Prepping my Worldtrip - Picking my Packing Cubes [Comparing eBays, Amazon Basics, Eagle Creek and Gonex]

in #travel6 years ago

Like I mentioned in my earlier post about my backpack, I have a giant space to fill with aaaallllll my stuff.

It is basically one giant compartment and the best way to fill it up without making a mess, is to use some sweet ass packing cubes.

@scan007 replied in that earlier post how I am organizing everything inside it and here I am, writing this special post for you, sweetdums. * kissy kissy *

When you Google for some packing cubes, you get a wide variety of shapes, sizes and forms and in this post I shall elaborate what made me pick the ones I have.

There are a couple of popular packing cubes. I don't value much for brand, I just want it to work like a boss. So, I looked into a bunch of them. The popular brands and the infamous ones.

Basically, there are two types of packing cubes: Normal ones and compression ones.

During my research I went through a bunch of them of both types. For me, one of the key requirements were: Not too expensive.

Later I figured out is that it needs to fit in my 55 liter backpack, I would actually prefer some packing compression cubes. Which means that you roll up your clothes, put it in the cube and then zip it tight.

Normal packing cubes

AmazonBasics 4-Piece Packing Cube Set

As I did my research to packing cubes, I noticed a lot of people were talking about the Amazon Basics packing cubes. It is pretty straight forward and Amazon Basics aren't bad at all! For the price of +/- € 20,- you get four sizes which (I figured later) is pretty cheap!

ProsCons
LightweightNot a compression cube
You can see what's inside due to meshMesh can be fragile
AffordableAccording to reviews, they seem a bit flimsy

eBags Packing Cubes - 4pc Classic Plus Set

I also looked at those as they seemed quite popular in the nomad community, however I quickly clicked away after seeing the price and a little bit harder to get my hands on in Germany. Also they go for about +/- € 25,- for 3 pieces. So nyeh, a bit expensive for my taste.

ProsCons
LightweightNot a compression cube
You can see what's inside due to meshQuite expensive
Funky colors-

Compression packing cubes

Eagle Creek Pack-It Specter Cube Set

I guess this is one of the bigger and famous brands when it comes to travel goodies and accessoiries.

I really liked these, also because they come in different colors and appears to be stain and water resistant too! Only thing. Only for three packs, you pay +/- € 30,-.

ProsCons
LightweightExpensive
Stain and water resistantCostly
Comes in different colorsPriceyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Gonex Packing Cubes

A cheaper option compared to Eagle Creek. Actually, half the price! A pack of three comes for only +/- € 15,-. Ofcourse this also cuts down in the quality.

ProsCons
LightweightNot pro quality
Pack-It Tearing-resistance Nylon RipstopSmall sized bags
Comes in different colorsZippers get stuck easily
Cheap!-

My picks

There were various other packs but I didn't feel like writing a whole bunch about the antire Amazon packing cube inventory! My personal favorite were the Gonex Packing Cubes. This is due to the price and the reviews were still quite good. Yes, maybe the quality isn't as amazing, but I guess if you don't try to stuff a boulder in it and be a little bit careful, it should work out!

I bought two pairs of the packs of three, which gave me two of each size. To make things easier for me, I picked the dark blue and the dark red (in Germany I could only get my hands on black, white, blue and red), so I wouldn't get confused between two packs of the same size.

I used these packs to move from Berlin back to Amsterdam and now I shall finally put them to the intended use: travel!

All product images are from Amazon.com

divider-long

Track your followers with SPECTACLES

divider

Sort:  

great travel post!

Thank you @sjennon for info about compression cubes. Didn't know about them.
Usually I take vacuum storage bags. But sometimes it is hard to find hoover during traveling)

Yes those definitely work too! However a zipper is quite easy in here.

And for sure! I don't want to be dependent on some tools to properly pack . Hehe

Last time I hit the road I took some of those really cheap clear plastic storage bags you can suck the air out of with a vacuum cleaner. Of course once you get to your destination and unseal them there's a whole mighty mess, like the one you're trying to avoid. But then over time I worked out that 70% of the stuff I'd brought with me remained in a crumpled heap at the bottom of my bag as I ended up recirculating the same two pairs of shorts and t-shits most days! I think the rule of thumb when packing for the long haul is less is more (or so I've heard from people that don't travel the world with a full scuba and underwater filming rig)!

That sounds quite a lot of work actually hehe. 70% of all you brought sounds like a waste though!

And yea! That's what they say. Pack for like a week and just reuse, lauder and mix and match.

No plans to bring some giant tools or stuff that I need, so good for my and my back hehe.

Thank you for stopping by!

I wish I'd known about compression cubes when I went backpacking... even though it was only for a month, my backpack was a disaster. 🤣 I can't wait to hear about your adventures!

Ah! That's shitty, hehe. Especially if you want to divide the weight properly.

When did you go backpacking? :d

Thank you so much! Me neither!

I am not a traveling type but your article is useful to me in case i decided to travel. Thanks.

@seyiodus.

Sure! I hope it will be useful in the future :)

So many to chose from... It will be great to hear how the once you have bought works for you on your travel.

There are a lot of options but I hoped I could narrow it down a little :) I picked the Gorex ones!

NIce gear! Hope you have fun out in the world. Actually, I found you for a completely unrelated reason... I was trying to use steemspectacles and it's not working, I'm wondering if maybe the rpc hasn't been updated since steem shut down the old one... anyways. Have fun! sorry to be a bother :)

Thank you so much!

And yes we know :( Unfortunately our developer is on a holiday and he can't quickly fix it where he is right now.

I posted a couple of days ago on the @spectacles page itself but I will try to do another one maybe.

Thanks for reaching out though!

The travel expert - whenever I have questions, I certainly know who to ask ;) :D

Hehehe. Not yet but hopefully soon!