A Visit to Dakshineswar Kali Temple - Kolkata

in #travel6 years ago

On this short visit to #Kolkata I had nothing planed and was exhausted, as I had been traveling non stop for the past 3 days. As soon as I arrived in Kolkata it was time to hunt for a room to stay. I managed to find a nice and well priced room at Georgian Inn. Now It was the time for me to take some rest.

The Next day I decided to visit the Kali Temple in Dakshineswar. Uber ride from the guest house to the temple took almost 1 hour and 45 mins. The traffic was horrendous, but was worth it.

IMG_20180428_122940.jpg

Kali is the Hindu goddess of death, time, and doomsday and is often associated with sexuality and violence but is also considered a strong mother-figure and symbolic of motherly-love. Kali also embodies shakti - feminine energy, creativity and fertility - and is an incarnation of Parvati, wife of the great Hindu god Shiva. She is most often represented in art as a fearful fighting figure with a necklace of heads, skirt of arms, lolling tongue, and brandishing a knife dripping with blood.

The famous #Dakshineswar temple which houses the Goddess #Kali was founded by Rani Rashmoni following a dream she saw when she was about to start on her pilgrimage to Benaras.

IMG_20180428_115708.jpg

Photography was not allowed inside the temple, all your belongings have to submitted to the security, before entering the temple.

IMG_20180428_120037.jpg

Just next to the temple was a market were worshippers buy things required for the puja.

IMG_20180428_120135.jpg

IMG_20180428_120153.jpg

Also lots of street food.

IMG_20180428_120335.jpg

IMG_20180428_120343.jpg

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.ancient.eu/Kali/