blockchain.
I really want to thank @livinguktaiwan , @choogirl , @lizanomadsoul and @ybanezkim26 for their hard work throughout these years. I know how strong devotion is needed to be so punctual and so regular in preparing the #travel digest every day!
I hope the community lasts forever with our efforts. We will have a good team again to run the project.

Thanks for your kind words. It's been great reading your posts from China, we don't get too many of them

Wow... 😕 I can only thank the @pinmapple team for everything, I have participated in the community since the beginning and it has been an amazing experience, hopefully the torch will be taken.

I wish success to all the curators who accompanied us on this journey! 👏🏻❤️

It has been a pleasure hosting your great travel posts, thanks for your support

🙂❤️

Sad to see you close it down, really enjoyed a central base to find posts of interest around the world. Big thanks to @livinguktaiwan @lizanomadsoul @choogirl @pinmapple for all your curations, through this I have met some great people to chat to. Good luck to you all for the future big hugs from @grindle

We have enjoyed our journey on the chain and are very glad that we've bought the community together thru Pinmapple

Damn. That's a shame. Sorry to see you go. It was a great feature and support on Hive and will be missed by many I'm sure

It was a pleasure to host your awesome content, they were a great read. Thanks for being a part of Pinmapple

It comes with a shock and sadness as Pinmapple was one of my favourite projects since the Steemit era.

Thank you so much for letting us use your platform and able to "place a pin on the map" with our adventures. It made me really think about how to write and introduce the place I visited / review with a deeper thought (since it is on blockchain anyways)

Really hope that there will be another team to take on the torch that lights the way for anyone who wants to travel and got some honest reviews from locals and patrons, so that all your heart-work and dedication on this wonderful project is not in vain.

Pinmapple is truly unique on the chain, there's nothing else like us and we're so glad that so many users have been with us from the beginning of our journey

This made me sad as pinmapple was one of my favorite communities out there. If only I have the time to continue the legacy, I would. 😣
Thanks for everything pinmapple team! You have done a very fantastic job! It’s going to be lonely without you all, but yes, we must move on and grow in life.
Thanks again!

Thanks for your support @wittyzell it has been an amazing journey for us and we're so happy that so many people have travelled with us

Thank you too! I really hope someone is going to continue the legacy! Good luck everyone in the pinmapple team!

You can be the new dev and continue managing Pinmapple hehe . It's a waste actually. I love the map... I hope someone out there can continue it.

Ohh it's sad news for all travelers, for all hive community and for me personally. Of course Inot so often pinned places on pinemapple but I used it. And I should to say that it's really great and beloved project which will stay in our hearts forever!

Thanks for pinning on Pinmapple and your support

Thank you very much @pinmapple team, @livinguktaiwan, @choogirl, @ybanezkim26, and @lizanomadsoul!

One of the best communities at Hive. Sad to say goodbye.

Thanks again for everything you have done!

Thanks for your lovely comment, without blowing our own trumpet, we think we're definitely the best travel community on Hive

awww..., I loved Pinmapple! THANK YOU for such a fun, useful, and interesting tool! 💛

Thanks so much @thekittygirl, we all had a great time on Hive and loved the interaction with the community

Oh no! My Hive journey would be incomplete without Pinmapple. Sad to hear the news, I wanted to put so many more pins. Hopefully, someone picks up the project right from here.

!LUV the work you all did! Thank you for all the memories.

pinmapple, pravesh0 sent you LUV. 🙂 (1/4) tools | trade | connect | wiki | daily

Made with LUV by crrdlx.

Thanks for your support , we appreciate it!

Awww dang. I totally understand. It is a lot of your personal time to give and give and give and give. But I am so sad. Pinmapple has always been my fave.

Thank you for all you have done for hive, for the travel community and for curating a few posts of mine over the years. It always felt like a BIG win to get featured on the map.

🩷 🍍 🗺️ 📍

Thanks for your kind words @dfinney, we just felt it was the right time and hopefully we can leave on a high

Sad, but that's life. Nothing lasts forever.
Thanks for your work and the opportunity to write some articles under the #pinmapple tag.

Guess all good things must come to an end, thanks

Unfortunately, all good things are short-lived

Ah, one of my favourite communities on hive. Never thought about this, but I can understand as it would be difficult for you too to take this decision.

More power to you with your future plans.

It certainly was a hard decision to make, and am glad the community supports us

The project will be missed. Thanks for the energy and dedication you put into it.

Thanks so much for your kind words, we appreciate it

Thank you so much to Pinmapple and his team for everything. It was a really great team. I am really sad that this project has come to an end.
I wish you continued success.

Thanks @bilgin70 !

Has been my favourite project on Hive. Thanks for your work!

We've been overwhelmed by the support from everyone, thanks so much

I feel so sad seeing you go:( but I totally understand. Congratulations on your success and God bless for future projects you will have.

Thanks for your support

Thank you @pinmapple for the wonderful travel digest!😍 It's a beautiful ride! To the incredible souls of the curation team, thank you for making my Hive journey as colorful as it is. You taught me to be grateful and proud of my simple travel blog through your genuine support. 😌

The news breaks my heart.💔 But still, congratulations Pinmapple for your seven years of success! Wish you the best in your next endeavor po!💚

We have enjoyed travelling with you in the Philippines, thanks so much for that

Best of luck in your future endeavors. Guess i'll get back to posting about cats.

Cats and travel? 😀

This is really sad. Thank you very much, @pinmapple team for all the hard work.

We appreciate you sharing your travels with us, thanks for that

It has been a great pleasure to make many of my publications here and they have helped me very, very much. I am very sad about this decision but I understand.
Pinmapple has been a great success and I say many congratulations for that.❤️

We're glad that we have been able to support you and help you grow your account, best wishes going forward

I hope someone can follow this wonderful community even if it is under another name, the quality of what is published here is not found anywhere else. The best Hive community! Hug!❤️

This is sad news. @pinmapple is the best community for food and travel blogs

We have to agree with you there! ☺️

Oh friends, this is sad news, love to anchor my posts to the map. I wish you all the best and thank you very much for all the effort you put into this project.

It has been a pleasure curating your content

So sad to know.

We appreciate your thoughts

Thank you.😊

Thank you so much for making your community an important part of my growth at Hive. I wish you the greatest success in the world and hope we meet again soon....

💔😟.

We're so glad that we helped to grow your account on Hive, hope your growth will continue

I'm sad to hear such a cool project is approaching its end. I express, like others who commented, the hope that someone will be able to take over.

Thanks a lot for your kind words

Wow, this one came out of the blue! I totally understand your motivation though. Than you for all the years of dedicated service to the community. I only have some 200 pins in the map, yet I enjoyed writing down every single post.

It was hell of a ride! Thanks!

The tram thought long and hard about it, and felt it was for the best
200 pins is pretty impressive!!

Indeed Sad News for all hivers and travelers... my Hive hive journey would be incomplete without the #pinemapple community, It is always fun and exciting to share the travel journey and pinned the places of India...

'm sure, going to missed #pinmapple , it is saddest Good bye to one of best community of hive, May you come Back soon.. 😞😞

It has been a blast for us reading and curating so many awesome posts from around the world, thanks for your contribution

Going to me miss you for sure 😐

Oh so sorry to hear. I'm a member of the @pinmapple family who has been inspired to write and hang out at the hive every day. I can't think of where to post my travel posts now. I am really feeling very sad and don't know where to post now. Well, you guys must have taken the decision after careful consideration and I respect that. Hope pinmapple team will now focus on their life.

Thanks for your services, I will remember you in every travel post.

Just keep posting, the Pinmapple community on Hive will still be there, just unmoderated. The community has a good reputation of good solid content we're sure other curators will continue to look there when curating

Still fully active, you all will be greatly missed. Yes I will post. You guys have really worked hard in the last 7 years. We hive friends keep talking only about you.

Great success. Congratulations 🎉🎉

Oh no, this is sad.

We know, and we're sad to be closing down, but felt it was for the best

This is really sad sad news 😔
I decided to go Peshawar to visit forts and then I was thinking that I will post in pinmapple as my diary but now 😢

We're still curating till the end of the month, be quick!

It's a heartbreaking news for us whom genuinely adore this community wherein we can share our travel blogs. Hopefully, there's someone will carry the torch even in another brand name. You will always be remembered Mr. Pinmapple ❣️🥹

Thanks so much for your lovely comment, we appreciate it

It's a shame - I loved learning a lot about other cities and countries!

We did as well, and we're sure the rest of the community did, thanks for your support

Sad news… ☹️
Thank you to the whole @pinmapple team for all you have done 😎 over these years!

Thanks @littlebee4 , it's been a pleasure curating you in the past

You are welcome 😊
Thanks a lot, I appreciated it a lot

This is so sad. This has been a great community for me seeing and reading different travel all around the world.

I'm sure there are many like you who have enjoyed the virtual travels around the world, thanks for making the journey with us

There are 2 pages
Pages