Come with me - and visit majestic Tulum

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

While we were traveling through Yucatan peninsula, we’ve visited many of Maya sites. The first one, and for me also the most spectacular, was that one in Tulum, Quintana Roo.

DSC_0208.jpg

The place seems to be out of this world. Great pre-Columbian Mayan walled city covered with green, majestically looking down to perfectly turquoise water of Caribbean Sea.

DSC_0155.jpg

DSC_0200.jpg

DSC_0160.jpg

The view was so amazing. First time in my life such an intense feeling hits me. I was totally enchanted and I started to cry. I don’t know why. Maybe coz of its beauty or it was excitement. I really don’t know, but that place opened my heart for new experiences. I felt wanderlust there and since then I am not able to stop travelling and exploring world’s beauty. I so love it.

DSC_0204.jpg

The ruins situated on 12-meter (39 ft) tall cliffs along the east coast of the Yucatan Peninsula are one of the last built by the Mayans, and its archaeological sites are best-preserved of all. Go there and see El Castillo, the Temple of the Frescoes, and the Temple of the Descending God.

DSC_0171.jpg

Served as a major port for Coba, Tulum was one of the last cities built and inhabited by the Maya. When Spanish settlers brought some Old world diseases which have resulted in very high fatalities, eventually caused that the city became abandoned.

After sightseeing in such a hot climate you may easily go down wooden stairs and dive into chill water. Small beach was really crowded but still adorable.

DSC_0202.jpg

Close to the place you have great Cenote Dos Ojos so you can also snorkel inside of caves in the middle of a forest.

We went to the nearest beach El Paraiso. It was perfectly calm day in a heavenly beach. Zero people, just two of us and the sea. We were in Mexico off season but I would never expect that such a beautiful place will be so empty. Good for us. We had the beach almost only for ourselves. Just another day in paradise !

DSC_0212.jpg

DSC_0217.jpg

In the pueblo we found a lot of Las Catrinas, an iconic figure in Mexican culture representing death and the way Mexicans deal with it. Originally created by Jose Guadalupe Posada and later named and dressed up by Diego Rivera.

DSC_0229.jpg

And I found my Mexican boyfriend. Totally for free! (if you are a single girl and been to Mexico, you will understand :)

DSC_0236.jpg

If you want to see more of my travels, check my latest posts:

https://steemit.com/travel/@schwepps800/come-with-me-to-visit-montserrat
https://steemit.com/travel/@schwepps800/come-with-me-to-visit-extraordinary-monasteries-of-meteora
https://steemit.com/travel/@schwepps800/come-with-me-to-relax-in-langkawi
https://steemit.com/travel/@schwepps800/come-with-me-and-see-the-skyline-of-kuala-lumpur
https://steemit.com/travel/@schwepps800/come-with-me-to-a-fine-city-singapore

steem.png

Sort:  

That sounds like a place I would love to visit. Great beaches, lovely scenery, hot weather, not too crowded! And I can practise my lousy Spanish! Amazing! :-D

Claro ! Es un lugar maravilloso ! :)

¿Qué? Tú también hablas Español? "Ferpecto"! :-D

Pues... un poco ;) Quiero mejorar pero puedo hablar un poco !

¿Conoces la aplicación Duolingo? Yo la tengo usado para practicar mí Español! Tiene una fácil cuerva de aprendizaje y es muy divertida! Y además, es cien por ciento gratuita! :-)

https://www.duolingo.com

No, no lo he visto nunca. Yo me voy a probar eso, Gracias !

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

You have earned 5.10 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.02
Server time: 22:32:27
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 33.35/100.00
Total Photos: 5
Total comments: 8
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

omg you travel to all these places. nice.

Yes I am trying to travel as much as possible ;)

Wonderful! Never heard of this place but this is such a paradise. Thank you!

Thank You so much. Yes the place is epic !

Ahhh I love Tulum ✨ I actually love Mexico in general! I've been there twice. The first time I only stayed for two weeks as I was trying to see most of Central America within two months. The second time I travelled for 3 months and saw most of Yucatan, Quintana Roo, Campeche, Chiapas and Oaxaca. It was such an amazing trip! Did you guys plan on going more inland as well? It's def worth a visit! :))

My dream is to travel Caribbean. Like sailing from island to island. I hope I will do that soon. Right now I am planing another Asia adventure. There is so many places to discover!

Yes the Caribbean is beautiful, I've seen most of it except for Costa Rica and Panama. If you need any tips or anything else don't hesitate to ask!

Where in Asia are you planning to go? ✨

Thanks a lot I will for sure when the time will come :)
I am planing Vietnam or Cambodia and Indonesia. Plus I want to go back to Philippines even for a bit ! :D