Monkeys at the Temple from My Trip to Nepal

in #travel7 years ago

These adorable little monkeys were everywhere and had no fear of the people around at all. I had the chance to feed them and they came right up to me.

Fair warning though, the temple known most for its monkeys is Pashuphati, but I found the monkeys there to be aggressive. It seemed that everyone that had been there and Kathmandu locals all had a story of having there purse/food stolen from a tricky monkey or some other fiesty interaction with one of them. I found swayambhu to have more "family friendly" monkeys if that makes any sense. The monkeys were smaller and kinder. Regardless, I highly recommend making the trip out there to the rooftop of the world that is Nepal.

image.jpeg

Sort:  

I noticed the difference too. Maybe Hindu monkeys are different to Buddhist monkeys. LOL. But Buddhist monkeys will steal too if they get chance. I was living in Himachel Pradesh (mainly Buddhist area) when a troup of monkeys invaded our balcony. I was so glad the windows had bars on them.
I had a brown paper bad of playing dice on the window sill. One of the females looked at it, then looked at me, I yelled "HEY!!" which was a useless thing to do. She looked at the bag then at me again, and grabbed it and took off. When she realised they weren't food she tossed them. They weren't easy to replace, so I had to hunt in drains and everywhere for them. Lots of stairs and levels. But I got them all back. We reorganised the window sill situation after that... :-D I have a video of a baby monkey chasing pigeons at the monkey temple I will tag you when I upload it.

Please do tag me- I'm actually really excited to see that :D I was careful about getting my phone too close to them, wouldn't want them to swoop in and grab it from me to trade it for some of my food and about the temples- that would be a cool thing to study and compare between the monkeys...

These are some cool monkeys! Visiting Nepal would be very fun.

I would so love to go to neap. Those are some adorable monkey.

You really should try to make it out there! The stay there is pretty inexpensive, but it is one of the most beautiful places.

Congratulations @preeinatree! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!