My adventures. London. Part 1

in #travel7 years ago

@michelle.gent had to visit London to do a talk at the Institute of Directors for an Authorcraft event one evening. London is only 140 miles from home but is not somewhere we choose to visit due to the traffic.

IMG_0136.JPG

Warnings on visiting London.
Its big. Very big. Very, very big.
Its expensive.
You will not see much in a week.

Plan your trip very well. For example. You will be lucky to get around the British museum in a day. There are over 250 museums in London but only a few very large ones.

IMG_2919.JPG
British Museum

IMG_0139.JPG
Tower of London

I personally find the best place to visit in London to be The Tower of London. If you visit always take the guided tour with a Beefeater and don't miss seeing the Crown Jewels.

IMG_0178.JPG
This gate will be the most interesting for any Australians. Your ancestors will most likely have left England through it

Spend a good day just walking about. Everything is interesting and most things are labelled with facts. Look out for Blue Plaques. They tell you if someone famous lived in that location.

IMG_5807.JPG
IMG_5828.JPG

History is everywhere.
This is Tower Bridge, the one the American thought he was buying.
Its not actually true that McCulloch believed he was buying Tower bridge but it's a good story.

IMG_0151.JPG

London has ships to visit.

IMG_0129.JPG
HMS Belfast is a museum ship that saw action in WWII and Korea.

IMG_0123.JPG
The Golden Hind, is a full scale reproduction

Several other ships are also in London like the Cutty Sark.

Theatres
You can visit some during the day like The Globe.

IMG_0115.JPG

There are hundreds of theatres but you should plan ahead and book for the best shows before going.

IMG_0549.JPG
If not the theatre try going to a concert

London is in England and therefore it will more than likely rain. Take a coat or umbrella. Or both.
If you forget it then you will have to shelter in one of the 7000 pubs in the city. They all sell beer. If you want food and beer look out for a Witherspoon pub. Good food at a good price and they even give you beer with some meals.

Walking about costs nothing and you can still enjoy lots.

IMG_5784.JPG
IMG_5789.JPG
Bus tours

IMG_5806.JPG
Street entertainment

IMG_5805.JPG
IMG_5803.JPG

Lots more to come in the next post.

All images are my own.

Sort:  

Thank you, I really enjoyed this. I would love to visit there sometime. I love museums and old buildings with history...upvoted and resteemed.

Even the new buildings in London are interesting. The history is really what London is about.

I really ought to pay a visit one day. I think the color of the buildings and the sky makes the place look so gloomy though.

I heard cabs are insanely expensive too!

One good thing about visiting a city, you don't go for the weather. Cabs are expensive but the underground is extensive and good value.

Duly noted. All in good time.

Thank you for the tour of London. Good advice too. I like walking tours. You tend to see more and take in more. I am looking forward to the next post.

You can cover a lot of the centre on foot and their is still lots of grass and seats to have a rest when you need.

Good to know.

Even though my mother is from Yorkshire, I've never had the pull to go live in England that many kiwis have. I don't think I would have thrived in London. But maybe I'll get there for a visit one day, and will need to come back to your posts for some tips.

Our friends from the US visited London and we went down for a couple of nights to stay in the same hotel and spend some time with them. Worked great, so give us a shout when you do come. :)

If I ever get over that way, visiting with you and Michelle would be an absolute must!

My feet still have nightmares about London!! Only visited a couple of times but we walked and walked from morning till late at night! Also, I think people wanting to experience a night at the Globe should be warned to purchase seated tickets. You definitely don't want to spend three hours standing after you've been walking all day long.

Good advice on the Globe.

I feel your pain! A few years ago me and a friend went to watch Wimbledon, the day after we walked around the entire city in the middle of summer - not a good idea.

very nice post , i follow you , hope to follow me back

Welcome to a bit of Egypt in London.

Wow,, amazing,...
your trip is really great,
london is a very beautiful place imtik traveled,
and you choose the right place ,,
perfect

I always love to see people enjoying my home country! Have fun!! Followed, voted and resteemed!

Thanks

I went to London a couple months back and your photos reminds me so much of my trip there! There are still plenty of places that I hadn't had time to visit in London and I will definitely be back!

I have been going since I was a kid but have seen very little.

It's my dream to visit London one day mate! It is really very very big!!! Visiting all the historical places will just be a lifetime experience!

I hope you manage your dream. You will not be disappointed.

Hi there, @s0u1 Great post. With a nice bit of London history from your adventure. We are from The Curator. (A post style magazine on Steemit) We do curating for informative, creative, entertaining, yet undervalued posts. We love your fantastic post. And we feel that it is undervalued. We would like to share it in our magazine. But first, we would like to ask for your permission to add your post to our next issue, With a picture from your post. That we will use as a thumbnail, We will share a portion of the post gifts. With the posts that we share in the upcoming issue. If you agree to this. Please let us know below this comment. At your earliest convenience.
Thank you. PostHuntress, @the-curator
And keep on Steeming your interesting and adventurous posts.

Yes I Agree.
Thanks

Hi, @s0u1 You're welcome. And we thank you very much.
Have a great day/evening.
PostHuntress, @the-curator

Hi, @s0u1 Just letting you know thar we have posted issue #12 of The Curator.
Thank you so much. We hope you like it.
PostHuntress, @the-curator

good post...thanks for share @s0u1

Thanks for taking a look.