Do Oz #6 - A continuation of my previous series. 12,000 kilometre Road Trip #1.

in #travel5 years ago (edited)

G'day,

A couple of years ago when I first started on Steemit, I did a few posts titled "Do Oz"...

Well, I stumbled across an old Photo Album which made me think I should re-start the series and share some of the adventures we used to get up to.
Who knows.......it might even inspire somebody to get out and have a look around the Great Land of OZ one day??

The main photo above is an old map of Australia that I framed with some old timber. Every time we did a road trip we would mark it on the map and sometimes add an old photo as well.
(some of the drawn in lines have faded a bit but you can see we have covered a lot of Oz by road)

Here's another photo of the map showing the whole wall and some of the historic things I collect.

Anyway, back to the point of this post!

In early 1990 we were living in Perth, Western Australia and we decided to plan and do an "Epic" road trip - it would be 12,000 kilometres, averaging 2,000 kilometres per week!!
It took huge amounts of planning and preparation but by the end of March we were ready to go (remember, there was no internet, no GPS, no smart phones back then)

My Wife and I both took 6 weeks off work at the end of April and off we headed........north into the warmer weather!!
Just the 2 of us with our trusty dog, Blade in our old Toyota 4WD.


(Please note: I have to take photos of the old ones as we only have hard copies in the photo album)

To finish off this 1st post on the trip, here's a pic of the hand drawn cover page we made for the photo album.
I hope you enjoy the story and follow to see the whole trip as I post them!!

Sort:  

No Comments???

I've only been back on Steemit for about a week now after 1 year's absence.

It's easy enough to get votes but does anybody actually read quality posts anymore?

I wonder? Please let me know.

Straight back into bidbots then? Lol..yeah it's quiet around here. Some of still make effort though!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, did a couple of post experiments - one just plain - one with bid bots - one with resteem bots.
Basically not much response - I don't think anybody reads posts anymore?
I'll persevere until I use up all my SBD and then just leave it on autopilot with my delegation to minnowbooster.
Most of the people I follow haven't posted for 6 months or more.
It's a shame but I guess that's the way it is now.

They do, but you just have to reconnect and be part of engagement communities, that's all. Things will pick up when crypto does!

Posted using Partiko Android

Ah awesome @plumey .. I'm going to go again next year. It'll be different to 1996 when I had no husband and a 76.Toyota corolla lol!

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @plumey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 70 posts. Your next target is to reach 80 posts.
You received more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey here @lizanomadsoul swinging by.
Wow, you are making great travel posts. It would be nice to see one of those linked to our map one day so we can feature them and upvote your post :)

Go to Steemitworldmap
Click the code slider at the bottom
Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
Copy and paste the generated code in your post
Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Cool - I did it - great feature.

Nice :) Also looking forward to the next ones.

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=plumey
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=do-oz-6-a-continuation-of-my-previous-series-12-000-kilometre-road-trip-1


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!