My Road Trip Around Gorgeous Iceland!

in #travel8 years ago (edited)

Iceland - The Perfect Road Trip Destination

Hi everyone! I wanted to share photos from my recent trip around the famous Ring Road in Iceland, traversed in a whirlwind adventure spanning nine days in this rugged, beautiful country. As is my preference, these photos were taken using my Konica Hexar AF 35mm film camera. I hope you enjoy my photos!

Southwest Iceland



Sheep grazing by manmade Rútshellir Cave


Alien landscape of medicinal Iceland moss rolling over volcanic rocks, Þorlákshöfn

South Iceland


Sólheimajökull Glacier; I love the contrast of blue against the black volcanic soil


Jökulsárlón Glacial Lake


Roadside waterfall, sweeping vista


A moment of silence, Fjaðrárgljúfur

North Iceland


Gorgeous sweeping volcanic and oceanic views, Ring Road

West Iceland



Windy roads through rural, west Iceland en route to Látrabjarg


Látrabjarg Cliffs in remote north-western Iceland - a paradise for bird watchers


Puffins! I was lying down on the edge of a cliff and they walked right up to me!


Kirkjufell Mountain, Snæfellsnes Peninsula


Finally, a sunny day just before departure!

Iceland is a gorgeous country and wonderful destination for those who appreciate hiking, bird watching, volcanoes, charming isolated towns, and rugged windswept landscapes. Out of the 30 countries and 7 continents I've been to so far, Iceland stands as one of the best for natural beauty. If you plan on visiting, I suggest setting aside at least seven days to cover the Ring Road. I had nine days and felt like it wasn't enough, but hopefully someday I'll get to return to this unique island.

Hope you enjoyed!

Like what you read? Check out my other travel posts!
Incredible Iran
Perito Moreno Glacier, Argentina
Voyage to the End of the Earth: Antarctica
The Time I Tripped on LSD at Zion National Park, Utah, and Overcame My Depression

Sort:  

Just returned myself - was a bit warmer than it looks in your photos but just as amazing.

Thanks for commenting, I just checked out your photos from Iceland. I see you made it all the way out to Látrabjarg as well! Quite the drive and adventure, but the puffins are worth it hehe.

planning a trip here. thanks for your pics.

Thanks for stopping by, hope you have a great time in Iceland!

Great photos, but makes me feel a little cold.

Haha, definitely! Even in summer it got pretty chilly during the day. Thanks for reading!

so gorgeous - iceland is on my to go to list for sure! well almost everywhere is :)

I hope you'll get to visit someday, it's so worth it!

You managed to see Puffins! I went in April and they weren't around unfortunately.

Oh, what a bummer! Hopefully next time. They're so cute!