Travels Through Morocco - Atlas Mountains, Part Two

in #travel6 years ago

Final day in Marrakech and the Atlas Mountains, and what a treat to end on...

As promised in my last post, here is the second part of the Atlas Mountains trek and a final goodbye to the beautiful city of Marrakech.

As we drove higher and higher into the mountains, the road became steeper until we stopped at the foot of a fast flowing river containing absolutely crystal clear water. In front of us was a path winding up the mountain, with several bridges without any railings. It was soon clear that we had to cross them. As seen in the picture below, the bridge was narrow - only wide enough for one person to cross at a time. To make things worse, it was a bridge that consisted of several rudimentary planks of wood without any sides, hence one small slip and we were in for a wet time. Luckily there were some eateries along the way that helped replenish us.

Thankfully we made it across, and climbed higher and higher. The path turned steeper and steeper until eventually we were simply clambering up boulders and mini waterfalls. Exhausted, I stumbled across a nice shop on the way, selling ceramic home-made souvenirs. One thing we began to notice as well - it was getting colder. The higher we climbed, the faster the water and the steeper the route became until. Almost ready to give up, we spotted some farmers leading rows of sheep across the cliff edge with incredible skill.

Spurred on by this, we kept on climbing and we're so damn glad we did. Near the summit was an incredible waterfall, with a few tourists who had already performed the climb. Despite the colder air, the cold mist of the water was a refreshing break from the sweaty and arduous climb. As we sat by the waterfall to appreciate the beauty, we climbed back down slowly.

The Atlas Mountains, Morocco


3107-2018-1011664410764984654 (1).jpeg

3107-2018-1013664412766203384.jpeg

3107-2018-1015664414556549729.jpeg

3107-2018-1016664415549358459.jpeg

3107-2018-1014664413744280268.jpeg


Sunset over Marrakech, Morocco

We drove back to Marrakech, exhausted but with a satisfying feeling of accomplishment. We knew it was our last night, so we celebrated with the only way that Morocco had taught us. Sipping a refreshing cup of peppermint tea while watching the sun go down at Jemaa El Fna square. If you ever go to Marrakech, make sure to head to the Le Grand Balcon which translates to The Grand Balcony, for simply the best views of the square during sunset. I can guarantee that you won't regret it.

As we regretfully bid goodbye to Marrakech, it was time to prepare for our next destination - Fes. Stay tuned for my next post once we arrive!!


3107-2018-1017664416462678073.jpeg

3107-2018-1012664411879865115.jpeg


Details
🌏 | Atlas Mountains and Marrakech, Morocco
📷 | Samsung S8
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through Morocco and I'll be share with you my thoughts, feelings, tips and warnings about visiting each place along the way. Being a photographer, I will be doing this while sharing my photos with all of you too! I sincerely hope you all enjoy.

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my travel through this wonderful country <3

Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

natural beauty..

Yes indeed <3

Wow I always thought Morocco was all desert. These pictures tell me otherwise, very beautiful!

same here...

Its way more than desert, believe me!

Morocco looks like it has a vibrant and rich culture. Love to check it out one day.

Very beautiful photos and very relaxing place for vacation. Thanks for sharing

No problem, thanks for stopping by :)

The samsung s8 camera is super
Quality pictures and scenery...
Is it a resort??
Good job

Not a resort haha, just Morocco in its element.

Wow....its definitely a place to be

Wow, this makes me want to learn photography

Its easy to learn, just follow Youtube and always keep an eye for well composed shots :)

Everything is pretty awesome. In a big way, it has become very beautiful all the way. Thank you

Thanks that means a lot!

Samsung s8 got it

Looks like I should add this destination in my traveling list @seetheworld.sgp what you says should I

Yes you should, next question :P

Hello friend, I wanted to ask if you gave permission to this user to use your information for posting.

https://steemit.com/fotografia/@mazasuarez/marruecos-montanas-del-atlas

Translated into Spanish.

Nice pics! Love the post! I can only imagine that riding a Moroccan woman would be as exciting as riding a bull! Aww crap, now I need to unzip and get naked.

I mean kinda I guess.

Thanks for giving Morocco a nice reputation! Sometimes people think it is only a desert with strange dangerous people living in it. But on the contrary ! I saw many vlogs from travelers that shows the nice food, the nice hospitable inhabitants. Of course you have bad guys but in every country there are, aren't they? :) A well-earned upvote from me for this wonderful description and the true-life pictures!

i'm from morocco think you to visit the great atlas sir @seetheworld.sgp 😍 welcome in my profil you will love it

Nice one got the beauty of landscape
It been more natural will be better
Good compose !!%

it is my pleasure to vist such lovely beatiful photography,it takes me a new way to understand there is such awesome place in the world ,that is Morocco,thanks

good i am following you and voting you please follow and vote me back

You got a 36.23% upvote from @oceanwhale With 35+ Bonus Upvotes courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp! Delegate us Steem Power & get 100%daily rewards Payout! 20 SP, 50, 75, 100, 150, 200, 300, 500,1000 or Fill in any amount of SP Earn 1.25 SBD Per 1000 SP | Discord server

You got a 8.17% upvote from @dailyupvotes courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp!

Very beautiful shorts you have taken....and well composed

I always wear the best shorts

Awesome place
Beautiful photography

Waterfal pic like a scene of hobbit movie. mysterious

What a great movie it is! Which scene in particular?

It's not similar enough. But i remember the way to rivendel, a village of elf

You got a 5.95% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

Congratulations, your post received 70.21% up vote form @spydo courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp! I hope, my gratitude will help you getting more visibility.
You can also earn by making delegation. Click here to delegate to @spydo and earn 95% daily reward payout! Follow this link to know more about delegation benefits.

You got a 16.93% upvote from @upme thanks to @seetheworld.sgp! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

This post has received a 8.19 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @seetheworld.sgp.

Extremely delightful mountains.

Extremely delightful indeed :)

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 3.07% upvote!
I was summoned by @seetheworld.sgp. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

This year I hope to make a trip like that! exciting!

Let me know if you need tips at all :)

Nice pic. ^^ wonderful place.

Its a gorgeous place.

Thank yous for sharing your experience .. dont Forget to go for Toubkal and why not visiting Aguelmam Azegza in the Middle Atlas ... have a nice trip mate

Posted using Partiko Android

You are in the fantastic area. Each photo is beautiful and delightful.this is the sort of heart touching nature's beauty.you're lucky to have this stunning herbal scenes surrounding you.

WOW...This is a nice place.

Thank you for sharing come and check my blog and upvote my content https://steemit.com/@parmpal007

I saw a very good photo. I liked it. Seeing this picture, I want to go there. Very nice photo

You should go if you get a chance!

WoW !! Amazing Place.

It truly is!

That must have been very exhausting, but that's what you gotta do to get the best views I guess.

Looking forward to your next posts about Morocco!

It was exhausting but you know its so worth it. In every way.

It was exhausting
But you know its so worth it.
In every way.

                 - seetheworld.sgp


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Beautiful shots....nature at its best.the waterfall is owesome.my eyes have travelled through some parts of the world through your photographs

This seems to be a place blessed by nature. those pictures are amazing. moreover looking forward for more blogs to come. have a safe trekking:)

More blogs indeed make sure to follow to keep up :)

Good pics

Thank you friend.

Very wondeful country, I hope can visit there someday!

Maybe some day!

Can not wait for your next story after trekking in Morocco.

Keep followed to keep up :) can't wait to share it

Love these photos :)

That's a very nice picture. Have a good look and go. Have a good day.^^

such amazing place love this post

There are 2 pages
Pages