Buddha’s Face and Stone Buddhas near the Cliff Wun Ju Sa Temple

in #travel5 years ago

There was a way to the cliff where the face of Buddha was carved.
The outline of Buddha face was not to clear due to the long period of time, moreover, the wind and the rain made worse the conditions.

_2080161.JPG

So I could hardly find out there was a face of Buddha on the cliff.
In my guess, this work was not finished.

_2080164.JPG

There was a bunch of stone Buddhas and sculptures.
A group of Buddha seemed a family like other cases.

_2080165.JPG

_2080167.JPG

Interesting thing was an unidentified stone work.
It looked like a modern art work.
I couldn’t identify what the sculpture indicated.
At first glance, it did not have any relation with Buddhism.

_2080166.JPG

People attached coins to the surface of Buddha statue praying for their happiness.

_2080168.JPG

Sort:  

@slowwalker you send us many interesting and beautiful post, beautiful photos. You also have explained well. I am who far away from Korea become know better and I always wait your post and curious what next, what next.
This time your post about statue and curving Buddha. They are interesting

@slowwalker,
I could see some good stone crafts there! Pretty amazing and cool technology that they used at that time to craft sculptures by using stones! Little related to the stone sculptures in my country as well! Great photography and thank you very much for sharing them with us!

Cheers~

Wow definitely amazing, I think the face carving of the Buddha in the stone wall didn't show, but wow look at all those edifice, and the coins put there is awesome, I think I love how you covered the Buddha family with your camera, it's amazing, the last piece maybe a modern carving

Very often ancient figures seem modern ... they are always stylized

I am very pleasure of looking your photography. You are a big and different photographer. These photography looking so good and learning

Pretty sexy place to be. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I didn't know that there is coin attachment in Budism.. Anyway don't have that much information about Bufism, I feel so soothing when I visit their temple or any pray area. I see them very wiser..

@slowwalker Pennies for Good Luck and Prosperity in the last Picture ??

I see the rock balancing art in front of third picture. Is that right sir @slowwalker ? Or that part of culture there ?

Hai @slowwalker... These Buddhist stones stand in balance and are truly unique. I like it very much.

You have bring some beautiful photos with amazing description. Love from India

Posted using Partiko Android

thanks to share this... anyway nice.

Posted using Partiko Android

wow that is something so spectacular to see wonderful that you shared

great pictures

I love this post.

Posted using Partiko Android

@slowwalker, Absolutely amazing to see carved Buddha on the stone and it didn't erased coz it strongly carved. Yeah I believe also not finished this work. There are so many Buddha sculptures very close to cliff. Seemed like familiar. Also unidentified atone wonder of this temple. These oldest sculptures ans stones said Wun Ju Sa Temple has longest history.

Nice selection of stone works. I believe people do the same, they believe in magic, make wishes and leave something for the magic powers in order to make their wishes truth. That just confirms we still are children in our souls and want to believe in our dreams :)

Honestly, if you hadn't told us that there was a picture of a face in the first photo... I wouldn''t have sent it! How old are they?