Birch Knob Birthday Weekend

in #travel6 years ago (edited)
  • Jenny Falls

20180331_192835.jpg

20180331_200430.jpg


In Clintwood Virginia there is a huge Observation Tower in the Jefferson National Forest and is the highest summit of Pine Mountain. The deck is at an elevation of 3,144 feet above sea level with a tough 183 steps to reach the top.

Once on the deck you can see 5 states, even Ohio on a clear day. Plus the most amazing view I have ever seen in my life. Its a great place to star gaze or which in my case to see the full moon rise.

  • Moon Rising

20180331_201821_Richtone(HDR).jpg

20180331_201959.jpg


Me my dad and @intrepidthinker also went on a 2 mile hike to a 50ft waterfall that was amazing. If it would have been after a good rain the water would of been flowing more. So I done a quick meditation so close to the waterfall I could feel the mist hitting my body. Next to the waterfall was a huge cave we had to check out. That's when we proceeded to crack open a ice cold Brewski and relax from the long walk.

  • Meditation mode

20180331_181004.jpg

  • The waterfall started to pour from @intrepidthinker mouth it was unbelievable!!!

20180331_181423.jpg

  • The cave

20180331_175858.jpg

  • My dad

20180331_175524.jpg


After the long hike back, manly uphill we set up camp at the cabin. Had to collect firewood then took a birthday shot for the BIG 31. I took my drone with me but we were so busy and the wind was to strong to fly it. That was the only disappointment of the trip because I was gonna fly it as high as I can off the tower and post the video. Even though it probably would of lost control and wrecked to never be seen again but it would of been worth it. Was a great trip and had a blast with my pops and bro!!!!!

  • The cabin

FB_IMG_1517721203289.jpg

  • Shots by the fire to end the night

20180331_233030.jpg

  • Thank you for checking out my post and getting a glimpse of my adventure. Until next time check out more of my post @robomode
Sort:  

You must be new here have'nt seen you on here. I like your post.

lol its been a while

I heard you was moving down next month?

Yes sir can't wait.

And Happy Birthday !

I'm glad you had a great birthday. So happy you came back safe and not attack by wild animals (BEARS)

I had a gun, I would of brought you back a fur coat!!!

awww, too bad about the drone! glad you had fun though!

HAPPY BIRTTTHDAY!

Thank you

Congratulations, your post received 26.32% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @robomode! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

Good stuff! I need to get into the forest soon.... is there a way to find other virginia steemians?

Have you ever been to the devils bathtube in norton Va

I have not. Good for swimming?

yes google it, breathtaking