Extreme Tree Climbing – Western Australia

in #travel8 years ago

Ok I get it, maybe not totally extreme but still pretty hectic all the same.

Driving with my family to Bridgetown on the way back from some fantastic Horse Riding in Manjimup , we happened to pass the Diamond Tree Lookout and decided to stop by to see what it was about.

Essentially the Diamond Tree Lookout was one of numerous other tree top platforms constructed in the 1930’s / 1940’s for the purpose of being a fire lookout. Here's my daughter pointing to her Dad up in the tree top!


The incredible thing is, that as the general public are still allowed to climb up to the wooden platform which is essentially a small shack perched about a 52m (170 Feet) high Karri tree.


Certainly not for the faint of heart, you basically climb up a spiral of metal pegs knocked into the side of the tree until about 10m from the top where is goes vertical bringing you through a trap door in the bottom of platform.


Here's a quick video of the view as I reach the top, quite out of breath but exhilarated all the same. I probably should mention that I had second thoughts halfway up, the wind was blowing and the tree was moving back and forth... but two girls passed me at the halfway point on their decent already and I knew I wouldn't live a failed attempt down :)

How fantastic is it that you can still have these Awesome Experiences, Australia is Awesome!

Sort:  

That is way cool! Austaralia has so much uniqueness to offer and obviously so do you. I love this kind of post where so many can have fun, learn and earn!

@steemit200 , @Kus-knee @mammon @assistant @rossco99 id love to go to australia keep on posting great content great read big luv keep on steeming

Why dont you post some new post anymore?
This was a nice post.

Great experience and really pro photos thank you for sharing :)

Brace post 👏🏼 Strong 💪

to put it lightly i would shit my self. Heights scare the crap out of me xD

Upvoted and following. Would feel happy if you also follow me. I'm new here and still learning.

I like personal video not Promotion (marketing) video.

What a great article. You wouldn't catch me doing that!

You are a brave dad to his daughter ☺

Really beautiful nature. I will be honest the video of you climbing the top was nerve racking.

That's pretty amazing! :)

If you want to take it up a notch, put a greenhouse on top of a tree.

https://steemit.com/geothermal/@steve-mcclair/building-a-geothermal-greenhouse

when i see risk or danger signs... i just want to do it... its like they are provokimg me...

Thanks for the support @rossco99 and this blog is awesome. I don't climb trees, as I am afraid of heights but it does look fun!

A wonderful trip! I would like to be there!

Oh my goodness this is amazing!!! Is that a tree house at the top?! I have a dream of one day living in a treehouse, but perhaps not that high off of the ground.
I'm new on here - I'm a travelling acrobat. Would you be so kind to check out my page and let me know what you think? Thanks! Happy Sunday!

quite brave, i think. not everybody could climb on such high tree.

very beautifull, nice post

Hahah Niiiice!
That thing is way up there!!
I reminded me of when I use to work on cell phone towers, but way funner

beautiful pictures
as the warning there says there it's some risk in climbing the tree :)
did you climb it ?

Congratulations @rossco99! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

@rossco99 really great article enjoyed it nice to meet and have a great day brother keep on steeming

Omgsh! You are brave. I love how you are breathing so hard initially. I think if I had to climb that, I would have got a leg cramp and just fallen off half way on the climb up. :P

Congratulations @rossco99! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I wish I wasn't so scared of heights ;(

This look so cool!

this look like such an adventure, I hope to visit Australia very soon, I have heard about the spiders and the truth is they make me terrified!

Very good!

thanks for post and nice info if possible for you please check my post i wish the best for you and your family

Congratulations @rossco99! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @rossco99! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @rossco99! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 35000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 36000 upvotes.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Meet the Steemians Contest is over - Results are coming soon ...

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @rossco99! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 3 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!