Travels Through Morocco - The City of Fes, Part Two

in #travel6 years ago

The souks, the markets, the cafe's, the food. This city has it all.

You could spend hours and hours exploring the maze of alleyways of Fes and not stumble across the same alleyway twice. In fact, there's almost a danger of getting lost in the twisted alleyways of Fes El Bali due to its sheer size and complexity.

Today I spent wandering the charming markets and stalls that line the main alleyway called Rue Talaa Sghira, serves as the main artery of Fes. Each stall had its own charm, its own quirk, selling everything from spices and delicious pastry snacks to carpets and knick-knacks like lanterns, toys and more. What was nice to see was that it wasn't just tourists browsing their wares, but also locals too. I'd say there was an even proportion of locals and tourists which goes to show that these markets aren't just for the tourists. One thing to remember here is make sure you haggle if you're new to the country! If you even look the slightest bit foreign, be prepared to be given a high price to start with. Like with any country, folks here will try and get a good price for your wares, and it's perfectly reasonable to haggle the price back down!

As it approached midday, I split from my group and weaved in and out of the people and animals wandering through the tight alleys. Parched and exhausted (but mainly looking for some more of that lush mint tea) I entered one of the many cafe's that dot the streets of Fes. This particular cafe was called Cafe Smile and boy did it put a smile on my face. It was a beautiful terrace which overlooked the souks beneath, surrounded by colourful curtains and carpets. There was a lone Japanese tourist here and we discovered that it was both of our first days here in this crazy city. She told me about this wonderful place to eat which had breathtaking views of all of Fes. So after we exchanged details, I took her advice and made my way to Restaurant Sekaya and made my way up the winding stairs to the promised stunning cinematic view of the city. I'll be sharing the cinematic view of Fes in my next post!

The City of Fes, Morocco


Shared from Lightroom mobile (3).jpg

0408-2018-1104860862330133708.jpeg

0408-2018-1105860863803885092.jpeg

0408-2018-1105860863021976785.jpeg

0408-2018-1103860861521155978.jpeg

0508-2018-0358930317437326970.jpeg


Details
🌏 | Fes, Morocco
📷 | Samsung S8
🎨 | Lightroom Mobile edits used


Over the next few weeks I'll be trekking through Morocco and I'll be share with you my thoughts, feelings, tips and warnings about visiting each place along the way. Being a photographer, I will be doing this while sharing my photos with all of you too! I sincerely hope you all enjoy.

Please do follow if you want to keep up with my travel through this wonderful country <3

Any upvotes or resteems are hugely appreciated! Much love, everybody.

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

Seems a very nice place to go.

Love Mediterranean cultures. Lots of very rich history.

If you ever get the chance try to go and no doubt you'll love it there.

If you ever get
The chance try to go and no
Doubt you'll love it there.

                 - seetheworld.sgp


I'm a bot. I detect haiku.

Wow... like stepping back in time. If it weren't for the Coke Zero poster, you could almost believe it was 200 years ago. You're lucky, and very smart, to be travel when and where you can. Be safe and enjoy!

0

Could you please stop spamming this link to your post all over the place?

its a beautiful country

Its an unexpected gorgeous country and I'm so glad I've been able to let people here know of its beauty.

Very exotic, very colorful. How did Coca Cola get an ad in here? Crazy marketing.

Hi @seetheworld.sgp.. hmmp. I love your name huh! hehe.. looks you really love to explore the world. does you? I love your photos. very colorful. Morocco is one great place to visit. I hope I can go there but I'm too far. Maybe in my dreams I can be there :)

Hehe salamat po @febemarie25! Actually SGP is my initials so I thought I'd incorporate it into my Steemit name. And yeah I love to explore the world :) But wait the Philippines is already a beautiful country, you don't need to travel far! In fact, the Philippines is my favourite country in the world hands down! So much so that I'm going back this September :D

Morocco seems like a really beautiful place

Posted using Partiko Android

No doubt Morocco has rich culture

Extremely rich culture. A mix of many, but mainly French and Arabic.

Nice view and great photographs

Thanks very much buddy, much appreciated <3

@seetheworld.sgp Beautiful place. Great photography :D

Thanks, means a lot!

Your clicks are amazing we promoted your blog and your name on our steemit Instagram community here is a link
https://www.instagram.com/p/BmGu8sfANRi/?utm_source=ig_web_copy_link

Thanks for the shoutout! I've got instagram too :)

@seetheworld.sgp your this blog is really interesting. stay tunned on Insta.And if possible make your followers aware about steemit community on Insta.Have a great day ahead.

I agree, I think it's important to let people know that Steemit exists.

wow great your post

Thanks so much, fully appreciate it :)

I like the simplicity of those streets. Just living, using a monkey to carry, selling with a smile. And I like the colors of the things they buy! Thanks for sharing your story about Morocco!

Very nice post, Thanks

Much appreciated!!

All the photos man, the photos. Probably my next destination, hopefully ;) thanks for sharing. Love and light

Carpets design looks so Indian.unnamed.jpg
Right???

Actually that's very true! Maybe I need to stop off in India soon...

images (1).jpeg
DesiComments.com

To other countries , I may go as a tourist ,
But to India , I come as a pilgrim

Martin luther king. jr.

Interesting, I like that...

for rich history,culture and art include Rajasthan in your India trip.

I need to start writing a list! I'll add it. Absolutely India has to be next on my trip

Beautiful!! I never would have thought to go explore Morocco but now that I see what it has to offer maybe I will get to visit sometime.

Thank you for sharing these beautiful photos :)

You know what, it makes me so glad that my blog has inspired you to visit. This is why I do this :)

Exclentes photos, it's a very different culture there, I only saw those stores in movies.

It's a massively different culture indeed. Experience it for yourself if you get the chance :)

You got a 7.18% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

Nice post dear

Nice post dear

My friend's been in Morocco few months ago.

He only has good words for it.

From food, to sceneries, to everyting else.

you received an up vote from danlupi with voting power of 79.66%. Estimated dollar amount of $1.24

This post has received a 4.76 % upvote from @boomerang.

I'm not surprised he does. How did he find the people? It was definitely a culture shock and I got on with most people, but sellers can be a little bit intense sometimes!

cheers :)

You are an excellent photographer. Nice photos.Thanks you.

Much appreciated friend, glad you approve of the photos. Enjoy Morocco if you can!

Have you tried Tagine?

Yes I have and its so damn delicious. Love the way it comes out sizzling on those clay pots... I think I have to get on for myself!

Travelling is a divine art not everyone is that lucky

No but travelling is also priceless.

Great post! Very interesting photos!
I'll follow you, and I will be happy if you follow to my blog. I hope we will be friends;)

Cheers very much, followed too :)

What a great view.
Great photography.

Thanks so much friend. What a great view indeed!

I love these old cities of the world. They so well preserved that the remind you what it was 100 years ago!

Thanks for sharing!

100 years ago or even more! It's crazy how well preserved the city is and I'm glad they kept it this way.

Great photographs you've got there. Morocco is one beautiful North African country I need to visit one day inshallah.

Inshallah indeed friend, hope you can get to go soon.

That last pic with the carpets makes it look very cozy. It makes me just want to lie down on it and smoke some hookahs!

Right?? I went to Morocco to relax and honestly there are so many places like this where you can achieve just that!

great to see this :)

Glad you enjoyed!

You got a 92.96% upvote from @brupvoter courtesy of @seetheworld.sgp!

You got a 13.59% upvote from @upme thanks to @seetheworld.sgp! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

I loved the way how your amazing description bought life to ordinary pictures. nut i liked you had roamed around local area there. moreover I will be waiting for more blogs to come. have a safe and happy trekking:)

Aw thanks, that means a lot! I try to describe what I see and feel as vividly as I can - hopefully it gave you an insight of what it was like to be there yourself!

Yes, It definitely gave me an insight of the place.

0

@rajesh290 You can't send the link like that , It's against the steemit rules.

Morocco city is the ounderfull city. i want to go there, your photographe is so beautifull, there culture is vrey different to our country.

It was a real culture shock when I arrived there I have to be honest, very different to ours too!

I really enjoyed looking at all the beautiful photographs. Morocco looks like a wonderful place to visit, hope you enjoy your stay.

So glad you approved. I'd really recommend the visit if you ever got the chance!

That looks like a very promisingly beautiful place to take a trip to. I hope you have a safe and fun trip.

That's very kind of you to say, I'll try to stay as safe as I can :)

i love morocco casablanca

Not been to Casablanca yet. What is there to see there? :)

beautiful photos and it is written that good..makes me hungry to travel there to see this with my own eyes!

If you do let me know how it goes - the food is incredible btw, the tagines are to die for!

Amazing Morocco, I like it, I wish i will go there... Also your description is well, let us know your continues post.... we are waiting for next on. Thank you

Glad you want to keep updated. Hopefully you can come to Morocco soon as well, it's well worth a visit.

I like traveling.... i wish i can make visit morocco.... Thanks. keep it up sharing your traveling experience with us.

Will keep sharing don't you worry a bit :)

Beautiful photos! I went to Morocco in 2003. Entered through the strait of Gibraltar on a Ferry from Spain. What an adventure. I absolutely loved it. Rich in history and culture.

Ah so you went to Tangier first right? Not sure if I should go but from the sounds of it you had a good time. Might have to give it a try! Glad you enjoyed your trip through.

Lovely article! the way you write is so decriptive I can imagine myself following the same path and can see it clearly before even looking at your photos!

I'm glad you were able to follow it as if you were there - I like to paint a picture first before the actual pictures so I'm glad the descriptions were able to make a difference.

Buenas tardes que bello post. Que hermosas fotografías tiene marueco tiene muy buena vista y cultura. Lo invito a que visite mi blog. Saludos desde Venezuela

Thanks, hello from England too. Will really need to learn Spanish to understand this haha

Wow it looks so beautiful, the rugs & spices omg i'd be in heaven

Yeah it's quite an overwhelming experience to be honest!

City of Morocco looks extremely different , you have given inside information abt the city which may help me if I want to visit this city in future , thank you bro

So glad I could help and enjoy your visit if you do decide to go!

que bello me encanta,que espectacular se ve

Something about spectacular, and it is!

No doubt, morocco is blessed with such an extremely rich culture.

It really is a blessed country.

There are 2 pages
Pages