The Philippines - The Islands of Coron, Chapter Four

in #travel6 years ago (edited)

"If you get the chance, rent a bike and explore Busuanga Island - you won't regret it!"    

「  The Islands of Coron, The Philippines  」

C H A P T E R   F O U R


Coron, The Philippines
Friday, 5 October 2018

During our time in the town of Coron, we stayed in a beautiful, gorgeous hostel called Hop Hostel. It's located on the northwest part of the town, up the hill, and offers absolutely mind-blowing views from the rooftop terrace at the top of the building! Even better yet is that the rooms start at a modest price of 679 pesos (about £9 or $11) per night! The staff here were so friendly, and the facilities are some of the best I've experienced of any hostel (and trust me I've stayed in a lot!). With a cinema room, dedicated kitchen, restaurant and rooftop bar, you'll have everything you need. It's also easy to meet people here, and book island trips from the reception. We also rented our motorcycles from the hostel which were delivered straight to our front door!

View from Hop Hostel

The day after I arrived back from the island tour, I decided to see what the island had to offer. I hopped on our bikes, donned my raincoat (as there are likely short tropical showers through the day) and set off to our first destination: Cabo Beach, which was east of the town. The trail was tough, particularly by bike, and I wouldn't recommend it to novice riders at all. The route took us through Coron, by the docks and up into the hills where the road eventually disappeared and slowly turned into mud and rocks where one wrong move would send me and my bike to muddy ground. After a wet drive, I was determined to make it to Cabo beach despite the rough road. I used my trusty offline maps (courtesy of Maps.me on my Samsung S8) as the signal was pretty bad.

Cabo Beach by air

It directed me off the main "path" and towards the sea, and I followed it until I came to a small dusty car park where I paid a measly 10 pesos for parking. As soon as I had parked and turned the ignition off, as if by magic, the rain completely stopped and the clouds parted making way for the much sought after sunshine. I made my way down to the sandy shores of Cabo Beach and chilled for a bit with a coffee from a nearby shack. The views were great, with actual Coron island in the distance slightly obscured by the mist. I decided to set my drone up and fly it above the beach, getting some stunning views of the beach and the surrounding jungle!

Cabo Beach and its beautiful blue waters

After taking in the sights and as the clouds came back, I got back on my bike and drove past the muddy trail and back through Coron to try and make it to the modest waterfalls of Concepcion, which is about 50km due east of Cabo Beach. This took about an hour and a half and for this trip I was joined again by my colleague who I met back at the hostel. Luckily the clouds started to clear for this trip and allowed us a stunning ride through the Philippine countryside. And what a ride it was. The roads were very well maintained, which was surprising as we were on just a small island. But moreso, the views were incredible, with the road snaking through the mountains which made the hour that it took for us to get to the waterfall feel like simply just seconds. We passed rice paddies, jungle, palm tree forests, sea inlets and shear cliff edges and this view was all completely free. Apart from the bike rental of course, which was a very meagre 450 pesos per day (about £7 or $9).

The lovely winding road to Concepcion

We arrived at Concepcion falls which is a modest waterfall just a ten minute trek through the jungle. A small dam was built to form a lake at the base of the waterfalls, and makes for a very refreshing swim! After a few photographs around the area, we drove back, stopping for lunch and eventually heading back to the hostel. My last few days here was fast approaching, so I had a couple of things in mind - the natural hot springs, and climbing the locally famed Mt. Tapyas at sunset. Keep up for my next blog for the Final Chapter in Coron!

The blue waters of Concepcion Waterfall


F I N A L  P H O T O G R A P H S
The Islands of Coron, The Philippines


D E T A I L S
🌏 | Coron, The Philippines
📷 | Canon PowerShot SX730 HS/DJI Spark
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through The Philippines and I'll be sharing with you my stories, emotions, advice and tips about this wonderful place. I will be doing this while sharing my photographs with all of you too. I sincerely hope this inspires you to go out there and travel!

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my journey through this country <3

Any upvotes or reblogs are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.


P R E V I O U S   P O S T

Click on the photograph in case you missed the last adventure...






I N S T A G R A M 📸

Follow on Instagram for more! Comment and say hello 💙

@stephengreenprice

Sort:  

Very beautiful, thanks for sharing. Love the drone photos.

Thanks @programmingvalue, that's very kind. You've always been so loyal here <3

Is that you on the tree? You look like a dumbass

Lol this comment has no holds barred. TOXIC

Actually it's my companion but I'm obligated to pass the message on to him

Posted using Partiko Android

Lol...the people are so salty...

wow, what amazing photos this amazing, I would love to go there, if you can travel like this, I recommend you personally if you have the opportunity to visit the Amazon in Venezuela is incredible, or the roraima that is in brazil very good images you can find on those sites .

greetings from Ecuador.

I'd absolutely love to. Might just have to visit after I do some research on where to go. Have you been there before?

Posted using Partiko Android

WOW amazing looks

Hehe thanks so much @cityofstars! Hopefully more amazing looks tomorrow :)

Nice pictures. I need a drone NOW (and this beautiful landscape :) )!

One of the best buys of this year tbh! Definitely worth it if you use it to its potential :)

I Love it you are an amazing photografer

A very nice place to be! Thanks for the pictures.

No problem, thanks for stopping by and commenting :)

Excellent post. Success.

Thanks very much

Posted using Partiko Android

Upvoted.

Thanks hugely!

Thank you for a nice blog about this place!! :-_)
Me and my boyfriend are going to Philippines. We are starting our tour like this: Dumaugete just to land there and then going directly to – Apo Island 3 days – Siquijor Island 5 days – Oslob 6 days – Boracay 5 days – Coron for 4 1/5 days. What do you think about that? All the flights are booked and we are looking forward to this so much! I am little sad that we arent going to El nido in Palawan 🙁 but we cant do evrything…
We have open water, so looking forward to dive! But I can read that you are saying that Coron town is something else then the island? I really want to see and enjoy diffrent Islands or the beauty of Coron, so where to stay? Its our last place in our tour 🙁 Coron and then back to Manila and home 🙁 our flight back to Manila is going 16:00 and back home to Scandinavia is going 20:00, so I really hope we make it!

Hello! I'm heading to sleep now but in the morning I'd be glad to give some pointers to your trip! I think its an excellent tour around the Philippines but my only concern is 6 days in Oslob - I would suggest splitting the days across Cebu island (such as visiting Kawasan or Bohol!). There's not much to do in Oslob outside of the whalesharks. When are you going to the Philippines? Boracay is closed until the 26th October but hopefully you'll be there after!

You got a 16.83% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Hello! We just wanted to take minute to introduce ourselves! We are a manual curation service that provides upvotes twice a day to our members in exchange for their delegation.
We have a variety of tier levels to support all levels of Steemit users including those who don’t have any SP to delegate yet.
Our goal is to support and help build the steemit community through our curation by providing users with a reliable and affordable service.

We would love for you to check us out HERE

Thank you so much for your time!

again these images are so insane!! need to leave the U.S. ASAP haha

Hehe thanks so much! Well arguably I'm sure there are some gorgeous spots in the US too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Love the waterfall. Sooo blue

Yeah it's so cold though if you wanted to swim!

Posted using Partiko Android

I can bring my blanket then :)

Oh wow I expected a photo or two, not this. Amazing! My next destination for sure!

I'll try to take as many as I can to get a good perspective of the place I'm writing about :) within reason though. The internet in the Philippines is pretty abhorrent so uploading 8mb photos takes a while! Glad it's inspired you to visit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome !

Thank you. Glad you enjoyed the read.

all brilliant photos
nicely captured !

Thank you for the kind comments! Much appreciated :)

Congratulations @seetheworld.sgp!
Your post was mentioned in the Steemit Hit Parade in the following category:

  • Pending payout - Ranked 4 with $ 267,05

You got some amazing photography skills. I specially loved that blue water's picture. keep flourishing:)

Thanks so much, I'll definitely try!

Posted using Partiko Android

Very interesting post! Thank you for the great photos!

Great pictures. It seems it is a hot place but like a paradise

Very hot indeed but you're on the money about it being paradise.

Stunningly beautiful💕

Thanks! 🙏

Posted using Partiko Android

That's really wonderfull nature!

Its a hugely gorgeous place :)

OMG! REALLY BEAUTIFUL PLACES!... THANKS FOR SHARING YOUR, POST IS AMAZING!

Many thanks friend, thanks for your enthusiasm!

waw it's very amazing thank you for this picturs you make me happy ^^, Very beautiful, thanks for sharing.

Aww glad it made you smile!

Beautiful, thank you so much for sharing.. I have friends in the don det islands, as I've never traveled around Indonesia, it is def. on my bucket list!!

Glad it is, there's a lot to see out in the Philippines!

I would love to visit that place soon too. The view was really beautiful. It's already listed on my bucket list!!!

Hey @seetheworld.sgp Amazing Pictures. I visited your Instagram as well. Man, I would absolutely love to visit the Philippines.

--
I have joined my favorite communities on the 1Ramp App
footer.png

hopefully, it won't be another Boracay.

very good photos

Hi @seetheworld.sgp!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.183 which ranks you at #8418 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 113 places in the last three days (old rank 8531).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 302 contributions, your post is ranked at #26.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers appreciate your great work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Thanks for these amazing photos of Coron. It's really my dream to visit this place. <3 I can't wait this coming summer!!!!

You're going there this summer?? Lucky you! All the best for your travels and take care, no doubt you'll love it there.

Wow stunning shots and the place is amazing. The rumors are true that in the Philippines there are so many worth visiting place that you would feel amazed.

So what I like about your post is that you have a knack for photos which is actually great 'coz you were able to impart to us what Coron Palawan has to offer in a picture perfect way. I'd loved to visit there someday. :)

Aw thanks so much! I'd post more photos but my internet can only cope with so much. But I think 12ish per post should hopefully be enough, as they say a photo speaks a thousand words. Anyway I hope you get to Palawan someday!

In time I will and hopefully it will be sunny. hahah..I've heard that it rains a lot in the Philippines that's why. Well maybe there are other places where you could just enjoy indoors should it rain. If you could recommend me something that would be great.

Paradise! I would love to see it for myself, the wonder of nature and it's beauty really attract my inner being! Thanks for sharing.

wow. amazing shots mate. beautiful places :)

So fascinated with this Island. I wished to go there soon, my friend back in Manila told me so many things about the Philippines. Loads of beaches, destinations to go to and food to experience. Hope I can visit this place first real soon! thanks @stephengreenprice for touring us around by this post! i really really loved it!!!

Wow, are you using a dron machine for taking photo?

flagged because you already know the answer to the question. You just wanted a stupid excuse to to self upvote as you do with all your comments.